• 2 Post By charlie_b
  • 1 Post By jrmarquez.702

Advice for Drop Shadows

Old 02-24-2017, 08:26 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Advice for Drop Shadows

Hello paint gurus,

I am quite new to the airbrush world but lately I've been trying to tackle paint jobs which are more complex and require more advanced techniques.

One area I need to improve is drop shadows. I was using Fastint for a while because that's what I had on-hand but now I'm attempting to use Createx Transparent Black. Out of the bottle, the black seems to be a splattery and difficult to make into a convincing shadow. I thinned some with 4012 which seemed to improve things but even still I was seeing some trouble with atomization.

I'm using an HP-C+ and about 20psi. I do warm the paint slightly before running it through the brush.

Do I need to thin the Transparent Black more or should I be considering a different color altogether?

Any advice is welcomed. Attached is a recent body which is basically a copy of the JConcepts promotional photos for their S2 1:10 buggy body.
Attached Thumbnails Advice for Drop Shadows-22-sr-gold-1-resize-.jpg  
Old 02-24-2017, 09:19 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

I use fastint also, I thin it and shoot at 10psi. Your shadows look better than mine. I cant keep the flow even. It stops and starts and I get blotches everywhere.
Old 02-24-2017, 09:29 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Originally Posted by greener74 View Post
I use fastint also, I thin it and shoot at 10psi. Your shadows look better than mine. I cant keep the flow even. It stops and starts and I get blotches everywhere.
The Fastint does seem to do alright. I've been trying alternatives because Faskolor availability seems to be really hit or miss.
Old 02-24-2017, 06:09 PM
Tech Adept

Hmm, I use Createx transparent black straight out of the bottle with an HP-CS and about 30psi, with no issue.