5ive rtr servo question

Reply

Old 04-20-2016, 10:31 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Penticton BC
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default 5ive rtr servo question

I just picked up a 5ive rtr..the one with the lipo receiver pac. I was reading somewhere that the lipo is too much for the servo and it will "burn" the servo...please explain. What should I do to prevent this? Will a BEC help? I understand that a duel servo setup helps, but what about the throttle servo?....new to 5th so please excuse the lack of knowledge. Mr Frank Root....your advice has always helped me please chime in.

Thanks
Shaun B22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 03:19 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 133
Default

Check the specs on the servos and receiver. I think the throttle servo is 6V and you can’t put anything over that. Battery type shouldn’t really make any difference. Put on lipo I think you are able to overcharge them so if you don’t have a proper charger to do things accurate it might do some harm to the servo. If you are looking to run the steering servo at full potential 7.4V if I’m right check the specs you need to replace the 6V servo to 7.4V servo and check that the receiver can take the voltage. On 5ive it seems that many change the servos because they are under power and 6V to 7.4V and higher rating or even double servo for the steering.
puppeli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 06:58 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Penticton BC
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thank you for the reply...however....only raised a couple mor questions....first off the receiver pac is a lipo so as far as I know they are only in 3.7V increments. This one being 7.4 5200mAh 2S 15C......throttle servo is a Losi S901T [email protected] and the steering is a Losi S900S [email protected] My question is what do I have to do to NOT burn the servos? Like I said I read a post somewhere that if you put a lipo (7.4V) battery in the truck it will burn the servos.......this truck comes with a said 7.4V lipo.......did Losi release a truck that will fail?......if changing the servos is the only option then that's what I'll have to do.....just need things to be clear.

Thanks
Shaun B22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 07:11 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
DDMSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 164
Default

The new RTR with included LiPos have updated servos that are LiPo capable. There is no need to install a BEC or voltage regulator. The stock servos can be used with the LiPo with no problem.
DDMSteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 07:53 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Penticton BC
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys
Shaun B22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 09:48 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
thirtydaZe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Omaha
Posts: 332
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

There is a bunch of info here, and other places about the 5ive t. just kind of be careful, not of false info, but the date of some threads. there is great info on the web, just, from my experience, some of it dates back to earlier models of the RTR you, and i are driving.

Another question i always raise in my mind is, the instruction manuals state to make sure that there is a hole in your gas cap, however, unless i'm totally blind my cap has no hole, and runs fine. My gas tank however looks to be vented, or at least i'm assuming it is, and i think that that is something different from earlier models too.

Or, perhaps i'm totally wrong about the above entire statement.
thirtydaZe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 11:29 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Penticton BC
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thirtydaZe View Post
some of it dates back to earlier models of the RTR you, and i are driving.

The one I have is the silver, orange and flat black rtr with avc.....thought that was the latest one....not an early one. It was ordered from Horizon 3 weeks ago. This is the way I understand it

5iveT roller - no motor or electronics, clear body
5iveT Bind - with motor and electronics, no radio and black and white body
5iveT RTR - complete, silver, orange and black body

Now is there more than I version of the RTR?
Shaun B22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 03:42 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 133
Default

Originally Posted by Shaun B22 View Post
Thank you for the reply...however....only raised a couple mor questions....first off the receiver pac is a lipo so as far as I know they are only in 3.7V increments. This one being 7.4 5200mAh 2S 15C......throttle servo is a Losi S901T [email protected] and the steering is a Losi S900S [email protected] My question is what do I have to do to NOT burn the servos? Like I said I read a post somewhere that if you put a lipo (7.4V) battery in the truck it will burn the servos.......this truck comes with a said 7.4V lipo.......did Losi release a truck that will fail?......if changing the servos is the only option then that's what I'll have to do.....just need things to be clear.

Thanks
Find the lowest voltage component in your case steering 6V and match it with 6V Battery. Lipo have a combatable charger so you don't over charge the battery. Some of these batteries say 6V but can be charger over that to maybe 7.4V depending of the battery and that is too much for the 6V servo. With Losi they deliberate make the vehicle expensive to upgrade. It would have been so easy just to stick 7.4V servo there making it very durable with 6V battery or for easy upgrade to a 7.4V battery.
puppeli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 03:49 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 133
Default

Originally Posted by thirtydaZe View Post
There is a bunch of info here, and other places about the 5ive t. just kind of be careful, not of false info, but the date of some threads. there is great info on the web, just, from my experience, some of it dates back to earlier models of the RTR you, and i are driving.

Another question i always raise in my mind is, the instruction manuals state to make sure that there is a hole in your gas cap, however, unless i'm totally blind my cap has no hole, and runs fine. My gas tank however looks to be vented, or at least i'm assuming it is, and i think that that is something different from earlier models too.

Or, perhaps i'm totally wrong about the above entire statement.
And they went from 26cc 2 bolt Dynamate to 29cc two bolt Dynamite. My impression is that they just stuck the upgrade cylinder to the old 26cc 2 bolt. Some improvement but didn't solve the problem and you still need a engine for it.))
puppeli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 04:05 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 133
Default

DDMSteve solved the mystery of the 29cc Dynamite debate in other thread. It is a 4 bolt so that is positive.
puppeli is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service