Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum
Site Issues: Technical >

Site Issues: Technical

Like Tree40Likes

Site Issues: Technical

Old 02-09-2008, 04:37 PM
  #211  
Suspended
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 2,049
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

RcFanatics.net isnt slow and has unlimited bandwith....
4u2nv is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 04:41 PM
  #212  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

Ha.

Threads: 364, Posts: 3,566, Members: 84, Active Members: 64
Welcome to our newest member, GeneralG
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:40 PM
  #213  
Suspended
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 2,049
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

And? Its been open a month..

If your refering to the size, dont ya think its funny a "small" site like that has unlimited bandwith but this site doesnt?? Hmm..
4u2nv is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:56 PM
  #214  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
xsxracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,651
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 4u2nv View Post
And? Its been open a month..

If your refering to the size, dont ya think its funny a "small" site like that has unlimited bandwith but this site doesnt?? Hmm..
Ya i agree
If they dont get these fixed i will be on 4u2nvs site than on here.
xsxracing is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 07:14 AM
  #215  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

I'm fine with the problems knowing that it will change at some point.

What I would like is for an actual "new owner" to address the situation and post a timeline for when this site and this forum will be running smoothly again.

I appreciate admins giving us info, but an admin is just a member just like us with a little bit more access.

Can we hear from a "new owner"?

If we can't right now, when will we be hearing from one?
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 07:16 AM
  #216  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

Originally Posted by 4u2nv View Post
And? Its been open a month..
I thought you were joking.
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 05:28 PM
  #217  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 4,119
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Yes, please replace the load balancer or migrate soon!!
Apex is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 07:59 PM
  #218  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (36)
 
Chuck67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 343
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Man, The slow response on this site is really getting to be a drag!!!!

Any change/remedy in sight? Please let us know what is going on!!

Thanks,
Chuck
Chuck67 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 07:59 PM
  #219  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
xsxracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,651
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

These problem how been going on for a while,It should of all ready been fixed.
Really ticks me off because i have stuff for sale and get pms and takes forever to go to inbox and reply to that member.
xsxracing is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 12:56 AM
  #220  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Apex View Post
Yes, please replace the load balancer or migrate soon!!
"Load Balancer" Yep...that's what it was called.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 02:30 PM
  #221  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

I was able to leave a voice message for the CTO of Internet Brands earlier. Let's see if she calls me back.
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 02:38 PM
  #222  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

I was able to leave a voice message for the CTO of Internet Brands earlier. Let's see if she calls me back.
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 02:48 PM
  #223  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

I was able to leave a voice message for the CTO of Internet Brands earlier. Let's see if she calls me back.
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 03:13 PM
  #224  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
xsxracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 4,651
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Wene is this problem going to be fixed.
I was on the comp all last nite(GF KICKED ME OUT) and the site was slow all nite.

At around 6am i sold a esc to a guy on here and thene the site was still slow but was fast some,We made deal and thene it all went slow and was like that for around 30 minutes so we just emailed each other.

These is freaking ridiculas.

I not it isnt just my comp because i have contacted friends about the problem and same on there end.

About 20 minutes ago wene i refreshed the page it said "Data Base Error" and was like that for at least 5 min and thene the site worked but was slow.

Took me forever to make these post because site is so slow.


Wene is these going to be FIXED
xsxracing is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 04:23 PM
  #225  
R/C Tech Founder
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,062
Default

Originally Posted by 4u2nv View Post
If your refering to the size, dont ya think its funny a "small" site like that has unlimited bandwith but this site doesnt?? Hmm..
That is absolutely not how the internet works. Also, bandwidth is not the issue. Bandwidth is how much data you are putting out; server processing power is something else entirely. Handling 10 active users versus 1000 active users is quite a different challenge.

Also just because a forum is small doesn't mean it sucks. Some of my favorites are small ones, and at one point in time, so was R/C Tech. Everything has to begin somewhere.

Originally Posted by chicagokenji View Post
Futureal had the website but now the website is "owned" by a company.

Futureal had the machine and the connection that runs rctech connected to some place inside a commercial business. It all ran fine.

The forums got slow a little while ago while Futureal ran them.

The new owners are aware of the problems.

The data and the machine that ran rctech when Futureal had it is still connected the same way.

there's plans to move the data and forum somewhere else geographically.

The new owners will be fixing the current problems users are seeing once the machine and the data is migrated.

the new owners will not be fixing the problems before everything is moved.

The new owners have not given a specific date when the migration will occur or when the problems we see might be resolved.
This is generally correct. R/C Tech is run on a group of 7 machines in a high-output datacenter right now. They function as two gateways, four web servers, and three database servers (two of the seven are running virtual servers).

However, after much investigation I do not believe it is a hardware issue, nor do I believe that we suddenly grew by 5000% overnight. For months we had no load issues and then this happened almost instantly. That says to me that something is certifiably broken, and Jason and I are doing what we can to find it.

The impact of the new ownership, of course, is that we are unable to do things like buy new hardware to throw at it, or do any massive rebuilds as we had in the past. We will keep it running to the best of our ability until the transition has occurred.

Originally Posted by rocketron View Post
seriously wish I would not have spent the subscription $$ now.

i am not concern about finger pointing or we haven't changed anything stories. maybe normal maintenance is not being done but it really doesn't matter the performance it very poor.
People need to understand that the optional subscriptions are a way of supporting the site, i.e. keeping it running. Unfortunately problems will still arise and we can only do whatever we are able to in fixing them. If I had the solution to these current issues, I would not rest until I had implemented it.

Unfortunately, I do not yet have the solution.

Hopefully all of this helps clear things up.
futureal is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.