Duratrax paint 'fuzzy'?

Reply

Old 04-03-2016, 09:29 AM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default Duratrax paint 'fuzzy'?

I'm still learning with my airbrush(hp-cr).

Faskolor works fine. I can paint decently with it.

I tried the new duratrax airbrush paint and it came out all stringy and fuzzy. Almost like I was shooting silly string I tried more pressure, less pressure, thinner and thicker and it didn't change.

What am I doing wrong?
whitrzac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 04:20 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
I'm still learning with my airbrush(hp-cr).

Faskolor works fine. I can paint decently with it.

I tried the new duratrax airbrush paint and it came out all stringy and fuzzy. Almost like I was shooting silly string I tried more pressure, less pressure, thinner and thicker and it didn't change.

What am I doing wrong?
Some of that stuff just does the spider web thing when you spray it. You might not be doing anything wrong. Pressure and humidity effect it also. You may just have to pause and wipe the web out. Don't do that while your paint is wet of course.
snoopyrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 04:44 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Almost no paint was hitting the body, It was all strings.
whitrzac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 06:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
Colors_By_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naperville, IL 60565
Posts: 2,819
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Thin it down until it stops. Pactra was known for needing a lot of reducer.
Colors_By_Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 07:21 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I had the same problem when not thinned enough. I thin 50/50 and it usually solves the problem.
Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
I'm still learning with my airbrush(hp-cr).

Faskolor works fine. I can paint decently with it.

I tried the new duratrax airbrush paint and it came out all stringy and fuzzy. Almost like I was shooting silly string I tried more pressure, less pressure, thinner and thicker and it didn't change.

What am I doing wrong?
RookieRacer00 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 05:44 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Apco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tx
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I always have to thin the pactra paints about 100%, same amount of paint to thinner. I still prefer them to the acrylics personally.
Apco1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service