Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Icharger x6 Mini 30A Discharge >

Icharger x6 Mini 30A Discharge

Like Tree97Likes

Icharger x6 Mini 30A Discharge

Reply

Old 05-15-2019, 11:48 AM
  #271  
Tech Master
iTrader: (72)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange county CA
Posts: 1,864
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jmowgli View Post


Has anyone tried discharging a 1s Lipo at 30amp? I have a discharge bank and it hooked up I believe the right way per the way I see in the RL video. But he is using a 2s Lipo. When itís all hooked up I can only discharge at 3amp.
Yes you can, something isn't correct in your setup.
Chase1472 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 03:45 AM
  #272  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 961
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Are you able to charge receiver packs through the JST port on this thing? Hobby shop informed me that it was possible, but I searched through the manual and didnt see anything about that.
mushroomed and RsA89 like this.
Double D Donuts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 03:26 PM
  #273  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,011
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RLPowerSupplies View Post
To discharge a 1s at 30 amps you will need a resistor banks with different rated resistors from the 2s lipo discharge bank.
This is an issue with the x6 it you use a variety of S rated batteries. Each s rated battery will need it's own resistor bank and then if you want to discharge a different amps at different times you will need another different rated discharge bank.
i discharge my 1s at 30amps with the same discharge bank that i use for my 2s the only thing is i need to put the balance wire to the positive wire.
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 03:43 PM
  #274  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,011
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by moparSRT View Post
1S 30A discharge is easy on the X6

myself and mopar have basically the same set up for 1s
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 04:05 PM
  #275  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,011
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default



Little cheesy but it works lol
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 05:04 AM
  #276  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 148
Default

Marcos, I am trying to setup my resistor bank and I think I copied the wrong setup. Can you give a detailed description of what you did here.
Also, can you please outline the settings you are using on the icharger.

I tried to make the jumper style, and now that I look at it. I copied exactly what Mushroomed did. I am not entirely sure how to correct it without cutting my nice cable and jumping it. I think I am making the same mistake with positive going to the jumper and not directly into the battery.

I see some using the x60 plug, but I am not understanding how they are wiring that
mushroomed likes this.
ryan391 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 09:16 AM
  #277  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,011
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post


every time
this is how i do mine
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 09:20 AM
  #278  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,011
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default




mushroomed likes this.
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 05:04 PM
  #279  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 148
Default

thank you got it to work.

I used an X60 plug on the resistor bank and an x60 with a loop to make a jumper of charger cable. not as easy as the 406 setup but a lot less when the 406 died
Marcos.J and mushroomed like this.
ryan391 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 02:58 PM
  #280  
Tech Regular
 
Squintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tumwater, WA
Posts: 346
Default

Originally Posted by yuk17bandit View Post
O.k fellas , im about at the end of my rope with this charger. it is suppose to be able to discharge up to 30A .
so i built a discharging bank. after sorting through 100s of post i have came up with the following items
x5 100watt 1ohm resistors wired in parallel


the problem is that i only see 30 amp discharge for a few seconds, then it reverts back to 25 amps continuous.
when i try to cycle , it will discharge at 30amp for a few seconds then it reverts back to 4amp continuous ..

I posted on rc groups and am being told i have to many resistors . so I only used x4 resistors and lost 5 amps or so. start at 25 but will only hold 20 amp
now im being told I may have the wrong resistors.

What is the deal here? do i have a defective charger or what? for the few that said they can do 30amp discharge, what are the specs on your magic resistors and how many did you use.
I dont understand how there is only 1 spec to use to discharge a 2 cell pack at 30 amps but yet nobody is on the same page.
Maybe i got a bad resistor, i'll check tonight.

Any Ideas , PLEASE HELP

Having a similar issue with mine. Just trying to discharge with the bank it will start discharging at whatever I have it set for 15-30a and after 2 or 3 seconds it drops down to 4 amps. Trying to figure out where I have gone wrong in the settings and after reading through this entire thread I am at a loss.
Squintz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 03:14 PM
  #281  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 148
Default

The main problem I had is that the positive connection, also has balance cable to it. That needs to be direct unbroken from charger to battery. I kept trying to take a jumper from the battery to the discharger. My positive balance was not directly into the battery.
In your case if it is actually doing the cycle then the battery might be close to its desired goal and it is ramping down. You might try to fully charge first, if you have not. If that is not the case, I am unsure, too many variables.
mushroomed likes this.
ryan391 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 03:27 PM
  #282  
Tech Regular
 
Squintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tumwater, WA
Posts: 346
Default

Originally Posted by ryan391 View Post
The main problem I had is that the positive connection, also has balance cable to it. That needs to be direct unbroken from charger to battery. I kept trying to take a jumper from the battery to the discharger. My positive balance was not directly into the battery.
In your case if it is actually doing the cycle then the battery might be close to its desired goal and it is ramping down. You might try to fully charge first, if you have not. If that is not the case, I am unsure, too many variables.

It's a fully charged pack. Not using the cycle function, just discharge.
Squintz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 12:08 PM
  #283  
Tech Regular
 
Squintz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tumwater, WA
Posts: 346
Default

Problem solved by setting the discharge current to 30 amps. If it is set any lower than 30 the charger will cut the discharge rate down to the default 4 amps. Weird
Squintz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 02:16 PM
  #284  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,011
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default

mine starts ato 30amps then slightly drops to 29.20 or so and slowly starts to drop when it gets to like 75%
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:32 PM
  #285  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 961
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I must be retarded. Can someone help me out here? I've wired up the resistors per the instruction image. My negative battery goes directly into the negative on the charger. My positive battery goes to a resistor bank wired up into parallel resistors, and then goes into the charger. I'm getting 30w discharge as before.
Double D Donuts is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service