Futaba Magnum 3PKS help >

Futaba Magnum 3PKS help

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By B16A2

Futaba Magnum 3PKS help

Old 05-16-2018, 01:24 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Futaba Magnum 3PKS help

I recently bought a used Futaba Magnum 3PKS with a spektrum module and as it's been modified the manual is of not much help in this case. Can anyone help?

- It came with a 11.1V 1450mah 3S lipo battery. I plugged it on to my charger to check and it has a combined IR of 236. Trash it?
- If so, I'd like to replace with a LiFe battery so I can leave it in. How can I determine the voltage it needs? And can I just replace it or would I need to do any modifications (to the wires or to the transmitter)?
- As this is different than the hardcase 1s and 2s lipo packs i already have, I'm wondering about the wires (yes, newbie here). Is this correct: the big white one is the balancing lead, the black one is for charging (input) and the small white one = output?
- The on/off switch doesn't function at the moment. Battery plugged in = power on. Is this normal?

Old 05-16-2018, 02:20 AM
Tech Addict

IR is not very important in a transmitter.

why not get a proper battery for your transmitter..

I have a Lipo for my 3PK.. fits without stuffing... plugs right in.. an lasted 5 times longer then the old ni-cad batteries...

I also have the Spectrum modules.... and NO.. my on/off switch works like normal...
Old 05-16-2018, 03:14 AM
Tech Master

3 cell lipo voltage.so 12.6volts.
replace on off switch.
Old 05-16-2018, 10:48 AM
Tech Champion

Normally there is a battery holder for 8 AA batteries. 12v is OK Or when using rechargeable 9.6v. I believe the alarm goes when the voltage goes below 8.5v

Why replace the LiPo for LiFe? In both cases it is much safer to charge them on a balanced charger....
Old 05-16-2018, 02:22 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

I used to run a 3 cell LiPo in my 3PK as the LiFe voltage was to low.