SpazStix paint cracked & chipping

Old 03-11-2014, 08:02 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default SpazStix paint cracked & chipping

I recently purchased quite a few bottles of SpazStix paint and spent ALOT of time painting a new set of bodies. After this past weekends racing I noticed significant cracking and chipping in my paint. I have never used SpaxStix before, so I'm not sure if I noobed up the prep or SpaxStix paint sucks. I was very careful in prepping and painting the bodies, so I'm not sure what went wrong. Before applying the liquid mask I washed all the bodies with warm/hot water and dish soap. Once the bodies dried I immediately applied the liquid mask. After letting the mask dry for a few days I began painting.

I have to paint a new body and would hate to have to switch paint brands, but im very reluctant to use SpazStix just to have this new paint job chip. Does anyone have any experience with SpazStix and how to prevent it from chipping and cracking. A buddy recently told me that I should have scuffed the inside a bit prior to painting, would this have prevented my paint from cracking?

In regards to the chipped bodies I want to try to salvage them by doing some repair painting then maybe coat them with a rubberized undercoat so the cracked areas do not flake off. Any thoughts on this idea?
Old 03-11-2014, 10:06 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I under coat all my bodies with Rustoleum black white or clear enamel. No issues with paint cracking or chipping on this one, which the back half is all spaz stix...

I did have some issues with black backer flaking off of chrome before I under coated it, just peeling mask off, which was surprising...

If you start using the rust oleum, I would wait at least 24 hours of cure on the paint job before you do, just to be safe. I have done it as soon as 12 hours with water based paint.
Old 03-11-2014, 11:04 AM
Tech Adept