Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Racing Forum
How many batteries for raceday? >

How many batteries for raceday?

Like Tree4Likes

How many batteries for raceday?

Reply

Old 02-13-2019, 09:25 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Default How many batteries for raceday?

About to run in my first on-road TC race next weekend. Am Curious about how many batteries should I have for a typical raceday?
aERonAUtical96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 10:11 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,654
Default

2 per car or rc. are you going to practice with race packs?add up
the rc guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 10:24 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 9,586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I usually have 2. Sometimes a third if I know I can get a lot of practice time
Billy Kelly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 03:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,654
Default

2 replys say the same thing..!
the rc guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 03:58 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Default

2 is the answer then Thanks.
aERonAUtical96 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 05:51 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,654
Default

2 race packs 1 for practice..thats 3
the rc guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 08:31 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 2,767
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I use 1 per car.
phatboislim likes this.
gigaplex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 07:37 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 1,398
Default

one per car... re-peak between rounds... LIPO do not have the issues nicad's did.

no memory.. no loss of speed/power between charges... no charge only once a week..
the "NUTS" days are over with batteries.
skater-deez1 and jgil089 like this.
chuck_thehammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:36 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Depends on your charger - if it can charge at 10 amps or more, 1 battery. If it charges at less, 2 batteries. I suggest you time how long it takes to charge from storage voltage and that will help you decide. My I-Charger will discharge and re-charge a 6000 mah battery in a bit over 20 minutes.
belewis01 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 03:55 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 1,398
Default

my SC5M truck.. 10.5 motor.... I use 1,200 to 1,500 mah for a 5 minute race... takes my old lipo charger at 5 amps.. 15-16 minutes to recharge..

I never discharge my battery...
chuck_thehammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 11:45 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 257
Default

I run 2 cars and have 2 batteries and 2 chargers. Both are basically the spec of the SkyRC s60, but I charge at 5amps/1C anyway and have no issues. Had 1 charger but found that it could be tight depending on the gap between races. My son has started racing this year, I think 2 chargers and 3 batteries will be fine.

As far as practice/race packs go, here a race day is 3 - 4 races per class per month so 40ish cycles per year, plus practice days. If I used separate packs for practice and racing they would barely get used. Unless you're chasing 10ths or can have loads of track time, I would save your money and buy a charger with a channel per car and a single battery per car.
chuck_thehammer likes this.
jgil089 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 01:15 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

like previously mentioned, if you can charge at 10A or more, 2.

Now that I can, all I need is 2. :-)
Evoking1230 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 06:02 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 868
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have 2 packs and alternate them just because I can, but a 6 minute run uses about 1800 for my 21.5 spec car, and recharges in 5:30 at a 4c rate of 24a so I could easily use just 1.
anthonyscardina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 02:25 PM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
SuperDave417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Southern Missouri
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm curious to know what the average life span you are getting with packs you're charging at 10Amps? That is way too much for these batteries. I never charge mine over 5.0 amps. These batteries (LiPo) do not react as old batteries did. It doesn't matter how many amps you throw at it. It's only going to put out X amount of power and capacity. No matter how hard you try to overcharge them.
SuperDave417 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 02:38 PM
  #15  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Agilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 181
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SuperDave417 View Post
I'm curious to know what the average life span you are getting with packs you're charging at 10Amps? That is way too much for these batteries. I never charge mine over 5.0 amps. These batteries (LiPo) do not react as old batteries did. It doesn't matter how many amps you throw at it. It's only going to put out X amount of power and capacity. No matter how hard you try to overcharge them.
Lipo batteries arent what they used to be. now we are balancing each charge and one cell isnt getting abused like when not balanced. i charge at 25 amps on any shorty lipo and they dont even get above room temp. what i dont understand is we can pull 100's of amps at a time, but arent supposed to add that fast? never had an issue. same batteries for over a year and IR is still great
Agilbert is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service