Like Tree10Likes

Vinyl Cutters!

Old 05-05-2009, 06:47 PM
  #301  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bfutura15
Neo: What I actually do on the windows is trace them on tracing paper and scan that into inkscape and use the pen tool to trace. I have tried the way you described but when I scan it it comes out washed out. Are you backing it with a darker sheet?
You can do it few different ways.

1) Leave the masks on the sheet if there is a difference between the backing sheet and the mask itself.

2) Remove the masks and simply place on a different color piece of paint.

3) Trace around the masks with a sharpie.

I personally prefer method 1 or 2 as doing the 3 method doesnt give you as smooth of lines to work with when tracing then with the pen tool.
NeoNot is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 06:49 PM
  #302  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by charlie_b
Neo...this is why you are awesome! You are an excellent Student!
Dude if not for your help I still wouldnt know how to use AI.

The hour or two you spent with me over the phone really got me going and you have always been able to answer the little questions I cant seem to find the answer for!!!

So thanks go out to you for being such a good teacher Chuck.
NeoNot is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 05:45 AM
  #303  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,070
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know of a version of inkscape that will work well with vista 32 bit? Everytime I load it, it will work fine, but if I shut it down and try to bring it back up, well, lets just say it's not pretty.
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 11:15 AM
  #304  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: north west Alabama
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

anyone know how to do the pinstripe around letters and flames using inkscape?

Thanks
robman is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:48 AM
  #305  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,070
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

For anyone using inkscape, Everytime I download it, it will open once and work fine. After I close it down and try to re-open it, a taskbar comes up and says that the uninstall.dat file is missing and when I proceed to try and install it, it says it doesn't exist, or something of that nature. Anyone have this kind of issue?
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 03:05 PM
  #306  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE
For anyone using inkscape, Everytime I download it, it will open once and work fine. After I close it down and try to re-open it, a taskbar comes up and says that the uninstall.dat file is missing and when I proceed to try and install it, it says it doesn't exist, or something of that nature. Anyone have this kind of issue?
Sorry bro, works just fine here. I personally dont use it but got it just to see what everyone was talking about. I have opened and closed it 5 or 6 times in the last couple minutes with no issues at all.

If running in Vista you may want to try changing the mode it runs in. Try using the compatibility mode and set it for XP operation or something other than Vista.

Originally Posted by robman
anyone know how to do the pinstripe around letters and flames using inkscape?

Thanks
Try

Path - Linked Offset or Dynamic Offset
NeoNot is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 06:13 AM
  #307  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,070
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NeoNot
Sorry bro, works just fine here. I personally dont use it but got it just to see what everyone was talking about. I have opened and closed it 5 or 6 times in the last couple minutes with no issues at all.

If running in Vista you may want to try changing the mode it runs in. Try using the compatibility mode and set it for XP operation or something other than Vista.
I got it worked out. It was the way it had installed. Weird, but read the solution from the web. Now it seems to work how it should. Now the question is, can I get it to run the robo cutter, and can I import from Adobe CS3?
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:47 PM
  #308  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: north west Alabama
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

What software do I need to create pinstripes around letters and flames?
Cheap as possiable?

Thanks Rob
robman is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 10:27 PM
  #309  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE
I got it worked out. It was the way it had installed. Weird, but read the solution from the web. Now it seems to work how it should. Now the question is, can I get it to run the robo cutter, and can I import from Adobe CS3?
I dont know if there is a driver to allow the Robo to be ran directly from InkScape.

Yes you can import from CS3 as long as you save as an AI Version 9 or higher file type.

Originally Posted by robman
What software do I need to create pinstripes around letters and flames?
Cheap as possiable?

Thanks Rob
Have you tried what I posted above? It worked just fine for me!
NeoNot is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 05:46 AM
  #310  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,070
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robman
What software do I need to create pinstripes around letters and flames?
Cheap as possiable?

Thanks Rob
As in-expensive as possable, I would try Inkscape. It's free to download, so it doesn't get any better than that.
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 12:24 PM
  #311  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
robman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: north west Alabama
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE
As in-expensive as possable, I would try Inkscape. It's free to download, so it doesn't get any better than that.

yea but i can't figure out how to do it with inkscape or any other software I have..

thanks
robman is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 08:19 AM
  #312  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,070
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NeoNot
Yes you can import from CS3 as long as you save as an AI Version 9 or higher file type.

I followed your tutorial on the CFX website, and I have a question for you. I noticed that in AI under file, when it drops down, your graphtec info is there to select. When I pull mine down, its not. I un-installed and then re-installed the robo software (it's actually a Quikutz cutter that uses the craft robo software) but no luck. It does work with inkscape when I save a file as a DXF. Am I missing a plug-in for my AI? Any light you can shed on this would be greatly appreciated.

Ken
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 09:14 PM
  #313  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE
I followed your tutorial on the CFX website, and I have a question for you. I noticed that in AI under file, when it drops down, your graphtec info is there to select. When I pull mine down, its not. I un-installed and then re-installed the robo software (it's actually a Quikutz cutter that uses the craft robo software) but no luck. It does work with inkscape when I save a file as a DXF. Am I missing a plug-in for my AI? Any light you can shed on this would be greatly appreciated.

Ken

There is a plugin that you need to install for Adobe to get the Robo to show up in AI. You can download the plugin from Graphtecs website and maybe from OOC's site as well.
NeoNot is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 05:24 AM
  #314  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,070
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

OOC?
MUDVAYNE is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 06:00 AM
  #315  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
Colors_By_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naperville, IL 60565
Posts: 2,827
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

http://www.oocrcracing.com/
Colors_By_Dave is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.