Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Icharger x6 Mini 30A Discharge >

Icharger x6 Mini 30A Discharge

Like Tree97Likes

Icharger x6 Mini 30A Discharge

Reply

Old 09-29-2018, 07:37 PM
  #136  
Tech Master
 
moparSRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay FL
Posts: 1,236
Default

Originally Posted by RLPowerSupplies View Post
I posted a warning that this would happen with older firmware versions and the wrong ohm rated resistors. ( post # 39 on this thread )

Dont feel bad, I blew 3 power supplies learning this.
Starting to feel like I have a bad charger, got a code this time, reinstalled the software and tried again ... another power supply went up in smoke At this point I could have just bought a 308DUO

Checked the resistance of 4 resistors ... 0.240ohms, 5 resistors comes in at 0.197ohms. Find it strange the charger works fine on 4 resistors but burn power supplies with 5 ... again thinking I got a bad charger


moparSRT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 11:28 PM
  #137  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 181
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by moparSRT View Post
Starting to feel like I have a bad charger, got a code this time, reinstalled the software and tried again ... another power supply went up in smoke At this point I could have just bought a 308DUO

Checked the resistance of 4 resistors ... 0.240ohms, 5 resistors comes in at 0.197ohms. Find it strange the charger works fine on 4 resistors but burn power supplies with 5 ... again thinking I got a bad charger

Why are you trying to use 5 resistors when 4 should be enough, if you have the correct resistors.
mrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 11:30 PM
  #138  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 2,004
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post

Well I got it to discharge at 29.7-29.9amps so thatís pretty close to 30 amps . Cost me about $9 worth of resistors from amazon and always 1day shipping
how about sharing it to us here where you bought these resistors (links)and how you build it and how you connected it to the x6....a lot of us here would really appreciate it.
Phillip F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 12:01 AM
  #139  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 181
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mrod View Post
Why are you trying to use 5 resistors when 4 should be enough, if you have the correct resistors.
my bad, i do have five on mine, sorry for the mistake, but check your resistors and your connections just to make sure you are doing it correctly.
mrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 12:24 AM
  #140  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,088
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Phillip F View Post
how about sharing it to us here where you bought these resistors (links)and how you build it and how you connected it to the x6....a lot of us here would really appreciate it.
Just look on amazon for 1ohm 100watts resistors simple you need 5 of them . And the new 204 software
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 09:29 AM
  #141  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 2,004
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RLPowerSupplies View Post
All the information to make this work is posted in this thread. Why is it so difficult for you to put in a little effort reading through this thread and then figuring it out?
I don't mean to sound like a jerk but some people need to take a little initiative.
because I am not familiar with electronics. All I know is to solder wires to a motor.... which I recently learned.. Why do people here assume that everyone in this hobby knows how to work with stuff that requires more knowledge in machining and electronics? Lol
Phillip F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 04:54 AM
  #142  
Tech Master
 
moparSRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay FL
Posts: 1,236
Default

Originally Posted by RLPowerSupplies View Post
​​​​​​read and follow pg 17 and 34 here
https://www.progressiverc.com/media/...6%20Manual.pdf

you want regen mode off and extra discharge enabled
Although the pictures you posted earlier look like you have the settings correct already.
Have you tried reflashing the firmware?
Yeah everything is set properly, and I re-flashed the software, its just a bad charger ... sending it in for replacement today.
Marcos.J likes this.
moparSRT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:03 AM
  #143  
Tech Master
 
moparSRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay FL
Posts: 1,236
Default

Originally Posted by NutDriver View Post
With all of the talk of reaching a 30A discharge rate with the x6 and the required hardware and wiring, I have to ask what discharge rate is possible out-of-the-box?
around 4A
NutDriver likes this.
moparSRT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 06:11 AM
  #144  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,088
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NutDriver View Post
With all of the talk of reaching a 30A discharge rate with the x6 and the required hardware and wiring, I have to ask what discharge rate is possible out-of-the-box?
not that much hardware needed you probably spend less than $20 in parts and about 25-30 minutes to put it together. the main thing is to load the new software and the proper charger settings . I spent about $13 including 1day shipping for the resistors (I already had ha extra cooling fan)
NutDriver likes this.
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 09:46 AM
  #145  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,049
Default

What does that 'AD watchdog error' mean?

I got it once while it was just sitting there
JayL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 02:32 PM
  #146  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: suffolk uk
Posts: 67
Default 2.0.4 firmware

would someone point me in the right direction to get a link to download v2.0.4 firmware.

i have downloaded the latest software from jun-si via the soft link on my pc.

so far Iíve been able to discharge up to 30 amps with a discharge extender the I made and have came across any problems.
matt prigmore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 03:48 PM
  #147  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,088
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by matt prigmore View Post
would someone point me in the right direction to get a link to download v2.0.4 firmware.

i have downloaded the latest software from jun-si via the soft link on my pc.

so far Iíve been able to discharge up to 30 amps with a discharge extender the I made and have came across any problems.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...69473393148894
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:53 PM
  #148  
cnk
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 188
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Or go here instead and get it direct from the source, i.e. Junsi: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=237
cnk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 06:01 PM
  #149  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (205)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,088
Trader Rating: 205 (100%+)
Default


Originally Posted by cnk View Post
Or go here instead and get it direct from the source, i.e. Junsi: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=237
wow cool thanks never new that
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 11:14 PM
  #150  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: suffolk uk
Posts: 67
Default 2.0.4

thanks for sharing the links. Much appreciate 👍🏻
matt prigmore is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service