R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2014, 05:38 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
silver bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default rex re12 s3 tuning?

Had a question on tuning. Im new to the 3 needle carb and was curious if someone could help me out and give me a starting point to where the needles should be. Thank you.
silver bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 04:56 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

most of the time flush, for sure the big brass screw at the rear, that one must not be touched when set flush
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:46 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Grinder's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,857
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver bullet View Post
Had a question on tuning. Im new to the 3 needle carb and was curious if someone could help me out and give me a starting point to where the needles should be. Thank you.

Rich base setting.
The low speed needle is 3.5 turns out.
High speed needle is 6 turns out.
The spraybar(3rd screw) should be flush with the carb body.

When it's race tuned, the needles will be more like this.
Low needle 2.75 turns out
High speed 5.5 turns out.
Spraybar always flush.
__________________
www.murnanmodified.com
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 04:43 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
silver bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Ok thanx guys ill give it a try. It runs alright once I get her goin but if I come to a stop the idle will be high for about 3 seconds or so and then it comes down to where it should be for about 3 seconds. Then it slowly idles down and dies...
silver bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 02:58 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

That can happen when:

- de glowplug is bad
- the engine is too lean and so too hot
- the P/S set is at its end of life
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:00 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
silver bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
That can happen when:

- de glowplug is bad
- the engine is too lean and so too hot
- the P/S set is at its end of life
Thanx for the reply. Im sorry but im not sure what the p/s set is?...
silver bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 04:57 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
blis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver bullet View Post
Ok thanx guys ill give it a try. It runs alright once I get her goin but if I come to a stop the idle will be high for about 3 seconds or so and then it comes down to where it should be for about 3 seconds. Then it slowly idles down and dies...
Richen the HSN top, then lean the LSN and lower the idle in small increments, then tune the HSN Top once you get a good idle mixture.

Or... as Roelof said, HSN is too lean and engine is hot.

PS = Piston and sleeve
__________________
RC Cars: E4/G4/TCX/LAB-C02/T4'15/MM Engines
WEB: Beachmums Racing - MYRCM Race Registration
Media: Amain - RCRacingTV - RedRC - LiveRC - blisx264
blis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 10:05 PM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
silver bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blis View Post
Richen the HSN top, then lean the LSN and lower the idle in small increments, then tune the HSN Top once you get a good idle mixture.

Or... as Roelof said, HSN is too lean and engine is hot.

PS = Piston and sleeve
Thank you for your response. Whats a good plug to run in this motor?
silver bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 02:08 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

With all those simple questions I doubt you have treated your engine well.....
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 03:25 AM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
QuiXoTic_NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default

Pretty much all Novarossi-based .12's should run well on a Novarossi C6TGF plug in most conditions. First check if you still have decent compression; if not, your piston and sleeve are indeed worn out and then all the tuning and glowplugs in the world are not going to help you.
__________________
Shepherd V10 Pro 2015 - Matrix tires - Novarossi Engines - Runnertime
QuiXoTic_NL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:58 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
silver bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
With all those simple questions I doubt you have treated your engine well.....
Thanx for the negativity, nobody asked for that and I know that the motor has been taken care of and has plenty of compression. i just bought the car and motor from a good buddy of mine that I know takes care of his stuff. Its all been sitting for a while thought maby that has somthing to do wiith it.
silver bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:43 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

"motor from a good buddy of mine". Should show ya how the motor works!!
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 02:40 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,271
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

+1

Why the questions if your buddy can help you realtime?
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 01:29 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
blis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver bullet View Post
Thank you for your response. Whats a good plug to run in this motor?
Anytime buddy, plugs for on road on the cool side, its more about having consistent supply as it is which one, Im no expert on them... Buy a couple and see how they fair, see if the platinum is happy and not frosted or mangled in comparison with combustion chamber...
__________________
RC Cars: E4/G4/TCX/LAB-C02/T4'15/MM Engines
WEB: Beachmums Racing - MYRCM Race Registration
Media: Amain - RCRacingTV - RedRC - LiveRC - blisx264
blis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:49 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net