Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Hobbywing Xr10 Pro Stock Spec V4 with 13.5T motor >

Hobbywing Xr10 Pro Stock Spec V4 with 13.5T motor

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By rcbuggy88
  • 1 Post By Phat-Boy

Hobbywing Xr10 Pro Stock Spec V4 with 13.5T motor

Old 07-26-2018, 11:41 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default Hobbywing Xr10 Pro Stock Spec V4 with 13.5T motor

Anybody racing the Hobbywing XR10 Pro Stock Spec V4 80A esc with a 13.5T motor on carpet with NO probems .

I really like the small footprint of this esc and it would be awesome if I can race this in my carpet buggy .

Let me know.
Phillip F is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 07:21 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 5,396
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Seen this ESC in use locally on a turf track, many folks are getting the 13.5T Punisher and that motor has been drawing too much power for the Justock and causing folks to thermal that ESC.... after they switched to the Prostock, no more issues.

I haven't installed the Punisher in my car yet, but I recently picked up this ESC to play it safe:
https://www.hobbywingdirect.com/prod...iant=332103207
billdelong is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 10:19 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,173
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

is the 3.1 programmable via WiFi?
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 10:47 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Harford Co. Maryland
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I'm running it with both the Tekin Spec R 13.5 on Dirt, and the new Hobbywing 13.5 on carpet in my YZ4-sf's Before the Yokomos I ran them in my Tekno EB410's with zero problems, except for letting the magic smoke out of one when I plugged it in backwards.
Scott R is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 10:47 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Harford Co. Maryland
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
is the 3.1 programmable via WiFi?
Yes
Scott R is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 05:21 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 5,396
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

+1

The specs here say the WiFi works with all XERun and EZRun series:
https://www.hobbywingdirect.com/prod...nt=18226123524
billdelong is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 07:51 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: California
Posts: 697
Default

Great esc for 13.5. Maybe run a fan in esc feels warm.
rcbuggy88 is offline  
Old 07-27-2018, 08:25 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (25)
 
Phat-Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gardena , Ca
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Esc goes thermal protection mode with fan after around 15 mins of practice... 13.5 Reedy S plus motor.
Phat-Boy is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 05:52 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: California
Posts: 697
Default

Shouldn’t be running for 15 min anyway though
Scott R likes this.
rcbuggy88 is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 08:57 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Phat-Boy View Post
Esc goes thermal protection mode with fan after around 15 mins of practice... 13.5 Reedy S plus motor.
how about racing it in a 5 minute qualifier and an 8 minute main?
Phillip F is offline  
Old 07-28-2018, 09:13 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (25)
 
Phat-Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gardena , Ca
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Phillip F View Post
how about racing it in a 5 minute qualifier and an 8 minute main?
guy in shop told not to run more than 10 mins, no problem under 10 mins.
Phillip F likes this.
Phat-Boy is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 05:02 AM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 986
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Phillip F View Post
how about racing it in a 5 minute qualifier and an 8 minute main?
when would you ever run both directly back to back? Most people's motors would overheat well before the 15 minute mark anyways.
anthonyscardina is offline  
Old 07-29-2018, 08:11 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: California
Posts: 697
Default

If not 13 min straight, there is time in between qualifying and mains for the electronics to cool off
rcbuggy88 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.