Can not upload photos

Reply

Old 03-27-2016, 08:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Can not upload photos

Does anyone have a clue as to why I can no longer upload photos? I use to be able to do it in the past with ease but now all the files read as "Upload to file failed". I received this message attempting the upload from by my computer and phone.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
jviolet10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 09:28 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
chazekxt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ks
Posts: 4,366
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

I get that if pics are to big.
chazekxt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 09:47 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

yep. pics are too large. requirements are right there on the upload screen.
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 07:52 PM
  #4  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (313)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,705
Trader Rating: 313 (100%+)
Default

I was having issues with it last night as well, I think it may have just been a lot of traffic at the same time as it seems ok now.
nexxus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:52 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 167
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm having the same issue, "Upload to file failed" and I have resized the pic to less than the size limit.
Rodney Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:53 AM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Seems to work ok for me. Testing upload of my BOYD carbons.
Attached Thumbnails Can not upload photos-boyd1.jpg  
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 10:19 AM
  #7  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,235
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

pics work fine...
Attached Thumbnails Can not upload photos-015.jpg  
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 11:39 AM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer1812 View Post
pics work fine...
yep... see, here is a picture i found of Racer1812... seems to upload just fine.
Attached Thumbnails Can not upload photos-untitled.png  
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 09:51 AM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,235
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
yep... see, here is a picture i found of Racer1812... seems to upload just fine.
See! I'm a happy guy
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 08:23 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Lol Cpt.America. NICE!

I honestly don't know how any of you are getting such small photos to upload, even pictures taken from my Droid Maxx are to large to be uploaded and there is no setting for resolution adjustment. Unless to stand back in the photo then crop the image, I can't get anything small enough to be uploaded.
jviolet10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 09:35 PM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

The largest exported picture just sitting around my desktop is 1600x1065, and is just shy of 2 MB. Uploads just fine:
Attached Thumbnails Can not upload photos-1-5.jpg  
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 09:59 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
The largest exported picture just sitting around my desktop is 1600x1065, and is just shy of 2 MB. Uploads just fine:
I'll try giving it another shot in the morning.

Also, sorry I've been awol for a few days but thanks to everyone for the input!
jviolet10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 06:39 AM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

GOT IT!

Using facebook to compress the files and my internet at work to upload (literally 90x faster then my home internet), I can get the files loaded at the click of a button! The derp pic of my dog here is a 23.6Mb file on my computer but still looks great once it's tampered with before being upload to this site.

Thanks again to everyone for the help!!
Attached Thumbnails Can not upload photos-12938272_10207977899476877_6929920999016156121_n.jpg  
jviolet10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 01:57 PM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jviolet10 View Post
GOT IT!

Using facebook to compress the files and my internet at work to upload (literally 90x faster then my home internet), I can get the files loaded at the click of a button! The derp pic of my dog here is a 23.6Mb file on my computer but still looks great once it's tampered with before being upload to this site.

Thanks again to everyone for the help!!
That's WAY WAY WAY too big of a picture. Heck, that is larger than uncompressed 14 bit RAW files from my Nikon D4. You need to use compressed JPGs.

If you don't have a decent photo editor that allows you to resize and export to JPGs of normal sizes, here is a free one I recommend to a lot of people.

https://www.gimp.org/
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 04:10 PM
  #15  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
That's WAY WAY WAY too big of a picture. Heck, that is larger than uncompressed 14 bit RAW files from my Nikon D4. You need to use compressed JPGs.

If you don't have a decent photo editor that allows you to resize and export to JPGs of normal sizes, here is a free one I recommend to a lot of people.

https://www.gimp.org/
I'm shooting with a D3300; When Im using XnConvert to go to NEF to JPG, the file was still up around 11-12Mb. I tried lowering the quality output result to reduce the size but it beings to make the image look like a water painting, blurring everything. Once I was as low as 2mb the image quality was just horrendous lol.... I'll give the link you added a try and hopefully it's a little faster than my current method lol. Shooting in low resolution instead of raw would prolly just be as helpful if I can remember to change the settings.

Thanks again for all the input!
jviolet10 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service