Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Sanwa PGS-LH Installation >

Sanwa PGS-LH Installation

Like Tree7Likes

Sanwa PGS-LH Installation

Reply

Old 05-06-2018, 07:10 PM
  #16  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,106
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Actually, if you plug the servo into the SSL port on the RX, its already working in SSL mode with the transmitter... But unlocking the rest of the features requires a bit of work

Ok, so if you want telemetry, you'll need to activate it in the BIND menu (SYSTEM - BIND - TELEMETRY to ON).
Next, if you want to activate the programability, you need Racing Mode engaged, and the Aux2Code10 option active.
[1 - Telemetry]

First, turn on the Aux Code 2. In the SYSTEM menu, find the AUX TYPE sub menu. Here, go to AUX2 selection, and set to CODE10.
[2 - AuxCode]

Now sort our the Racing Modes. Go to RACING, then R-MODE (which if you use steering expo, should need to be on already). Turn it from INH to 2, 3, 4 or 5 (the numbers give you more modes. 2 gives you R1, R2. 3 gives R1, R2 and R3, etc.)
[3 - R-Mode]

Whilst in the R-Mode screen, scroll to the bottom and turn on CodeAX2 to ON. (You'll need to do this for each R-Mode too), along with any other options you want.
[4 - R-Mode AuxCodeON]

With all that done, to program the servo... go back into the RACING menu, Select C-AUX2, and bingo, changing the values of CODE-1 through CODE-7, you can tune the servo (I've relabelled them on my Tx to represent the settings.. see image).
[5 - AuxCode Setting]

Repeat the setup for each R-MODE.. and here's the beauty. By using different R-MODES, with different Aux2Code10 settings, you can tune the servo to switch quickly mid race. For example... R-MODE 1 could be a high grip setup, R-MODE 2 lower. Flick between the R-Modes, and you can instantly change the feel.
Oh and to setup the R-Mode switch... go to SYSTEM and ASSIGN.. then pick a switch or Trim lever (I have mine on Trim3)

Links to the suggested setting sheets from Sanwa;
Default settings by class - http://sanwa-denshi.com/rc/news/PGS-...20Category.pdf
Team Driver settings - http://sanwa-denshi.com/rc/news/Sett...%20Drivers.pdf
Only thing to note is that to get the full tuning, you still need the PGS setting box...
You have always been on top of write-ups like this. Thank you!
MDawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 07:12 PM
  #17  
Set
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 201
Default

Originally Posted by SlideMasteR View Post
So does that mean you can still use the PGS-lh or Cl on a std m12, or any other radio for that matter, you will just need to program the servo with a multi gear setting box to change parameters ?
It works like a normal servo if you don't have sanwa mt12s / setting box etc.
Set is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 08:29 PM
  #18  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (14)
 
JPAPA26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bl4 View Post
Will this still work if plug into other port? As I am using Sanwa Vortex esc on the SSL port.
sorry bump old thread but wondering here with the sanwa gen2 esc and sanwa servo with plugs on rx would you use?
JPAPA26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:38 PM
  #19  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 326
Default

Originally Posted by JPAPA26 View Post


sorry bump old thread but wondering here with the sanwa gen2 esc and sanwa servo with plugs on rx would you use?
sanwa website has instructions on how to do this. But the short answer is a y harness for the ssl port.
buggybattle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 03:15 AM
  #20  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 326
Default

Here is the link

SANWA
JPAPA26 likes this.
buggybattle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 04:51 AM
  #21  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (14)
 
JPAPA26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by buggybattle View Post
Here is the link

SANWA
thanks now I just need to find one in the states
JPAPA26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 04:26 PM
  #22  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 326
Default

Originally Posted by JPAPA26 View Post
thanks now I just need to find one in the states
Its just a y adapter... You can get them anywhere amain will have them for sure
buggybattle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 03:59 AM
  #23  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (14)
 
JPAPA26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by buggybattle View Post
Its just a y adapter... You can get them anywhere amain will have them for sure
had a y harness buts it is a traxxas one and ran both off the ssl and bat slot and all is working properly thanks guys.
buggybattle likes this.

Last edited by JPAPA26; 08-03-2018 at 04:40 AM.
JPAPA26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 07:17 AM
  #24  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Diva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Sorry to bring up this old thread.

I have two PGS-CL servos for GP application. I tried to connect both servos to the SSL port of my 472 receiver via the Y-harness cable as indicated in the instruction here:
SANWA

When I followed the instruction to change the code values, both servos responded to the steering wheel of the transmitter but no effect on the throttle trigger. It seems not sensible that the same code values applied to both the steering and throttle servos. Am I missing something?

Finally, I give up the y-harness and plug the steering and throttle servos to the SSL and Channel 2 respectively. Another strange thing happened - the steering servo becomes very warm (not hot) when I applied the following basic setting for PGS-LH from Sanwa:
http://sanwa-denshi.com/rc/news/PGS-...20Category.pdf

Any clue of that?




Diva is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 05:56 PM
  #25  
bl4
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
bl4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 508
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone upgrade the new code 10 firmware?
SANWA
bl4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 03:13 AM
  #26  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Onroad Bermuda Triangle...
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Is it normal for the PGS servos to constantly hunt center? Are the servos slightly noisy in operation? Did I just get a bad one?
Xpress is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 09:21 AM
  #27  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,049
Default

it's normal for a sanwa servo to not be great at centering, yes. Pretty much the reason most have always avoided them.
JayL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 08:47 PM
  #28  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 341
Default

Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
Is it normal for the PGS servos to constantly hunt center? Are the servos slightly noisy in operation? Did I just get a bad one?
Depends what you mean by hunting. There is a parameter that tells is how much current to use for 0 spee or initial holding. Bump it up until you here the PWM and then back it off a little. If its initial or holding is way to high it will hunt at 0. You want it hot but not too hot and having tires on the ground is different than tires in the air.

I tuned mine with tires on the ground so it fights cornering load immediately and with all it has. If I pick it up off the ground it will oscillate from how tight the holding loop is. i confirm that it reacts to corner loading by putting wheels on the ground, no pwm sounds until i apply a little pressure to the steering rack with my finger and then you hear the pwm fight against the load I add.

Ive never gotten the CX to return to exactly 0 from a ful right to left sweep but it could be the car. Its plus or minus .5 degrees on 2 cars.

pwm sounds are electrical popping in the servo followed by oscilation.


Last edited by Bry195; 01-30-2019 at 06:37 PM.
Bry195 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 06:04 AM
  #29  
Tech Fanatic
 
RobS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Posts: 950
Default

I know this was kind of asked and answered but I'm not totally clear. I have a original M12 (Code5), so I know I can't adjust servo settings through the radio. If I was to get the program box would I still be able to tune the servo parameters and still feel the changes? Or do I need to have an updated radio system all together? I want to try these servos but don't really want to get a new radio system if I don't have too.
RobS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 09:10 PM
  #30  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 341
Default

Originally Posted by RobS View Post
I know this was kind of asked and answered but I'm not totally clear. I have a original M12 (Code5), so I know I can't adjust servo settings through the radio. If I was to get the program box would I still be able to tune the servo parameters and still feel the changes? Or do I need to have an updated radio system all together? I want to try these servos but don't really want to get a new radio system if I don't have too.

the program box allows you to change all including the ones that the m12 cannot change. They are retained once you save or flash it. The parameters of value control the PID loop for torque. Idle, mid and end torque. They allow you to make each loop “hot” or “cold”. Smooth or tight. If the motion feels spongy you increase the numbers. If it feels too stiff or is at the extreme of oscillating you lower the number.

I suggest setting everything to as hot as you can get it until it oscillates and then back off 10%.
Bry195 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service