Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Oval, Larger Scales and More
1/8th scale dirt oval tires >

1/8th scale dirt oval tires

1/8th scale dirt oval tires

Old 02-11-2012, 08:10 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default 1/8th scale dirt oval tires

i am new to dirt oval and am asking what tires you guys run?

i have been told the losi DLM2 tire is the way to go. anyone else use this tire or a simular tire. any info would be great.
Old 02-12-2012, 04:18 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)

I am running the stock Ofna tires that come with the dirt oval car kit. Some of the local racers run Losi DLM2s and some foam. All work on the track.
Old 02-12-2012, 05:57 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

if you can find them, Proline Dirty Harry's hook up on any oval....just my .02

all else fails find some cheap crime fighter style tires and go for broke...
Old 02-13-2012, 11:30 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)

Also, you need to check the rules for your track(s). At the track where I run 1/8th electric late model use DLMRA rules and they require Losi DLM2 or Ofna kit tires; foams are also allowed.
Old 02-13-2012, 06:27 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

The best rubber tires i have found were the tires the old latemodels came with, the older 1.0 losi latemodel. They do well on high bite and loose dirt tracks. They react well with tire juice and react well to temp. if the track is smooth and high bite, your going to fall to foams, they are just hard to beat.
Old 02-13-2012, 06:34 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

also, get to walmart and get some PB Blast, and let it sit on the tires over night, RUBBER tire only, it makes the tires super soft, and get better when heat is built.
Old 02-15-2012, 08:13 AM
Tech Initiate