Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography
What Airbrush to chose for BEGINNING RC Painting ? >

What Airbrush to chose for BEGINNING RC Painting ?

What Airbrush to chose for BEGINNING RC Painting ?

Old 01-13-2011, 03:22 AM
  #31  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Is there an airbrush fine enough that would spray as if you were using a pen or maybe a fat marker on the body? I have a badger, I forget what model, but I can't get it to spay no where near fine enough to my liking.

I would like to take an attempt at some free hand designs.
pakk is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 09:25 PM
  #32  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (32)
 
Hitaslice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default Airbrush

If you have a hobby Lobby around where you live I just pick up a Iwata NEO airbrush for $45. It comes with a .35 MM neetle. You can get fine lines with that.

Ed
Hitaslice is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 07:58 PM
  #33  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Posts: 499
Default

The OP mentions using a tire tube as an air source. Does it mean a bicycle tube or something bigger?
Stregone is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 10:11 PM
  #34  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
drewmugx5t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

I have a master g33 and its awesome. wouldn't trade it for anything else. Just got done painting a new body and worked perfectly Had it over a year now
drewmugx5t is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 10:20 PM
  #35  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
wacko37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Altus, OK
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

can i use my big craftsman 22 gal compressor with that regulator?
wacko37 is offline  
Old 04-28-2011, 02:32 PM
  #36  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
jake95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

hi
i want to airbrush some bodies and i wanted to no what
airbrush {type brand}
paint
how many psi
thanks
jake
jake95 is offline  
Old 04-29-2011, 11:08 PM
  #37  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
jake95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jake95 View Post
hi
i want to airbrush some bodies and i wanted to no what
airbrush {type brand}
paint
how many psi
thanks
jake
anyone
jake95 is offline  
Old 05-07-2011, 05:09 PM
  #38  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
SCTRacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Questions??

I am new to airbrushing, but I have a possible good deal on this airbrush would it be a good investment, or are the replacement parts super expensive too? I know it's better than I need but if it will be the only one I need for a long time I might as well make the investment. I plan on doing mostly Lexan RC bodies but possibly venture into more applications as my experience grows.

Iwata Custom Micron C Airbrush this is the Airbrush I'm looking at. How much does it cost to maintain a brush like this I would probably use it a few times a week.
SCTRacerX is offline  
Old 05-07-2011, 05:14 PM
  #39  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (54)
 
Flying Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 4,452
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jake95 View Post
hi
i want to airbrush some bodies and i wanted to no what
airbrush {type brand}
paint
how many psi
thanks
jake
Im really new to airbrushing and I bought the Iwata HP-CS. I love it. Being new its real easy to clean and maintain. I wouldnt hesitate to buy another. For paint right now Im using faskolor cause its readily available at my LHS. I have been working at 35psi and lower for different things but mainly 35. Its all working for me learning it all. And the HP-CS gets high marks from alot of painters here.
Flying Monkey is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 01:42 PM
  #40  
Tech Master
iTrader: (56)
 
1967rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Roy Utah
Posts: 1,027
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jake95 View Post
hi
i want to airbrush some bodies and i wanted to no what
airbrush {type brand}
paint
how many psi
thanks
jake
I use an Air Pro Tools 800, the are cheap and come with .2 .3 and .5.
Faskolor or createx paint
40-45psi for backing and large areas with thick paint, 30psi for detail work with thinned paint
1967rs is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 03:56 PM
  #41  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 1
Default

One airbrush most people might overlook, is the Testors Aztec. It comes in a few versions but for regular RC body painting I use the plastic one.

Some airbrush artists use them because they are so light and have a sensitive trigger.

The needle is actually inside the tip, which come in many sizes.

I use Createx arcrylic paint which you can find at most Craft stores. Just make sure you back it which a lexan safe spray can.

Back it with white if its a light coloured body, and black if its dark.
Hawkeye_LTS is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 04:04 PM
  #42  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
Colors_By_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naperville, IL 60565
Posts: 2,824
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

The Aztec is a very basic brush that would be fine for anyone who only needs to do a body here or there. For heavy use and more demanding artwork and detail, a quality Iwata, Paasche, or Badger, just to name a few, can be had for only $20 more than the Aztec.

But for anyone who doesn't have the extra cash, or the need for better tools, it is adequate for the job.
Colors_By_Dave is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 04:12 PM
  #43  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
Randy Sawyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Greenfield, TN
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Is the Iwata Silver Jet compressor good enough for painting RC?
working pressure is 10 to 18 psi

Last edited by Randy Sawyers; 06-16-2011 at 04:46 PM.
Randy Sawyers is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 08:39 PM
  #44  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Your def. gonna want a a filter/water trap setup on the outlet if your using a regular compressor. Especially if your in any kind of humind enviroment.
skye b. is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 05:23 PM
  #45  
Tech Rookie
 
prorcspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

TCP Global is ok but i been doing business with Chicago Airbrush supply company and had nothing but good things to say about them i bought a badger and it jammed up on me i returned it no questions asked and bought a better model from them.

lost of great stuff on there site, like i said TCP Global is great but i like Chicago better because i am located in New Jersey And i get shipped fast them.


Great Post!!!! ProRCSpeed.
prorcspeed is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.