R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2005, 05:16 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default turbo button

assuming that it fits, can you use a turbo button on any engine?
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 09:13 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

no

The threads are different and it wouldn't seal anyway on a standard plug head.

Turbo just means it's a taper seal and the plug is flush with the head chamber for more effieciency.
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 09:42 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Florida
Posts: 937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogRacing
no

The threads are different and it wouldn't seal anyway on a standard plug head.

Turbo just means it's a taper seal and the plug is flush with the head chamber for more effieciency.
i was told that on the x12 you can just put a turbo button on it (it comes with a standard button)
Joe Chaplow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 09:50 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
nsxshogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 847
Send a message via AIM to nsxshogun
Default

Yea most motors you can do that as long as you find a button that will fit. I konw someone who put one on there standard TR.
nsxshogun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 10:01 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,107
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joemugen
i was told that on the x12 you can just put a turbo button on it (it comes with a standard button)
My X12 is using my Nova Mega MS 3 ports turbo button (and vise versa), the lastest version of NOVA ROSSI line engine and late Nova Mega engines are all using the same TURBO and non TURBO button....
So joe, you has to get a Nova Rossi base button (Rs12 and after design) to work on your X12...

However, buttons are not all the same, they have different thickness and depth, like Nova Rossi button does not necessary work on OS engine....
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 10:37 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
EdwardN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,144
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Any Novarossi based engines will accept any Novarossi brand turbo head buttons (Rb will accept JP, Novarossi will accept Mugen etc).
BTW, I do have plenty of them in stock at very reasonble price.
Edward
__________________
DISCLAIMER: Since 90% of my posts may be BS, and since my posts may be either insanely idiotic, incoherent, and/or not even close to a rational thought, please accord my posts no more than 10% of credibility.
EdwardN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 10:39 AM   #7
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

I believe os sells a turbo button head. Also if you have a cv-r check out towerhobbies a company sells some sick looking stuff for it and you can get an extreme head. Your set after that but its also so costly you could have probably just bought a TZ.

But theres always options. Most of the time if the motor has a turbo variant. You can just swap on the turbo button head , get a turbo glow-plug and your set.

Also I meant to take pictures of the differences of how they seal but when you look at how a plug sits in a turbo head vs a regular you can kinda see why the extra power.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 11:13 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

If I got a jp, nova rossi engine I wouldnt mess around with swapping buttons from other motors.. just get the turbo version and be done with it..

but I have a nitro star .12r xs and there is no turbo version.. I read it somewhere on here, but am I correct in saying that this motor is the same as the sts engines?
I'm wondering if their turbo button would fit..
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 11:15 AM   #9
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Just be sure to examine and check the sizes of it. You dont want it going down to deep or anything different from the standard setup.

It would be best if you had a digital caliper so you could tell the differences and if it would truly work.

Check and see if it fits...but dont run it. Rotate the motor and see if you hear leaking or it the flywheel wont allow you to fully turn it over.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 11:50 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

I've got digital calipers and will be sure to check clearance before running..

In a couple months I will probably be looking to get a new engine so in the meantime I want to play around with trying different things on this motor.

I already did some modifying to the ports and it seemed to help it get to top end a little quicker..
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 02:32 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,107
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Gun 777
Any Novarossi based engines will accept any Novarossi brand turbo head buttons (Rb will accept JP, Novarossi will accept Mugen etc).
BTW, I do have plenty of them in stock at very reasonble price.
Edward
I am not so sure about that....lets say MT 12 Mugen engine (also from Nova Rossi) their buttons are thinner then the current Nova Rossi model....at least, I cannot use the MT-12 turbo or non-turbo button onto my Mugen X12 engine UNLESS I am using the MT-12 head..........otherwise, the button will go up and down underneath the X12 engine head.

Only certain model of Nova Rossi button can match with some RB and Mugen engine, not all of them are compatable even thought they are all from Nova Rossi.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 02:37 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Florida
Posts: 937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie Solara
I am not so sure about that....lets say MT 12 Mugen engine (also from Nova Rossi) their buttons are thinner then the current Nova Rossi model....at least, I cannot use the MT-12 turbo or non-turbo button onto my Mugen X12 engine UNLESS I am using the MT-12 head..........otherwise, the button will go up and down underneath the X12 engine head.

Only certain model of Nova Rossi button can match with some RB and Mugen engine, not all of them are compatable even thought they are all from Nova Rossi.
does anyone know the part number for the current turbo button in the nsr?
Joe Chaplow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 02:39 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
EdwardN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,144
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie Solara
I am not so sure about that....lets say MT 12 Mugen engine (also from Nova Rossi) their buttons are thinner then the current Nova Rossi model....at least, I cannot use the MT-12 turbo or non-turbo button onto my Mugen X12 engine UNLESS I am using the MT-12 head..........otherwise, the button will go up and down underneath the X12 engine head.

Only certain model of Nova Rossi button can match with some RB and Mugen engine, not all of them are compatable even thought they are all from Nova Rossi.
Actualy it is pretty new for me-my buttons are used on every single Novarossi made engines model-REX, JP, Novarossi, RB, X12, not sure if MT12-toooooo old and nobody use it any more. Any motors made last 2 years use the same head buttons, exsept LL (13.7x14.25) design.
Edward
__________________
DISCLAIMER: Since 90% of my posts may be BS, and since my posts may be either insanely idiotic, incoherent, and/or not even close to a rational thought, please accord my posts no more than 10% of credibility.
EdwardN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 02:45 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,107
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Gun 777
Actualy it is pretty new for me-my buttons are used on every single Novarossi made engines model-REX, JP, Novarossi, RB, X12, not sure if MT12-toooooo old and nobody use it any more. Any motors made last 2 years use the same head buttons, exsept LL (13.7x14.25) design.
Edward
Correct....thats why on my respond, I mentioned the "LATE" model of Nova Rossi type engine (about the time when RS12 T3/T5 period)....MT 12 is defintiely OLD, but they still make them and ppl can still buy them.....
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TURBO 30 5 BUTTON 17nut R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 07-05-2008 01:29 PM
Need a turbo head button and turbo crank rcfoolz R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-14-2005 08:52 PM
turbo 30 9 button vwphoenix Rookie Zone 1 04-17-2005 07:42 PM
Turbo 30 9 button, Turbo 35, power supply Greg Amendola R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-14-2004 11:00 PM
Turbo 30 5 button NetFryer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 06-13-2004 11:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net