R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2005, 10:36 AM   #121
Tech Apprentice
 
evild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 51
Default It's here!

My .12TZ arrived yesterday from Pro Shop Futaba. It's a beauty. My MTX-3 Prospec is going to fly!
evild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 07:38 AM   #122
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default has anyone had the chance to break this engine in yet??

i havent had the chance to break the motor in yet but i am gonna have to do it soon as we have the winter nationals on in 2 months

what is the best way to break in the motor for max performance and reliability?

im thinking of the wot method which most people here will say its the best way

thanks
john
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:53 AM   #123
Tech Apprentice
 
evild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 51
Default

Personally, I'm going to follow the instructions in the manual.
evild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:15 AM   #124
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,202
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default Re: has anyone had the chance to break this engine in yet??

Quote:
Originally posted by mrgsr
i havent had the chance to break the motor in yet but i am gonna have to do it soon as we have the winter nationals on in 2 months

what is the best way to break in the motor for max performance and reliability?

im thinking of the wot method which most people here will say its the best way

thanks
john
WOT is the best way ,you have to break in the motor an a operating temperature, if you let it iddle at a very rich setting you are doing more harm than good also you are just wearing the motor out pre-maturely.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 06:59 PM   #125
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 187
Send a message via ICQ to Grasshopperr Send a message via AIM to Grasshopperr Send a message via Yahoo to Grasshopperr
Default

Hi everyone try rc-mushroom.com out of china they are already selling them. $195 for the three port and $205 USD for the five port.
Grasshopperr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 07:29 PM   #126
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

In case you havn't heard, Ron Atomic TQed with an OS TZR at last weekend's RD Logic Championship in Vegas.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:13 PM   #127
jt6
Tech Addict
 
jt6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Clayton, North Carolina
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to jt6 Send a message via AIM to jt6
Default

RC Model also has the 3 port for 185.
__________________
[url]http://www.thercspeedway.net/[/url]
jt6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 10:00 PM   #128
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 259
Default

Yea but I wouldn't them any money, NOTHING ever comes. Just an internet scam!
3434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 10:27 PM   #129
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 3434
Yea but I wouldn't them any money, NOTHING ever comes. Just an internet scam!
RC Model works for me.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 07:47 AM   #130
Tech Regular
 
dougday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 353
Default

What pipe would be used with the 5-port OS engine in a V1RRR? I need the part no.

thanks
dougday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 03:29 PM   #131
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default

The OS engines seem to work best with the Skyline VR 12 pipe. It works great with the TR series from my experience and it seems to work well with the new TZ engine judging from Ron Atomic's motor.
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 03:36 PM   #132
Tech Master
 
gijoe64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 1,435
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Talking

How did Ron Look, I heard his car was a missle.
gijoe64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 05:47 PM   #133
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default

It was good. Not the fastest but definitely enough to keep up with the Novarossi and Sirio motors. The biggest advantage would be run time as is always the case with OS motors. I think his motor had the most bottom end power and average top end.
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 10:54 PM   #134
Tech Addict
 
ATOMIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Just want to say thanks to OS for getting the TZ12 engines to me in time for the RD Logics race. I ran the engine staight out of the box . I added a 5 thousanths shim to be safe , I ran White Lightning 30%. The engine performed perfect. I tuned it in practice and rarely touched the needles again. Major rip off the bottem (normal for OS) but with smooth transiton to the top. As stated before , no problem keeping up with any other engines. I still feel that I was a little rich on the bottom , maybe an hour or so and that I could have taken out the shim I added and got a little more power. I also could have gone up a tooth on my 2nd gear pinion on my RRR , also could have gone down a tooth on my spur so I had plenty of top end to play with. As far as run time , in qualifying mode , I could run about 6 minutes . This is driving it extremely hard , in race mode , about 6 minutes 30 seconds. The engine would leave warm up at about 215 to 220 and return after the run at about 230-240 depending on the time of day. This engine now has about 2 gallons on it and is only getting better. Not bad for it's US debut . Great job OS and thanks.

By the way the Skyline pipe V12 is perfect for this engine . Does not lack anywhere. Do not hesitate to try it .
ATOMIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:21 AM   #135
Tech Master
 
gijoe64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 1,435
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the Update Ron.
gijoe64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net