Like Tree10Likes

Vinyl Cutters!

Old 02-01-2009, 06:48 AM
  #181  
Tech Master
iTrader: (114)
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

No I can't save as .eps. I can save as AI and about everything else it seems. I noticed I can Export it as .EPS but I get a screen that pops up and gives me some options. Not sure what to change or if I should leave the settings alone. Here are the screen shots.


I appreciate the help. Thanks,
2fst2c is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 08:01 PM
  #182  
Tech Master
 
Joemd48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 1,132
Default

Originally Posted by W.E.D.Jim
I am looking for the Adobe creative suite software, full version. The part number I "Think" I need is 65019371 . But I am not sure, since I have seen it listed as full version and as an update for the same part number?
Since I have niether Illustrator or Photoshop, I need full version for Windows.

I have also seen it for $485 up to $1799, ?

I am working on a line of T shirts and Hats for racers that will be sold under the name, Get Faster Gear, and I need to convert all my sketches.
Would be cool to be able to do my own logos for paint work also.


Thanks for any help computer savy dudes.

...Jim
W.E.D.
I just purchased Adobe Creative Suite 4 from Academic Superstore at a great price. If you or a family member is a student, they give large discounts on all Adobe software. Here is there link.
http://www.academicsuperstore.com/eligibility/k12
Joemd48 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 08:31 PM
  #183  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 223
Default

For any file conversion issues, consult a free program called ImageMagick.

It can be downloaded at http://www.imagemagick.org/script/index.php

Some of the conversions are done by command line (but don't run screaming!) it is very, very easy. There is also wonderful documentation provided.

A simply .tiff to .jpg conversion can be as easy as...

convert myimage.tiff myimage.jpg

There are tons and tons more 'switches' there called (things that look like -size -width etc.) however that is just added functionality. ImageMagick is so powerful that many image processing application use it on the back end. What it can and cannot do is documented well on the website.

Hope this helps. If you have a specific question about it let me know.
Larks is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:23 AM
  #184  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2fst2c
No I can't save as .eps. I can save as AI and about everything else it seems. I noticed I can Export it as .EPS but I get a screen that pops up and gives me some options. Not sure what to change or if I should leave the settings alone. Here are the screen shots.
I appreciate the help. Thanks,
Since it is an export it really isnt going to hurt anything if you try sending the file out with no changes and see how it works. If you have an issue with the plotter after you send the file out let us know and maybe then when can make a suggestion on what you need to change.

You might also want to search the USCutters forums for information about X2 SignCut pluggin for Corel X. If memory serves me there is a fairly cheap pluggin from SignCut that allows you to cut directly from Corel X.

I have no idea what the cost is or even where to find it but I do remember reading about it when I was researching the USCutters cause I thought it was odd to have the ability to cut from Corel X but not Adobe Illustrator.
NeoNot is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 07:07 AM
  #185  
Tech Master
iTrader: (114)
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for that info. I will check both those sites and see what I can come up with. It would be sweet if I could cut right from Corel X! Would even spend some money to do so. I tried to export from Corel to SB and it works, except when I go to cutter it says something to the effect of File contains a Bitmap, only Non-Bitmap will cut. So I need to change something. I'll search those sites and if I have issues I'll post them. Thanks again!
2fst2c is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:33 PM
  #186  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (30)
 
nitro psyco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: memphis tn
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 30 (94%+)
Default customs logos and vinyl stickers

Hi im looking for someone that does custom team logos and vinyl stickers for 1/18 to 1/10 scale cars please p.m. me if you make custom vinyls
nitro psyco is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:44 PM
  #187  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default



Originally Posted by nitro psyco
Hi im looking for someone that does custom team logos and vinyl stickers for 1/18 to 1/10 scale cars please p.m. me if you make custom vinyls
Tres is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 05:30 PM
  #188  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Cutter any good....

Charlie.. tried to find you over IM... you werent on...

can anyone comment on the 12" USCutter...

here's a sample on ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/USCutter-12-Viny...1|293:1|294:50
Hebiki is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 04:38 AM
  #189  
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Uscutter makes a great Cutter. That is a 12" Refine Cutter. for what you want to use it for, it would be just fine.
charlie_b is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:55 PM
  #190  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 290
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Charlie_B - Between US Cutter 12" vs Craft Robo, which one is better? and more quiet? Is there a local store in Orange CO, CA sell US Cutter stuff? Thanks
rcracingzone is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 06:38 PM
  #191  
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcracingzone
Charlie_B - Between US Cutter 12" vs Craft Robo, which one is better? and more quiet? Is there a local store in Orange CO, CA sell US Cutter stuff? Thanks
You can either get Us cutter from Ebay or Direct. As far as better...it is a trade off.

Us Cutter is 4" wider.
Craft robo has an "eye" for Reg marks.

What is more important to you? Also, i think the US Cutter is cheaper...again..it is a toss up.
charlie_b is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 10:01 PM
  #192  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by charlie_b
You can either get Us cutter from Ebay or Direct. As far as better...it is a trade off.

Us Cutter is 4" wider.
Craft robo has an "eye" for Reg marks.

What is more important to you? Also, i think the US Cutter is cheaper...again..it is a toss up.

Dont forget the ability to find media that will feed in the Robo without the feeder sheet!!!

That is one of the big reasons I switched from the Robo to a USCutter. I had a hard time finding 8.5 inch vinyl to feed through the Robo and I hated using the sticky media sheet to feed vinyl smaller than 8.5 inches.

You can find 12 inch vinyl all day long for roughly the same price as the 8inch stuff!!!
NeoNot is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 12:38 PM
  #193  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 53
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Newbie

Great info here. I am having a hard time tracing logos to be able to make masks.
I am trying to do real CORR truck repilcas for the slashes. I cant seem to figure out a way to make clean outlines to cut with my Craft Robo. I have AI CS4, Inkscape, and the Robo software.

Logos I have tried so far are .jps I find on the internet, then I auto trace them and convert to DXF files but the lines are no where near sharp clean lines. Any help would be awesome. Shortcuts anything? I have no graphics software experience except for what I have learned the last 2 nights. Maybe a AI for dummies book? Do they work?
Jake O is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 12:51 PM
  #194  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

You will need to clean them up by hand.

Auotraces will get you close, but needs to start with a highest res pic as possible.
Tres is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 01:22 PM
  #195  
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jake O
Great info here. I am having a hard time tracing logos to be able to make masks.
I am trying to do real CORR truck repilcas for the slashes. I cant seem to figure out a way to make clean outlines to cut with my Craft Robo. I have AI CS4, Inkscape, and the Robo software.

Logos I have tried so far are .jps I find on the internet, then I auto trace them and convert to DXF files but the lines are no where near sharp clean lines. Any help would be awesome. Shortcuts anything? I have no graphics software experience except for what I have learned the last 2 nights. Maybe a AI for dummies book? Do they work?
No need for books, there are a lot of tutorials online. The tutorial you will need is for the PENTOOL. Look it up. Once you master that, you will never use the autotrace feature again.
charlie_b is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.