Search
Like Tree5Likes

Painter's Chat

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2017, 04:37 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Originally Posted by carbongoat
Do not use spaztix paint!!! This is the worst paint for lexan. It will not stick no matter what you do. It is a known problem with it hence the reason you dont hear any of the big name painters using it. I've been painting for over 25+ yrs. It will not stick. After few hits it peels off in sheets no matter what you do!! I scuff all my bodies with gray 3m scotch bright. Red is too coarse. Wash with dawn dish soap. All I use is auto air, wicked, and createx. It is the exact same stuff as faskolor!!!. You actually use any acrylic craft paint. It will just need thinned. Regular Windex is one of the best things to use to thin it. It will stick and you will have no issues.
To each his own dude! Ive had zero issues with SpazStix. Sticks just fine for me. Guess I just have it figured out. Shot many a nitro bodies, on road and off road bodies with it and none of it peels.

As far as Jconcepts bodies go never had an issue unless it was my fault for not cleaning it properly.

We all have our preferences on paint and bodies. Find what paint works best for you and go with it. Just remember to take your time and use lighter coats.

Almost forgot, I use the space heater for the mask. Same thing applies as with the paint. Heavy coats will take longer to dry. I let mine sit over night once I have the last coat baked on. If you cut it right away it's still fairly soft and can seal your cut lines. Learned that the hard way lol. I'm sure someone else will come in and tell me I'm wrong. I'm just telling you from experience so take it for what's it's worth.

Last edited by Mike E.; 09-13-2017 at 05:10 AM.
Old 09-14-2017, 12:08 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Mike E.