Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Racing Forum
Tamiya Championship Series >

Tamiya Championship Series

Like Tree805Likes

Tamiya Championship Series

Old 03-22-2005, 06:33 PM
  #1546  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

All the parts are interchangeable on the TA04's (S, R, Pro, TRF versions). My current car started as a bone stock TA04 kit, and has been fully hopped up to teh TRF version specs. The best ticket to save $$$ and have the full hop-up is to get the TRF version, and replace the bottom carbon deck plate with the lightweight carbon "tub" chassis. You can do the swap you are suggestion, it just depends on how much more of the hop-ups you want beyond what the -R or Pro version comes with.

Last edited by Kevin CBR; 03-25-2005 at 12:06 AM.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:43 PM
  #1547  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (57)
 
snopro31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: yorkton sask
Posts: 2,249
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Ok then i will just find a ta04 trf car i want all the hop ups LOL.
I mostly want the suspension as its the same as my 415 then i only have to carry one set of spares not for 2 suspensions. but is someone ran it and it didnt work i would not do it and carry both spares.
snopro31 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:21 AM
  #1548  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

That'a a big reason why I have the TA04, 414 and 415. Almost all of the suspension parts are the same so a lot less spares. On the TB02, the "regular" suspension is also the same as the TA04, that is why the reversible kit is for the TA04 OR TB02. I just finished putting the TA04/415 suspension on the TB02-R and the only difference is I had to use 42mm axle shafts (like the 415) instead of the 39mm on the TA04.

Note - the TA04 and 415 suspension shafts (that go through the lower A-arms) are the same length. The TB02 and 414 share the same (longer) length suspension shafts.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:51 AM
  #1549  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (57)
 
snopro31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: yorkton sask
Posts: 2,249
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

So you converted your TB02R back to the original tamiya suspension then ? did you try the car first or just changed as you built it? i am wondering how the car worked with the new suspension.
snopro31 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:14 AM
  #1550  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
eeyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 3,945
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yeah wondering the same thing... Kevin... why the immediate switch to short(regular) suspension!?
eeyan is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:18 AM
  #1551  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by eeyan
Yeah wondering the same thing... Kevin... why the immediate switch to short(regular) suspension!?
i like the SS arms on the TB-02
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:20 AM
  #1552  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
i like the SS arms on the TB-02
For a product that wasn't intended for that particular chassis you mean?
RCGaryK is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:22 AM
  #1553  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by RC Driver Gary
For a product that wasn't intended for that particular chassis you mean?
gotcha again! just keeping you on your toes G-man!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:53 AM
  #1554  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
eeyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 3,945
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Whoa... I have a feeling Gary is so focused on this specific thread... only took him 2 min to reply to the SS issue... and it's not even Izzy posting it...

(Off topic, but man... I still wish past champs have a second shot at playing with you guys! Other countries allow it... why can't we? )
eeyan is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:23 PM
  #1555  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default LW arms?

Are you guys talking about converting the original arms with the new arms they use on the Evo-4?
maxepower is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:32 PM
  #1556  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (57)
 
snopro31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: yorkton sask
Posts: 2,249
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

We are in a way but he did it the other way he took the LW arms off and went back to the original ones.
snopro31 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:40 PM
  #1557  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default Re: LW arms?

Originally posted by maxepower
Are you guys talking about converting the original arms with the new arms they use on the Evo-4?
Yea, the lightweight arms are the same as the ones included with the EvoIV....
k_bojar is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 03:45 PM
  #1558  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

There is one kit for the 415 / EVO IV, and an additional kit for the TA04 / TB02 (I believe the main difference is the axle shaft lengths).

Last edited by Kevin CBR; 03-24-2005 at 04:49 PM.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 12:08 AM
  #1559  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by eeyan
Yeah wondering the same thing... Kevin... why the immediate switch !?
Because the Peugeot 406 ST body fits better.
Kevin CBR is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:44 AM
  #1560  
Tech Adept
 
SCML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 197
Default

Does anyone know if TA will be open this Saturday? I think they are closed today (Good Friday), I can't get anyone on the phone.

I've read different things concerning the hours too. Can anyone confirm that the gate opens at 8am and they open the track at 10? Correct that if I'm incorrect please.

Thanks,

Mike
SCML is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.