Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Racing Forum
ATTN OCRC Racers (Huntington Beach, CA) Need your advice.. >

ATTN OCRC Racers (Huntington Beach, CA) Need your advice..

ATTN OCRC Racers (Huntington Beach, CA) Need your advice..

Old 01-05-2016, 03:23 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default ATTN OCRC Racers (Huntington Beach, CA) Need your advice..

Hi All,

I'm new-ish back into the RC scene (been in hiatus for 10+ years)

So all of the brushless/lipo stuff is all new to me.

Just picked up a B44.2, took it out to the track to realize I'd probably get swallowed up in the Noob Class.
Fast forward a couple of weeks, and bought a Schelle setup, so here is where my questions lie.

I essentially am now building a brand newish car, I WAS a fairly skilled driver.
I thinking to run in the stock/intermediate class, BUT i've been reading with the new tech out that more and more guys are running mod.

BASED ON OCRC's setup, what do you guys recommend? I'm thinking about buying a new motor and ESC setup, but dont necessarily want to buy 2-3 motors to run in multiple classes, nor do I want to bite off more than I can chew and make an ass out of myself racing...(I barely made it a few full laps, no joke, it was pathetic. Always on my lid)

So far I have a brand new Associated Non sensored ESC (SC1300), a Speed Passion ESC and 17.5 motor combo (currently in my onroad car), and a Castle ESC and motor setup (fast, I'd assume somewhere in the 6.5-8.5 range)

OR

I bite the bullet and purchase a new Orion R10.1 setup, with a motor to be recommended.

So here is a combination of things that have been told to me and I already knew....
1. 4WD is not as big of a class as 2WD buggy, I never had a 4WD off road back in the day so I just wanted 4WD. No other reason, at this point I already have it, so I'm using it.
2. I feel I'm a quick study, so I've learned not to buy noob stuff only to go out and buy the pro stuff a few weeks later.