Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum
Site Issues: Technical >

Site Issues: Technical

Like Tree40Likes

Site Issues: Technical

Old 01-17-2008, 11:45 AM
  #166  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

Tried searching the forum just now. Twice. It didn't complete and both times gave this error in my web browser:

ERROR

The requested URL could not be retrieved

While trying to retrieve the URL: http://127.0.0.1:1234/forum/search.php?do=process

The following error was encountered:

Zero Sized Reply
Squid did not receive any data for this request.

Your cache administrator is [email protected].

Generated Thu, 17 Jan 2008 18:42:56 GMT by att-proxy (squid/2.5.STABLE12)
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 03:42 PM
  #167  
R/C Tech Founder
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,062
Default

Looks like there might be in error in our virtual backend. I am out of town on a business trip right now but will try to look into it on Monday.
futureal is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 07:44 AM
  #168  
Tech Elite
 
chicagokenji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,210
Default

Futureal....I'll confirm scottrik's post in case it's helpful for you in solving the problem.

I chose to log into and use rctech.net for the last three mornings. At 8:29AM on each day the website hangs. At about 8:40AM it connects but slowly.

I'm in Chicago which is Central Time Zone.

I also did a traceroute in case that helps too:

Apple-Users-Computer:~ Blake$ traceroute rctech.net
traceroute to rctech.net (69.43.202.234), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 4.413 ms 3.192 ms 9.463 ms
2 adsl-65-42-80-1.dsl.chcgil.ameritech.net (65.42.80.1) 26.619 ms 14.230 ms 14.374 ms
3 99.164.168.2 (99.164.168.2) 66.747 ms 12.004 ms 14.001 ms
4 bb2-g7-0.chcgil.ameritech.net (151.164.242.210) 11.739 ms 45.157 ms 71.443 ms
5 ex1-p0-0.eqchil.sbcglobal.net (151.164.42.147) 32.586 ms 12.053 ms 12.201 ms
6 as4323-twtelecom.eqchil.sbcglobal.net (151.164.248.138) 13.621 ms 12.691 ms 11.679 ms
7 207-114-222-94.static.twtelecom.net (207.114.222.94) 123.845 ms 75.479 ms 76.259 ms
8 207-114-222-94.static.twtelecom.net (207.114.222.94) 179.914 ms 76.463 ms 75.253 ms
9 ge1-1-6509-a.castleaccess.com (69.43.169.80) 73.557 ms 73.742 ms 74.265 ms
10 * * *
11 * * *
^C
Apple-Users-Computer:~ Blake$
chicagokenji is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 06:55 PM
  #169  
YAH
Tech Master
iTrader: (77)
 
YAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,904
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Questions?? Help

Changing the flow of this thread.

Can anyone please help to let me know if I can change the title of a FS thread? If so, please also tell me how. I am stuck.

Thanks
YAH is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:09 PM
  #170  
Tech Addict
 
racecar850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 562
Default

I'm having same problems with slow load up...only get on here in the evening
racecar850 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:15 PM
  #171  
Tech Addict
 
racecar850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 562
Default

slow load up...de ja vu

Last edited by racecar850; 01-28-2008 at 09:19 PM. Reason: hit submit button twice
racecar850 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:16 PM
  #172  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,375
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I've noticed slow speeds for the last couple weeks (3 to 5 minute for a page to load). But the last 4-5 days, its been 10 minutes plus.

It took a good 3 hours just to get here so I could post this! Whats happening to this GREAT site???
Ed Anderson is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 06:33 AM
  #173  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I'm not sure whats going on, but this on/off slow down is killer.
Darkseid is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 07:00 AM
  #174  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

fine for me, might be an ISP problem your end?
joe of loath is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:22 AM
  #175  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I thought that at first, but...

Not when I'm surfing through a dozen other sites then I get to rctech and the site wont load. I can have 4-5 tabs open, and still load the most html laden sites on the web, or load message boards even larger than this one, all while waiting for this site to load. Trust me, its not my ISP.

Theres something up with the site. And its a come and go sort of thing. Like right now its fine, but literally no more than 10 minutes ago, it wouldn't load at all.

The odd part is, it doesn't seem to have anything to do with how many people are on. Which is what usually slows message boards down. This just seems to be happening randomly.
Darkseid is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:51 AM
  #176  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Have to say..

New owner = even slower Rc/tech ....


Hope they fix the server issues soon...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:05 AM
  #177  
Suspended
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 2,049
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

No its definatly slower. Even now when all the kiddies are in school its slow.. I dunno why its slow but they should fix it as soon as possible, because Im sure its turning people away from the site. I know Ive just said hell with it a couple times and went to other sites.
4u2nv is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 02:13 PM
  #178  
Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
pc9840's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lakeside, CA (San Diego)
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The slow issue is being worked on guys. Me and TSR6 have brought this issue upto the Internet Brands team.
pc9840 is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 04:12 PM
  #179  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I've had a weird issue crop up. I'm getting new tabs opening in IE7 when browsing the site. Normally its from one of the web banners and linking to that site, but I have also had new threads open up in a new tab.
RCGaryK is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 01:07 PM
  #180  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: okc
Posts: 55
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Thumbs down

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
Have to say..

New owner = even slower Rc/tech ....


Hope they fix the server issues soon...


They switched there host and it sucks. This was my 3rd try just to reply to this post. Timed Out twice


I hope Internet Brands doesn't buy anymore sites or if they do buy the bad ones and ruin them.

NEW OWNER=Cheap and Slow...If you can't afford the band width then you never should have bought the site.

Last edited by pcassidy5; 02-02-2008 at 01:21 PM.
pcassidy5 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.