Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum
RCTECH Data breach >

RCTECH Data breach

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By TIME MACHINE
  • 1 Post By IBJoel
  • 1 Post By DirkW

RCTECH Data breach

Old 10-14-2020, 01:51 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
petersen114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 483
Default RCTECH Data breach

So apparently there has been a security and data breach here on RCTECH. This would explain the attempted compromise of my email, etc!!!!

petersen114 is offline  
Old 10-14-2020, 07:05 PM
  #2  
Administrator
iTrader: (26)
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,549
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

i was just forced to change mine also...painful proses
Matt M. is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 04:36 AM
  #3  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (72)
 
TIME MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 2,626
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

I’m using safari and I do not receive any sort of notification.
Marcos.J and Jcharger13 like this.
TIME MACHINE is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:20 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
petersen114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 483
Default

Originally Posted by TIME MACHINE View Post
Iím using safari and I do not receive any sort of notification.
I am a beta tester for apple. Testing for mac os Big Sir so the security is much more progressive with the new mac os. Unofficially this will be one of the main key points to the updated safari w/ in the new os. platform.
petersen114 is offline  
Old 10-16-2020, 08:03 AM
  #5  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 91
Default

I'd have been informed by our security team if there was a breach. Granted, I don't know how this tool functions, but it says "this password has been seen in a data leak". I would guess that it was for a different site, possibly even for a different person (ie. not you). Or it could be part of the "beta". Without know what this tool is or how it functions, I don't have anything to report tot tech.

I don't know what the password was (since I cannot actually see anyone's password), but if it was a normal word or phrase, it does seem like it could have been used by someone else somewhere else.
Dave_S likes this.
IBJoel is offline  
Old 10-16-2020, 10:38 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
DirkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Usually this means, that this login/password combination had been used on some website that has had a security breach in the past. Doesn't have to have happened here on rctech for that warning to appear.
IBJoel likes this.
DirkW is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.