Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone
Project: Break in Dutch machine >

Project: Break in Dutch machine

Like Tree19Likes

Project: Break in Dutch machine

Old 05-15-2017, 03:42 PM
  #151  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,317
Default

The Shell 0w20 I use is simple motor oil, just use some brake cleaner to flush out some oil and re-oil the bearings and crankpin with afterrun oil. But to be honest it is not really needed. I also have put the engine together w/o any cleaning and it was startable.
Roelof is offline  
Old 07-04-2017, 03:42 PM
  #152  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

How do I order one of these?
Any help would be much appreciated
mugengreg is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 01:34 AM
  #153  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,317
Default

I do not sell them, The EBIS can be purchased at RichardE on this forum.
Roelof is offline  
Old 07-26-2017, 02:33 AM
  #154  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Knur600

My toy.

;D

Project: Break in Dutch machine-knur600.jpg

arduino with:
- PID for heater,
- hall for rpms,
- some logics inside code.

12Volt overall, max 9A consume for heater, then adter 15 minutes less

desotoracing likes this.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 08-20-2017, 09:35 AM
  #155  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 6,277
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Does anybody know the distance from the motor mount to the center of the crankshaft on a novarossi .21? Also, does the engine need heaters on the sleeve, or without heaters its ok?

Thinking about building one of these
nitrodude is offline  
Old 08-22-2017, 01:50 PM
  #156  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,317
Default

The center of the crankshaft is 0.5mm above the engine mount. Picco seems to be on the mount. I made spacers for 0 and +0.5mm

Heaters on the sleeve is not needed but when using cartridge heaters it is adviseable to mount them on a kind of heatsink with the temperature sensor of the controler with it so the heat is well spread and the sensor is reading right. You only have to wait longer to get the oil well heated.
Roelof is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 11:53 AM
  #157  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 6,277
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What would I use to control the temperature of the thermocouple? And what about a temperature read out?
nitrodude is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 12:55 PM
  #158  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,317
Default

Ebay, Alixpress an even DX.com you can find many temperature controlers. Mine can go up to 115 degees C what is enough but has no housing or frot panel, but it works for just 7 dollar.
Roelof is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 02:10 PM
  #159  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 6,277
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

https://www.ebay.com/itm/10A-110V-Di...wAAOSw-ldZacZJ


Something like that?
nitrodude is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 02:45 PM
  #160  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,317
Default

Yes. As I can see on the housing the output is not realy an output but a relais switch (as most of them are), the manual will explain how to wire the heaters.
Roelof is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 03:15 PM
  #161  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 6,277
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

How do I power everything? I will install a amp readout as well.
Do I need a circuit board connected to a power supply? I will build as 12v.
nitrodude is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 04:23 PM
  #162  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,317
Default

If you want to make it work on 12v you better get a 12v version of the temp controler.

With every device you get a manual how to connet but there are 3 devices to connect to the 12v:

12v - power switch - amp meter - motor

12v - temp controler - temp sensor hanging in the oil.

12v - power switch - relais switch from temp controler - heater.

It is wise to mount the temp sensor and the heaters to the same aluminium surface so the sensor does sense the heater very well. If they are mounted apart from each other then (for sure with cartridge heaters) the heater will shoot into a high temperature causing burning oil arround it before the sensor will sense the heat.
Roelof is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 08:59 PM
  #163  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 6,277
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Roelof
The controler on the internal side wired:



And it works.

This is what scares me, as I know nothing about electronics. Im a machinist by trade and have access to high end equipment, thats the easy part
nitrodude is offline  
Old 01-09-2018, 01:59 AM
  #164  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 420
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nitrodude
What would I use to control the temperature of the thermocouple? And what about a temperature read out?
Why are you trying to control the temperature of the thermocouple? A thermocouple is a measuring device made up of 2 dissimilar metals used to measure temperature. The 2 wires are welded together and when a change of temperature occurs it creates a voltage that is then measured and depending upon the types of metals used you can then compare that voltage to a known standard and determine the voltage.
faqcya is offline  
Old 01-09-2018, 03:00 AM
  #165  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,317
Default

Originally Posted by nitrodude
This is what scares me, as I know nothing about electronics. Im a machinist by trade and have access to high end equipment, thats the easy part
Ofcourse, remember that it is also equipped with a rpm control and read out. When using a simple geared motor with approx 400rpm output there is no need for a rpm control and readout.

In the attachement a simple diagram
Attached Thumbnails Project: Break in Dutch machine-breakin.jpg  
Roelof is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.