Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Racing Forum
Tamiya Championship Series >

Tamiya Championship Series

Like Tree828Likes

Tamiya Championship Series

Old 02-09-2010, 05:30 PM
  #12631  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TeamB&B
What is a M04? Is is the Pontiac Fiero mid-motor, 4 cyclinder?
The M04 is a missile on carpet, but a bit of a handful on asphalt.

Speaking of RWD, anyone know if the new Honda S800 on the M05 chassis set up as a FWD, or is it a RWD?
minimadman2003 is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 05:58 PM
  #12632  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
414MPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FMW
Yes Marty. That's what I'm saying. You must use the stock Plastic radio trays until we come out with optional radio tray parts. Until that day comes, stick with the kit supplied trays.
Fred, You have PM. Thanks for answering...
414MPH is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:09 PM
  #12633  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (110)
 
Core Creations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 6,300
Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)
Default

Its set up for the M05 FWD and is the short wheelbase So is the Alpine and the Z!!
Originally Posted by minimadman2003
The M04 is a missile on carpet, but a bit of a handful on asphalt.

Speaking of RWD, anyone know if the new Honda S800 on the M05 chassis set up as a FWD, or is it a RWD?
Core Creations is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:24 PM
  #12634  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...jumping stuff
Posts: 3,279
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

If anyone is looking for an F201, I have BPs old one up for sale here on RCTech in the classified section.
Greg Sharpe is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:28 PM
  #12635  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Core Creations
Its set up for the M05 FWD and is the short wheelbase So is the Alpine and the Z!!

So are they TCS legal? Once upon a time you could not run a RWD body on a FWD chassis in mini. Hmm.......

Edit....OK, just scanned the latest rules and I no longer see the FWD/RWD requirement. So I would assume those new bodies would be legal to run as FWD, even though that really ruins the effect. Guess we'll have to wait for the M06.

Last edited by minimadman2003; 02-09-2010 at 06:46 PM.
minimadman2003 is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 06:44 PM
  #12636  
Tech Master
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by maxepower
With that many minis you would think of having two class mini, one stock with rpm limit for the intermediate driver who doesn't know how to tweek a motor and then the unlimited class or sportman class. That's still 3 mains for each class and that not too bad!
I personally think that Fred should do that for the regionals. That way it would be the best of both worlds. Tech the motor and that will determine what class you can run! I think there would be a lot of happy racers if they ran that format!
Just my 2$ "FRED"

You mean like "Mini Classic" and "Mini GT"? As luck would have it, the Tamiya USA TCS site already has those two classes listed under the RULES section.
minimadman2003 is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 07:37 PM
  #12637  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Casey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Md
Posts: 1,833
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Greg Sharpe
It's obvious to me that two classes are necessary; Ray K class and Everyone else class!
the chase continues.. it also continues chasing Mo3's...

I like the MO5, it is a fun little car, neat layout, and perhaps the future of Mini racing.. much like the F-201 was once the future, now the F 104 is the future.. the Mo5 may be the future of Mini.. it does pose some challenges.. heat build up from the motor due to location, and some unique handling characteristics.. guess I can aim for " best in class " { Mo5 }, or get out my Mo3, or Mo4 and run it.. but my Mo4 has touring size tires, and a Z-3 body sitting on a shelf...

Team B-B.. Old school Fiero's rocked ! speakers in the headrest ! too cool, gotta love the 80's
Casey is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:07 PM
  #12638  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In der Black Forest mit der elves
Posts: 273
Default Good body, but...

The body you're looking at is similar to an old F103LM kit that Tamiya made many years ago, kit no. 58229, but the body in the photo you're looking at is newer and made by Chevron Models in Japan. I bought this body from D-Drive Sports last fall and painted it up with the Tamiya Toyota (try saying that fast 5 times) decals. It looks very cool; the rear wing end plates are especially nice; and it fits the F103GT nicely. Works great--with foam nitro-sedan tires...

Originally Posted by tiko
Does anyone know or has seen if Tamiya ever made this body for the F103GT. I found the pictures here.

http://www.hobbymedia.it/10313/chevr...tamiya-f103-gt
Tom Slick is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:10 PM
  #12639  
Tech Regular
 
Serpent_Gordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Snake Pit
Posts: 347
Default

Originally Posted by Tom Slick
The body you're looking at is similar to an old F103LM kit that Tamiya made many years ago, kit no. 58229, but the body in the photo you're looking at is newer and made by Chevron Models in Japan. I bought this body from D-Drive Sports last fall and painted it up with the Tamiya Toyota (try saying that fast 5 times) decals. It looks very cool; the rear wing end plates are especially nice; and it fits the F103GT nicely. Works great--with foam nitro-sedan tires...
Hey Tom you gonna do TCS in Feb?
Serpent_Gordo is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 10:22 PM
  #12640  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (35)
 
tiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tom Slick
The body you're looking at is similar to an old F103LM kit that Tamiya made many years ago, kit no. 58229, but the body in the photo you're looking at is newer and made by Chevron Models in Japan. I bought this body from D-Drive Sports last fall and painted it up with the Tamiya Toyota (try saying that fast 5 times) decals. It looks very cool; the rear wing end plates are especially nice; and it fits the F103GT nicely. Works great--with foam nitro-sedan tires...
Thanks Tom, just for that you can get power from my generator anytime when Iím at the Tamiya track.
tiko is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:49 PM
  #12641  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SirSwiftAlot
Kevin what do you know about Tamiya Bodies? I mean Com ON Man you. Maybe if you have or had a collection of 300 bodies, kits, & concourse then I would understand but ........ Never mind I stand corrected.

I agree Max but they do have alot of fun out there and knowing me I would run all three classes Mini Nov, Mini Intermediate, and Mini Mod LOL
Hey, I've thinned out the herd. It is only about 40 NIB kits, 35 shelf queens (plus the two new concourse cars after the regional) and about 70 body sets.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:06 PM
  #12642  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (35)
 
tiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kevin CBR
Hey, I've thinned out the herd. It is only about 40 NIB kits, 35 shelf queens (plus the two new concourse cars after the regional) and about 70 body sets.
Is that all I thought I was sick but I guess Iím nowhere close to what you have Kevin.
tiko is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 06:44 AM
  #12643  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 27
Default

How do you get a TCS race at your track? Been trying for years.
Tarheel is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:42 AM
  #12644  
Tech Master
iTrader: (65)
 
billjacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 1,415
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default m05

The issue with the m05 motor heat is easily solved. If you look at the m05, the chassis overhangs cover the motor top and bottom. These overhangs can be easily dremeled off (takes about 10 minutes) to open up the motor. The overhangs don't really add anything to the rigidity of the chassis. Since tamiya allowed dremeling vents in the f201 (had similar issues,) they need to simply allow the same kind of mod to the m05. I don't understand why tamiya molded in the overhangs in the first place (didn't anyone see this as a heat blanket?) I removed the overhangs and ran the car. It comes off the track cooler than the m03 because it doesn't scrub speed as badly.

The m05 has some advantages over the m03 and a few drawbacks. If you open up the motor (as above,) the biggest drawback is gone. The only one left is the weight. The m05 is about 1-2 ounces heavier than the m03. If you build the m05 as a long wheelbase (lightest version,) use small electronics, and use titanium screws, the weight will be right at 1250g balanced left to right. The advantages for the m05 are:
1) much less camber rise and toe in gain in the front end (less tire wear, less scrub, much less traction rolls)
2) much better f to r weight distribution
3) lower center of gravity that helps to reduce traction rolls

I have driven both and actually like the m05 more than the m03. The end speeds are close (I find the m05 a tick faster,) but the m05 is smoother and carries more corner speed.

On a high traction track, the m04 has a huge advantage over the m03/05. So much that they should really be in different classes. If you want them to run together, you can set different silver can limits for the 2 chassis (M04 to 13,000, M03/05 to 15,000)
billjacobs is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:47 AM
  #12645  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tarheel
How do you get a TCS race at your track? Been trying for years.
well i know one of the requirements is that the hobby shop has to carry tamiya products.
Hebiki is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.