Airbrushing with too high PSI?

Old 03-12-2009, 08:46 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Airbrushing with too high PSI?

Newbie to airbrushing- I'm using an Iwata Eclipse gravity fed airbrush with laquer based paint thinned with 50% paint laquer and spraying at 15-20 psi using a CO2 tank. I laid down several coats of red followed by a couple coats ob black on my Jammin X1 CR body. It has been a few days and the paint job looks really nice, but when I touch or rub the inside of the body with my finger I get a lot of black paint dust particles on my finger. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong? I used fine sandpaper to get rid of most of it, but would like some clarity.
Jesse M is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 12:28 PM
  #2  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse M
Newbie to airbrushing- I'm using an Iwata Eclipse gravity fed airbrush with laquer based paint thinned with 50% paint laquer and spraying at 15-20 psi using a CO2 tank. I laid down several coats of red followed by a couple coats ob black on my Jammin X1 CR body. It has been a few days and the paint job looks really nice, but when I touch or rub the inside of the body with my finger I get a lot of black paint dust particles on my finger. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong? I used fine sandpaper to get rid of most of it, but would like some clarity.
Are you using RC/Polycarbonate paint?
charlie_b is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 04:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Yes I am using Pactra laquer based paint and have thinned it with approx 50% paint thinner. It just seems to have somewhat of a gritty finish that flakes off like tiny dirt particles, but doesn't ruin the integrity of the finish.
Jesse M is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 04:47 PM
  #4  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jesse M
Yes I am using Pactra laquer based paint and have thinned it with approx 50% paint thinner. It just seems to have somewhat of a gritty finish that flakes off like tiny dirt particles, but doesn't ruin the integrity of the finish.
Your PSI seems fine. I think the residue is just paint dust. you can wipe them off with a damp cloth and you should be ok. If the finish is not affected, then you are fine.
charlie_b is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:19 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
Colors_By_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naperville, IL 60565
Posts: 2,827
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Is it Pactra lacquer thinner, or generic lacquer thinner?
Colors_By_Dave is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:25 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Generic thinner from Home Depot- "Klean Strip"
Thanks for the help
Jesse M is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 08:44 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
Colors_By_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naperville, IL 60565
Posts: 2,827
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Seems unlikely, but I seem to recall one of the paint brands recommending that you use their thinner formulated specifically for their lacquer. It could be they are just trying for more of your business, but for the little bit we shoot, I'd give it a try.
Colors_By_Dave is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 11:36 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
bigmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

it's the pactra paints, must use there thinner. stinks like hell, get a good mask
bigmatt is offline  
Old 04-09-2009, 06:05 AM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,488
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I've never used pactra's thinner in 20 years. Don't waste your money. I think your spraying too dry. The dust could be paint that's drying before it hits the body.
racer1812 is offline  
Old 04-09-2009, 06:40 AM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
phoenixxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 79
Default

Please dont take my word for it, a local painter that i know use to paint with pactra, and he thined it with acetone, if you try this use some scrap lexan to test.
just my 2cents worth.
phoenixxx is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.