R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-06-2006, 05:20 PM   #1336
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buboy28
thats already a good pipe that you got i also own one but its partnered witn an RB V-12 if you still want another pipe try looking at the OS Speed
1040 pipe
Thanks for your input...
I'm looking for a pipe for long straight away....the skyline VR12 plus is good for low and mid power or short or mid track...
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 05:35 PM   #1337
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I know some of you guy run 20 or 30 percent nitro fuel... question is what is the total thickness shims do you have now for 20% and 30%?
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 05:46 PM   #1338
Tech Elite
 
litespeed-dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 3,990
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Franco, you'll really have to play around with it when you get there next weekend. I can tell you one thing so far, it's been a nightmare tuning motor at Timezone. Try to let temperature be manageble, able to make 5 min run but yet still generate enough power and overcook your motor for the long main.

Dom
__________________
Team Kyosho America - Team Br00d Racing - Team R/C Plus - GQ Racing Tyres - Slapmaster Tools - FSX Racing
litespeed-dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 05:53 PM   #1339
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by litespeed-dom
Franco, you'll really have to play around with it when you get there next weekend. I can tell you one thing so far, it's been a nightmare tuning motor at Timezone. Try to let temperature be manageble, able to make 5 min run but yet still generate enough power and overcook your motor for the long main.

Dom
Hi Dom
Nightmare [email protected] what motor are you talking about??
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 05:58 PM   #1340
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Hey Dom
Should I try the 30% instead the 20%...Will is be scale weight check for regional?
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 05:58 PM   #1341
Tech Elite
 
litespeed-dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 3,990
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Any motors. We are on full throttle for so long, so much.

We had guys with motors easily getting over 300 degree.

Dom
__________________
Team Kyosho America - Team Br00d Racing - Team R/C Plus - GQ Racing Tyres - Slapmaster Tools - FSX Racing
litespeed-dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 06:03 PM   #1342
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by litespeed-dom
Any motors. We are on full throttle for so long so much.

Dom
Hmmm
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work

Last edited by OVA; 09-06-2006 at 10:45 PM.
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 09:46 PM   #1343
Tech Elite
 
tomdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coo.. whip
Posts: 3,103
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Would going to 20 or 25 percent Nitro give you better range and lower temp?
__________________
Tom
The Couve, WA

davesrctracks.net
tomdav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 08:39 PM   #1344
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

just ordered D stock TZ3 port its the only 3 porter available and within the budget ... , hopefully it can keep me up with the bunch of nova's , max, and sirio's over here
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 09:11 PM   #1345
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcabj
just ordered D stock TZ3 port its the only 3 porter available and within the budget ... , hopefully it can keep me up with the bunch of nova's , max, and sirio's over here
What pipe are you planning to use?

Have you considered modding the TZ? I had just my sleve modded and the difference was astounding, and the top end phenominal! I put a modded crank in a couple days ago, haven't tested it yet but i'm hoping it will noticably quicker again. The O.S. has so much power ready to be unlocked in the sleeve!
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:35 AM   #1346
Tech Elite
 
rcabj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: johor, west malaysia
Posts: 4,682
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hav_lova
What pipe are you planning to use?

Have you considered modding the TZ? I had just my sleve modded and the difference was astounding, and the top end phenominal! I put a modded crank in a couple days ago, haven't tested it yet but i'm hoping it will noticably quicker again. The O.S. has so much power ready to be unlocked in the sleeve!
i have not decide what pipe but maybe the vr12 or Sage...which pipe r u using now?

at the moment no intention of modding yet... i'll try out the stock power first maybe i cannot handle the extra power
__________________
BLacK cRoW RaCiNg TeaM
JBRCC
TEAM ORANGE
RCCUTM
pemandu upahan ;)
rcabj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:40 AM   #1347
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcabj
i have not decide what pipe but maybe the vr12 or Sage...which pipe r u using now?

at the moment no intention of modding yet... i'll try out the stock power first maybe i cannot handle the extra power
I'm using a novarossi pipe, i think its a 2601. My prefered pipe is dad's VR12. The VR12 has awesome bottom end torque and really seems to like to revv. Awesome fuel economy too!

You can never have too much power. I'm always looking for more
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 10:55 AM   #1348
Tech Fanatic
 
Seisick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 845
Default

for those in need to replace the crankshaft, get the 5 port, the best and cheapest modifying for the 3 port, it's a missile!
happy racing
__________________
HobbymaniA
GoT MuGeN?
Seisick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 10:42 PM   #1349
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seisick
for those in need to replace the crankshaft, get the 5 port, the best and cheapest modifying for the 3 port, it's a missile!
happy racing
What are the differences?

The crank i put in mine on monday is a modded 5 port one. I'm just wondering what factory differences are
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 12:18 AM   #1350
Tech Elite
 
doki_doki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cebu City, Philippines and Ocala, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,840
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i'm running a osspeed tz 3ports with an osspeed 1040 pipe. works great. our track is technical. i'm getting almost 9 mins of run time per tank....
doki_doki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:37 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net