Issues with AmEX ad

Reply

Old 08-11-2015, 07:38 AM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,651
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Issues with AmEX ad

Is anyone else having an issue with an American Express ad blocking the site from loading? All morning this ad pops up and nothing else loads. I hit the back button and the RC Tech page loads.

Sheesh these ads are annoying.
jiml is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 04:46 AM
  #2  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Same here. Started for me yesterday evening. At first I thought the site was down. AMEX advert page and nothing else.

This morning I hit the back button by chance and the RCTech site came up. But every time I hit a new thread or even just try and go onto next page of thread the AMEX page comes up and I have to hit the back button to get what I wanted.

Very frustrating way to navigate to say the least.
whatwasithinkin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 01:53 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (109)
 
fullsyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 1,611
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

Same problem.....AmEx ad and no forum, using Windows 10 and IE. It seems to work ok using Windows Edge. But won't open past the AmEx ad with Explorer.
fullsyzz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 03:41 PM
  #4  
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 799
Default

I'm looking into this guys.

Can you report your browser type and version, and device type?
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 04:03 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (134)
 
jammnjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 3,253
Trader Rating: 134 (100%+)
Default

IE 11.0.22 desktop win7
jammnjeff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 04:23 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Same issue here.

IE 11.0.96
Windows 8.1
Wanderer77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 06:27 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,297
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Seems isolated to IE. When I use Firefox, Chrome, or Edge (on my Windows 10 box) I do not have any problems.
MX304 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 07:11 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

IE 11.0.22 it happens on both my desktop and HP Elite pad. I only use IE.
Cravin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 08:12 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I.E. 11.0.9600 Win7Pro

Same issue.
Advil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 05:25 AM
  #10  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,651
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

IE 11.0.96, Win 7 Pro.
jiml is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:33 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (109)
 
fullsyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 1,611
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

All good today. No more AmEx ad and no more problem.
fullsyzz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 09:07 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (109)
 
fullsyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 1,611
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

Spoke too soon. Back to not working. Earlier the AmEx ad wasn't there and it worked fine. Now the AmEx ad is back and the page won't load again. Using a new HP desktop, Windows 10, IE. Works fine with Windows Edge.
fullsyzz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 12:48 PM
  #13  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Default

I thought it might be fixed for me too today. But nope, been sporadically doing the same as I try and navigate the site


I use IE version 11.0.22 or whatever most up to date is for Win7 HP

in a desktop PC Intel based I5-2500k 64bit
whatwasithinkin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 02:38 PM
  #14  
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 799
Default

Still investigating guys.

If anyone is seeing the "page won't load" issue and is using a browser OTHER than IE, please let me know.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 05:39 AM
  #15  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,651
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I don't see it anymore. If I had to guess, the ad had a broken script and didn't load the full page. Looks like that ad is out of the rotation. If it pops up again I'll let you know.
jiml is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service