Like Tree10Likes

Vinyl Cutters!

Old 12-13-2008, 03:29 AM
  #136  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Ultraspeed84: you can do that in Flexi or in Photoshop/ILL.

I use the adobe method now 100%.
The only time Flexi get's opened is to convert a file from FS to eps.

Don't forget you will also need a laminator the width of the printer.

You can buy a used 30" Roland in 7K range.
Tres is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 03:38 AM
  #137  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

i know u cant give out all the secrets lol. but how does one take a pic of a buggy thats been painted and then draw it out or trace it or what not in adobe or do u half to actually draw the stuff out? like i said i doubt ill be buying anything its more of something to learn on part time to keep me busy.. im just really impressed with how u guys do this stuff.. the vinyle cutter its self is easy but it takes talent and time to do digital stuff...so really all id need is ILL from adobe? dont need photo shop stuff like that?
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 03:54 AM
  #138  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Nothing secrect at all. I
t's not hard to get the basics, just takes some time.
When you buy a "custom" wrap you're paying more for design time than material.

as you can see most of the graphics guy don't chime in here..

Good graphics are good graphics no matter who does them.
To me, a nice painted body or a cool pit board is a work of art.

I don't look at it as " Well, I would have done this or done that."

Anyway....
Yes, you have to draw it out, almost the same as you do a body when you paint it.
Just on the screen.

If you want to drop me a PM with your #, I would be glad to talk about how I do mine.

You can do a lot in ILL, but I use Photoshop as well.

I use them about 50/50 each.

Software wise, I have the design suite with Dreamweaver and Flash also.
Tres is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 10:35 AM
  #139  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
VR Swapped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by charlie_b
Inkscape is free. DL it bro.
charlie_b, do you know if Inkscape will cut directly to my Roland cutter?
VR Swapped is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 12:08 PM
  #140  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Bfutura15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 931
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by VR Swapped
charlie_b, do you know if Inkscape will cut directly to my Roland cutter?
No it is just a design software.
Bfutura15 is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 12:12 PM
  #141  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
VR Swapped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bfutura15
No it is just a design software.
Thanks.
VR Swapped is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 12:41 PM
  #142  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
chickenfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,887
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tres
Nothing secrect at all. I
t's not hard to get the basics, just takes some time.
When you buy a "custom" wrap you're paying more for design time than material.

as you can see most of the graphics guy don't chime in here..

Good graphics are good graphics no matter who does them.
To me, a nice painted body or a cool pit board is a work of art.

I don't look at it as " Well, I would have done this or done that."

Anyway....
Yes, you have to draw it out, almost the same as you do a body when you paint it.
Just on the screen.

If you want to drop me a PM with your #, I would be glad to talk about how I do mine.

You can do a lot in ILL, but I use Photoshop as well.

I use them about 50/50 each.

Software wise, I have the design suite with Dreamweaver and Flash also.
I do kinda the same thing but do all of my drawing in Flexi, then shade everything in photoshop.

And +100 to the custom taking time, I draw all my designs by hand... no copy paste here. :P
chickenfarmer is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:02 PM
  #143  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

how do u draw it out? do u have to do it with a mouse or can you buy something that is like a pin type deal?
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:02 AM
  #144  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

all mouse for me...
Tres is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 10:44 AM
  #145  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
chickenfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,887
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Mouse here too... I bought a Wacom draw tablet but havent had much down time to mess with it.
chickenfarmer is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 12:07 PM
  #146  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

wow that makes it even harder lol...
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 10:12 PM
  #147  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,074
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

what size pad did u get from wacom?
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 10:36 PM
  #148  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by Tres
I use mainly Avery or Oracal for paint mask.

I'm not sure about Vectorgraphics, they more than likely relabel from another company.
Hello Tres,
could you tell me which kind of masking tape you use, please?
I'm using now the Oracal 631 Exhibition item. it's good, but I think it's too thin.
Thanks a lot.
Michele
wild.lucifero is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 04:50 AM
  #149  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

For custom paint mask, I use Avery material.

If you want thicker material, try the yellow Avery paint mask.
Tres is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 05:31 AM
  #150  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
chickenfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,887
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

9x12
chickenfarmer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.