Like Tree10Likes

Vinyl Cutters!

Old 12-15-2008, 05:55 AM
  #151  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wild.lucifero
Hello Tres,
could you tell me which kind of masking tape you use, please?
I'm using now the Oracal 631 Exhibition item. it's good, but I think it's too thin.
Thanks a lot.
Michele
I've tried a few lately, Avery paint mask is the best overall, but it tends to pull off tight curves. Oracal 651 is thinner and contours better, but it's not perfect, its hard to peel if you use heat, but it doesn't leave any residue. The avery peels off easily and also leaves no residue, but I think it tends to pull the paint off more than the thinner Oracal, so you can see each has their own issues.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:02 AM
  #152  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Bfutura15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 931
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I use Mactac paint mask. Work pretty well. It is transparent. Leaves clean lines, but I do have a problem with it pulling white off just a tad.

Another Topic:

I use the Createx white. Do anyone know if I use Pactra or Spaz if it may not pull off. It seems to be only white at this current time.
Bfutura15 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 02:30 PM
  #153  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

thanks for all the help guys.. just bought adobe cs4 and a wacom draw tablet. after watching so vids on youtube with people using there wacoms im sold those things are the bomb diggy doo. cant wait when it gets here to start drawing on the computer..
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 02:35 PM
  #154  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Cool, let us know how you like it.
Tres is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 05:47 AM
  #155  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

is a vp300 roland a good printer?
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 04:04 PM
  #156  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Yes, I have the SP300v.

The VP is the next step up.
Main difference is, it's faster.
Tres is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 04:19 PM
  #157  
Tech Master
 
Joemd48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 1,132
Default

I need help!! I purchased the Craft ROBO Pro and I am unable to load the driver to my HP laptop that is using Vista. It comes with special instructions for Vista but they are useless. The laptop said it cannot find the driver on the CD but I checked the CD and it has the same files that the support section of the manufacturer's web site. Can anyone offer any help to this newbe? Tks.
Joemd48 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 12:03 PM
  #158  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

well i was looking around and see that there is a printer called the prismjet that looks pretty nice.. But ive been searching around and it seems most use the roland is there a reason? besides it cuts and prints on the same printer
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 01:25 PM
  #159  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (20)
 
DANE_TRAIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have a link or a website to cool vector files? I'm looking for paint mask E.I. flames, scallops
DANE_TRAIN is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 01:42 PM
  #160  
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
charlie_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,927
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Joemd48
I need help!! I purchased the Craft ROBO Pro and I am unable to load the driver to my HP laptop that is using Vista. It comes with special instructions for Vista but they are useless. The laptop said it cannot find the driver on the CD but I checked the CD and it has the same files that the support section of the manufacturer's web site. Can anyone offer any help to this newbe? Tks.
Contact John at OOCrcracing.com he can help you.
charlie_b is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 01:40 PM
  #161  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: detroit area
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

hey guys.

complete novice with this. used to buy all my vinyl from a great guy but getting too expensive.

looking to make my own drivers name, transponder #'s wheel dots out of vinyl.

is that robo craft the way to go or somethign else.

does that robo do layered vinyl so i could do multiple colors.

dont want to do sticker style where i have to cut out.
vic0280 is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 09:13 PM
  #162  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
NeoNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

VIC

I am not quite sure what you mean by layered vinyl. Most people that I know that do vinyl simply cut out the desired colors and lay one over the top of the other when they want a multi colored design. This is much easier than trying to cut out say red letters and put a black outline around the edge.

As an example most people simply cut the red letter at an inch and cut the black letters at an inch and a quarter. They then lay the red letters on top of the black letters and attach the black letter to their sign/body.


In either case the robo is capable of doing it both ways. It can contour cut which would allow you to do the first process or it can work as a standard plotter which would allow you to do the second process.
NeoNot is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 04:47 AM
  #163  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0EWj...eature=related
Tres is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 06:08 PM
  #164  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
W.E.D.Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kissimmee,Fl.
Posts: 4,948
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Cool vid!

Looks easy...


When you have done it once, or, uhhh, twice.







...Jim
W.E.D.
W.E.D.Jim is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 03:36 PM
  #165  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Is Corel Draw a decent software for creating decals? Reason I ask is that my wife has it allready and I have played with it a little, all be it a long time ago. I want to basically make custom size and color decals for my own use using an ink jet printer.

If you think it will work, can I scan an image and then use that to scale and change colors?
SteveL is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.