Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Racing Forum
Tamiya Championship Series >

Tamiya Championship Series

Like Tree805Likes

Tamiya Championship Series

Old 01-15-2018, 01:27 PM
  #21331  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The link to register for the Fresno TCS regional race ( https://www.rccarevents.com/event.cfm?id=2689 ) is showing surprising classes like Oval, VTA, eTruggy, Dragster, etc. It would be nice to let people sign up for Tamiya classes instead.
MarkBrown is offline  
Old 01-15-2018, 01:30 PM
  #21332  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NutDriver
... I tried to sign up for a TCS license on the Tamiya website the other day and it wouldn't go through.
I don't think they are doing the license thing anymore. It was an attempt to encourage the faster guys to stay out of GT3, but it didn't work very well, and now GT3 is gone.
MarkBrown is offline  
Old 01-15-2018, 07:59 PM
  #21333  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brea, Ca
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nicely done Toby. You document the build very nicely. Make sure that the novice message board sees your blog.

Bill
EB Racer is offline  
Old 01-15-2018, 10:12 PM
  #21334  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MarkBrown
The link to register for the Fresno TCS regional race ( https://www.rccarevents.com/event.cfm?id=2689 ) is showing surprising classes like Oval, VTA, eTruggy, Dragster, etc. It would be nice to let people sign up for Tamiya classes instead.
Interesting. I just clicked the link you posted and saw M-Chassis 21.5, GT-2 17.5, GT-1 13.5, Formula 1 25.5, GT Spec Novice, GT Pro Spec 21.5, Euro Semi Truck and Front Wheel Drive 21.5. Same classes when I signed up last week.

Panda
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 01-15-2018, 10:14 PM
  #21335  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KA2AEV
Its not a shameless plug!
Its a news worthy event!
Thanks for taking the time to do this!
Im sure there are many like me out there that enjoy reading your stuff!!!

Mike
We know Toby well. It was a shameless plug !

Panda
tobyzhang and KA2AEV like this.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 01-16-2018, 09:31 AM
  #21336  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

It shows me the Tamiya classes on the intro page. However when I click the "Start Now" button under "Attendee Registration" and proceed to the "What Vehicles Are You Bringing" page, then click "Add Or Modify Vehicles", I get a drop-down that's populated with "Buggy", "Dragster", etc. Sigh.

Originally Posted by Kevin CBR
Interesting. I just clicked the link you posted and saw M-Chassis 21.5, GT-2 17.5, GT-1 13.5, Formula 1 25.5, GT Spec Novice, GT Pro Spec 21.5, Euro Semi Truck and Front Wheel Drive 21.5. Same classes when I signed up last week.

Panda
MarkBrown is offline  
Old 01-16-2018, 10:59 AM
  #21337  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
tobyzhang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: chino hills/Irvine
Posts: 655
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MarkBrown
It shows me the Tamiya classes on the intro page. However when I click the "Start Now" button under "Attendee Registration" and proceed to the "What Vehicles Are You Bringing" page, then click "Add Or Modify Vehicles", I get a drop-down that's populated with "Buggy", "Dragster", etc. Sigh.
I don't think that section will affect the classes you register for. I did not put any vehicle under that section and still successfully signed up.
tobyzhang is offline  
Old 01-16-2018, 06:32 PM
  #21338  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Rookie88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vista California
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

No affect, just a default on the site. You can add personal vehicles to let other people know what you're running/ bringing. Just skip it and the regular TCS classes come up for actually registering to run them.
Rookie88 is offline  
Old 01-16-2018, 06:34 PM
  #21339  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Rookie88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vista California
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tobyzhang
Currently a batch of matched brushless motor and high fixed gearing is the best way to equalize motor performance. However I think what people are doing in ETS will be the next logical step in performance control. They use Scorpion ESC with RPM limiter to equalize peak rpm regardless of which motor is being used. This way at least top speed is equalized between cars, which is the biggest concern for Mini.
Funny, we made that suggestion a while ago with no luck. Its a MUCH cheaper option.
Edit: We recommended just the G-Force RPM limiter, that being the cheaper option. But hey, I'll get an ESC with limiter if it means even racing
Rookie88 is offline  
Old 01-16-2018, 10:31 PM
  #21340  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rookie88
Funny, we made that suggestion a while ago with no luck. Its a MUCH cheaper option.
Edit: We recommended just the G-Force RPM limiter, that being the cheaper option. But hey, I'll get an ESC with limiter if it means even racing
This is the esc Toby is talking about. Very little you can adjust on the esc (basically brakes) and you can set for 21.5 (11K rpm), 17.5 (14k rpm) or 13.5 (17K rpm) and is very easy to check if someone is running on 13.5 mode when they are supposed to be on 21.5 mode. This esc along with the Scorpion 25.5 motor is the spec system that was used in F1 for the 2017 ETS series.

https://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/prod...asp?p_id=12611

Panda
HobbyPLEX, Rookie88 and NutDriver like this.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 01-17-2018, 08:22 AM
  #21341  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,602
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Can you set/adjust/monitor all these RPM options without a LapTop/Computer/Android Device?

Now that I have a laptop at my disposal I enjoy the Scorpions that I run.. But for those who don't have the capabilities, it could be a P.I.A

A portable setting card/box would be the perfect tool for a 'lower budget' spec speedo. For this fact alone is the Scorpion speedo line not very popular even locally, regardless of how 'great' they work..

$0.02

Last edited by OSherman; 01-17-2018 at 08:46 AM.
OSherman is offline  
Old 01-17-2018, 09:39 PM
  #21342  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OSherman
Can you set/adjust/monitor all these RPM options without a LapTop/Computer/Android Device?

Now that I have a laptop at my disposal I enjoy the Scorpions that I run.. But for those who don't have the capabilities, it could be a P.I.A

A portable setting card/box would be the perfect tool for a 'lower budget' spec speedo. For this fact alone is the Scorpion speedo line not very popular even locally, regardless of how 'great' they work..

$0.02
With the 50a esc, you can only change on a lap top. This prevents people from being able to push buttons and change in tech like some esc's could do. Yes, a person could switch back the rpm limit back in the pits but when you hook to a lap top, a race director can easily see if it has been changed.

Panda
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 01-18-2018, 05:03 PM
  #21343  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
tobyzhang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: chino hills/Irvine
Posts: 655
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Anyone knows where to get team power 34R easily in SoCal?
tobyzhang is offline  
Old 01-19-2018, 03:12 AM
  #21344  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
godzukihop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tobyzhang
Anyone knows where to get team power 34R easily in SoCal?
Nor-Cal Hobbies ? Play. Shop. Race. ? 408-293-5555 ? 2099 S. 10th St, San Jose CA 95112 ???
godzukihop is offline  
Old 01-19-2018, 04:45 AM
  #21345  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Cohoes, NY
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Tire Matrix

Originally Posted by FMW
Hey guys,

I'll clear up the Matrix this coming week. In the meantime, just to clarify one point, GT SPEC NOVICE must use Tamiya tires. It doesn't matter if the event is on carpet or asphalt. Our "C" compound tire work great on carpet.
Any updates on this Fred? Looking for clarity. Thanks.
djensen623 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.