Tamiya Championship Series

Like Tree805Likes

Tamiya Championship Series

Old 05-22-2008, 10:28 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Originally Posted by minidriver
Did a little poking around on TSA.gov.

Will somebody double check my calculations and application of the rules? I'm just a lawyer - not an engineer.

Now, the bigger question: given the multiple pages of TSA regs you have to sort through to get the rules, plus the math, what do you calculate are the odds of the typical TSA screener making the calculation correctly???
I have three points in response to this post:

A) Lawyers have more schooling than Engineers.

2) If you can't be sure how to figure it out, what makes you think the TSA guy even knows the regs exsists?

D) You, no matter what your eduation and no matter the extent of your research of ALL the propper information outlets, now armed with actual government documents and regulations and official interpretation, being an American citizen, are at the total mercy of an under-informed, under-educated, under-appreciated federal employe who by God, will not be exposed as being lax to anti-American terrorism or their ignorance, are totally F'd.

The preceeding statements are based on past experience of myself and several other RC/tech contributors and members.
Old 05-23-2008, 04:26 AM
Tech Elite

Regulation details aside, my experience has been that if you install the battery in the car (and I always travel with 2-3 cars), there's never a question. If I carry spares I use an 'official battery case'- either what my SMC cells came in (fits a stick pack quite nicely, pigtail out the window of the box, rubber band keeps it closed) or what my Orion LiPo came in. Never had a question, never had a problem.

And I check...everything. Use two cases (yes, I know that's an extra $50 round trip now ) Ship your chemicals ahead of time (UPS has a nifty return label program so you can prepay shipping both ways).
Old 05-23-2008, 05:17 AM
Doc
Tech Adept