Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Racing Forum
Power station instead of Generator for RC racing >

Power station instead of Generator for RC racing

Like Tree24Likes

Power station instead of Generator for RC racing

Old 10-18-2023, 08:28 AM
  #61  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DirkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,638
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I give up.
jiml and gigaplex like this.
DirkW is offline  
Old 10-18-2023, 09:01 AM
  #62  
Tech Champion
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,620
Default

Amp/hour is simply a statement: If you pour water out of this bucket at X amps, it'll be empty in X hours.

Wattage would be a real figure. Let's not go there.
Zerodefect is offline  
Old 10-18-2023, 02:31 PM
  #63  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,316
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Zerodefect
Amp/hour is simply a statement: If you pour water out of this bucket at X amps, it'll be empty in X hours.

Wattage would be a real figure. Let's not go there.
Wattage is just volts times amps. It has nothing to do with capacity. And it's not amp/hour, the / symbol explicitly means divide by. Amp hour is multiply by.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 10-18-2023, 11:09 PM
  #64  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,402
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Wattage is just volts times amps. It has nothing to do with capacity. And it's not amp/hour, the / symbol explicitly means divide by. Amp hour is multiply by.
Yes it is, but a more easy notation to calculate the available energy and the used energy because no matter what charging current the Wh value stays the same.
Roelof is offline  
Old 10-19-2023, 01:41 AM
  #65  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,316
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof
Yes it is, but a more easy notation to calculate the available energy and the used energy because no matter what charging current the Wh value stays the same.
Wh is not the same as wattage.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 10-19-2023, 03:20 AM
  #66  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,402
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Wh is not the same as wattage.
Details, you think he was comparing Ah with W and I see he means Wh.
Roelof is offline  
Old 10-19-2023, 06:47 AM
  #67  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,203
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Current is coulombs per second, or in other words rate of transfer of charge. "Current-time" is just a bunch of coulombs. No inherent time factor .
Thank you Professor Einstein
jiml is offline  
Old 10-19-2023, 06:49 AM
  #68  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,203
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

watt-hours and amp-hours are the same measurement, but on a different scale
jiml is offline  
Old 10-19-2023, 06:51 AM
  #69  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,203
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Wattage is just volts times amps. It has nothing to do with capacity. And it's not amp/hour, the / symbol explicitly means divide by. Amp hour is multiply by.
Dude, are you really still killing me for using a slash instead of a hyphen??? Next time we race together I'm putting your ass in the wall!
jiml is offline  
Old 10-19-2023, 08:15 AM
  #70  
Tech Champion
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,620
Default

I'll use slash marks, and you will read them.

/////// ---------- ///__//
Zerodefect is offline  
Old 10-19-2023, 03:25 PM
  #71  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 6,316
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jiml
Dude, are you really still killing me for using a slash instead of a hyphen??? Next time we race together I'm putting your ass in the wall!
Well yes, when you use a symbol that means the complete opposite of what you're trying to portray I'll make note of it.
gigaplex is offline  
Old 10-20-2023, 06:14 AM
  #72  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,203
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex
Well yes, when you use a symbol that means the complete opposite of what you're trying to portray I'll make note of it.
It was grammatical, not mathematical
jiml is offline  
Old 03-03-2024, 04:20 AM
  #73  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
strodedawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 4,353
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

After reading this thread i have some questions but here is what is the situation at the track i am dealing with:

1- obviously no power at the track so I need a power source
2- generator is not in the plans right now

my set up:
electric 5th scale racing

2x 6s 7600 mah packs (so 15,200 mah) per run
capaciity needed if i run in practice, quals and mains (assume 6 runs max) so i would need a total of 91,200 mah
charging @7.6A per pack, 15.2A total

this is my charger both AC/DC
https://www.rcjuice.com/chargers-acc...e-charger.html

i understand that that total capacity might not reflect what i actually need as we do not run our lipos to zero capacity

can a car battery supply that much power for a full day? is there a power bank that can handle that much charging?

any help would be appreciated
thank you
strodedawg is offline  
Old 03-03-2024, 06:33 AM
  #74  
Tech Lord
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,402
Default

6s = 25.2v -> x 15.2Ah = 383wh

On a 12v battery -> 383 / 12 = 32Ah that is about a one time charge on a small car battery, you do need a huge battery like a 100Ah for getting 3 runs out of it....
Roelof is offline  
Old 03-03-2024, 06:45 AM
  #75  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
strodedawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 4,353
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof
6s = 25.2v -> x 15.2Ah = 383wh

On a 12v battery -> 383 / 12 = 32Ah that is about a one time charge on a small car battery, you do need a huge battery like a 100Ah for getting 3 runs out of it....
thank you very much for the reply. is that for charging a total of 12 packs? 2 6s @ 7.6a? is this a standard car battery or a deep cycle like I have been reading about? seen some 150ah ones out there

strodedawg is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.