Learning to drive more aggressively >

Learning to drive more aggressively

Like Tree6Likes

Learning to drive more aggressively

Old 01-24-2019, 08:51 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default Learning to drive more aggressively

As the title states, I need to learn to drive more aggressively. I think I am too cautious, and I wait on my cars too much instead of pushing them. I am a fairly decent driver, and pretty consistent with my top 15 average usually around a tenth slower than my fast lap. Mind you, this is on a small carpet track where laptimes are in the low to mid 7 seconds. I drive both 21.5 TC and 17.5 1/12, in both classes I am generally 2 to 3 tenths slower than the fast guys. The issue is setup and driving style. I can let the fast guys drive my car, and they don't get it around the track any faster than me. However, it is universal that nobody likes the way my cars drive. When they drive my car it is all over the place, pushy coming out of corners, loose going into them. When I drive it seems fine, but slow. So I have come to the conclusion that I need to be more aggressive, but I can't bring myself to actually do it.

The irony of course is when I started back racing again last year, I was over driving every corner. I was told to slow down and wait on the car. Now it is hurting me.
Old 01-24-2019, 10:40 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

I usually try and set my cars to be aggressive to the point that at the end of my steering travel, the car will tend to spin out. Then I back my steering down, the result usually is a free car that doesn't scrub corner speed. That way when it comes to the driving, I just hit my marks and try and maintain that corner speed and get back on the throttle.
Hopscotch likes this.
Old 01-24-2019, 11:02 PM
Tech Elite

I think the conclusion you should have come to is that your cars are badly prepared and set up.
rccartips, gigaplex and antlockyer like this.
Old 01-25-2019, 06:37 AM
Tech Regular