Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum
in the for sale forum, why do people edit the price to SOLD? >

in the for sale forum, why do people edit the price to SOLD?

in the for sale forum, why do people edit the price to SOLD?

Reply

Old 08-22-2015, 09:40 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
FamousMortimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default in the for sale forum, why do people edit the price to SOLD?

it would be nice to see what the asking prices for items were. if only to see what the going rate is for a particular item.
FamousMortimer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 09:53 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
flou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Yellville,Ar
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

They mark it as sold because they cannot delete the four sale ad.it stops people from contacting them for something they no longer have.
flou is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 09:54 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default

I agree but....... I tried leaving price and marking sold but kept being asked if item was still for sale. That is why I put sold in place of price when an item sells.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 06:18 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 824
Default

The following bit might help

Selling motor

edit ad

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
buster8787 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 06:19 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 824
Default

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
buster8787 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 07:56 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
FamousMortimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hotrod87 View Post
I agree but....... I tried leaving price and marking sold but kept being asked if item was still for sale. That is why I put sold in place of price when an item sells.
That makes sense. Thanks.
FamousMortimer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 09:07 AM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 98
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I always thought it was somehow a courtesy thing to future sellers (esp if you dropped the price for a quick sell), but I could see how it would stop people from contacting you to see if it's still available. I was over thinking it.
WRXnItUp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 10:34 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'd check ebay for market price of used items, if not just put your price and a obo.

SOLD threads should be deleted or at least locked.
sakadachi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 02:53 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
FamousMortimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi View Post
I'd check ebay for market price of used items, if not just put your price and a obo.

SOLD threads should be deleted or at least locked.
well, im still too new to post a for sale ad, but was mostly looking to see if im about to get hosed for a particular item. the thought of moderating the most popular sub-forum to that level of detail sounds...awful. also a locked thread still probably wouldnt dissuade some people from still pming you after it sold. all in all, im learning i just need to be less lazy and do more research on my own.
FamousMortimer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 05:21 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 824
Default

for sale thread has many items for sale on it
buster8787 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 08:28 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
chazekxt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ks
Posts: 4,373
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FamousMortimer View Post
it would be nice to see what the asking prices for items were. if only to see what the going rate is for a particular item.
i to see this a lot here and others sites
chazekxt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 04:02 AM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 824
Default

quite an issue
buster8787 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 10:24 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FamousMortimer View Post
well, im still too new to post a for sale ad, but was mostly looking to see if im about to get hosed for a particular item. the thought of moderating the most popular sub-forum to that level of detail sounds...awful. also a locked thread still probably wouldnt dissuade some people from still pming you after it sold. all in all, im learning i just need to be less lazy and do more research on my own.
I'm on a lot of car forums and locking the sold ads is the norm. I was rather surprised to see that it was not done here considering the amount of traffic most for sale sections get (not just at rctech).
sakadachi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 11:30 AM
  #14  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,238
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi View Post
I'm on a lot of car forums and locking the sold ads is the norm. I was rather surprised to see that it was not done here considering the amount of traffic most for sale sections get (not just at rctech).
Members don't have the ability to close their own threads here. And there's no way to moderate activity like that. Would it be nice, yes. Is it an option, no.
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 12:03 PM
  #15  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (65)
 
TIME MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,336
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

If a member were able to edit the subject line to say "sold", it would really help. There is nothing worse than clicking through various ads only to see that the item has sold. I'd love to see that information in the subject (aka topic) line.

With that being said, correct me if I'm wrong, I think a topic starter can only edit that subject line for a brief few minutes. After that, you are stuck.
TIME MACHINE is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service