R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2006, 03:16 PM   #1051
Tech Addict
 
Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 654
Default

they can go 4 to 5 gallons before the rod goes.
__________________
Wallace Motorsports
WRC
Murnan Modified Motors
VP Fuel
Hot Race Tires
Vince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:48 PM   #1052
Tech Fanatic
 
Osiris 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Converse, TX
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

How man turns from the closed position?? My temps have been between 220 - 240...
__________________
SPONSORS: AWESOMATIX USA / HOBBYWING USA / AVID CONCEPTS / R1 WURKS / POWERMASTER FUELS (VP RACING) / 2MM DESIGNS
RC TARGET/CAPRICORN USA / REFLEX RACING / ULTI TIRES

Chris Kemper
Osiris 75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 04:05 AM   #1053
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Problem...Problem...Problem...

My 3 port TZ keeps stalling after i let it idle for more than 3-4 sec and apply throttle.
I checked my needles and seem OK.Temps are around 240-250F.Low speed needle is a mess.If i richen it jurgles,if i lean it by 1/8th it will idle lean.

I checked the needles for air leaks and seem fine.
I haven't sealed the carb yet but i did on the backplate.

Abother thing is that when i keep the glow plug on it won't die.If i remove it it dies after 8-10sec.

Any ideas...???
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 04:33 AM   #1054
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vti-chris
Problem...Problem...Problem...

My 3 port TZ keeps stalling after i let it idle for more than 3-4 sec and apply throttle.
I checked my needles and seem OK.Temps are around 240-250F.Low speed needle is a mess.If i richen it jurgles,if i lean it by 1/8th it will idle lean.

I checked the needles for air leaks and seem fine.
I haven't sealed the carb yet but i did on the backplate.

Abother thing is that when i keep the glow plug on it won't die.If i remove it it dies after 8-10sec.

Any ideas...???
That means the glow plug is dead. If you remove the glow igniter and the car dies, then it means the glow plug can't stay ignited by itself. That may resolve all of your problems.
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 04:33 AM   #1055
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

glo plug?
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 04:56 AM   #1056
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hav_lova
glo plug?
I would expect a more analised answer than just "glow plug".
Do you really think i haven't checked it?
I have tried a P6, a P3 and a collari #7.
It does it to all three plugs and the plugs work fine.

What i beleive is that the plug can't stay glowing at idle unless i keep the glow starter on.
I was thinking of going to a hotter plug...???
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 08:26 AM   #1057
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vti-chris
I would expect a more analised answer than just "glow plug".
Do you really think i haven't checked it?
I have tried a P6, a P3 and a collari #7.
It does it to all three plugs and the plugs work fine.

What i beleive is that the plug can't stay glowing at idle unless i keep the glow starter on.
I was thinking of going to a hotter plug...???
Your carb settings could be way off... Go back to square one and start with the factory baseline settings... Found in owners manuel and OS's web-site. If you haven't already, get or use some fresh fuel.. 20 or 30% O'Donnel's if possible. How long have you had this motor and how much fuel have you've ran through it so far? 1-3 gallons or more??? How is your compression? With the plug out, is it easy to turn the crank over??? If it is, you many have a washed out piston and sleeve... Go over these areas and post back what you find... From there, we can point you in the right direction of getting your motor running right again... Changing to a hotter plug is not going to solve your problem.

RC_Alan
rc_alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 09:02 AM   #1058
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

With that said... Your low speed needle should be somewhat flush with the carb. The golden needle should also be flush. Try taking pictures of your engine's carb. And give us more information on what fuel, pipe, glowplug your using.
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 10:04 PM   #1059
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I run wildcat 16% nitro fuel.I removed the 0.2mm shim from the head.
I run P6 plugs mostly.
Engine has 1 gallon through it and compression is OK!!!
I run the max power efra 2615 pipe.

Low speed needle is richer than the flash point you advise.
High speed needle is not lean or rich it's perfect.

I do own 2 v-specs,a ws7II,2 hypers and now the TZ.I know how to tune.The thing is i know nothing about 1/10 ."Almost nothing".
And the engine is driving me crazy.
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 11:16 PM   #1060
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

You could have your high needle lean which is masking your rich low end needle. Are you flaming out in a 5 min qualifier? Your operating temps seem on the high side for this motor.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 09:29 AM   #1061
Tech Addict
 
Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vti-chris
Problem...Problem...Problem...

My 3 port TZ keeps stalling after i let it idle for more than 3-4 sec and apply throttle.
I checked my needles and seem OK.Temps are around 240-250F.Low speed needle is a mess.If i richen it jurgles,if i lean it by 1/8th it will idle lean.

I checked the needles for air leaks and seem fine.
I haven't sealed the carb yet but i did on the backplate.

Abother thing is that when i keep the glow plug on it won't die.If i remove it it dies after 8-10sec.

Any ideas...???
lean your low speed needle 1/8 -1/4 and if it idles high, idle it down from the idle needle. your motor is just loading up. 8-10 sec is a long time for it to idle and its just normal for it to load up, also richen ur top by 1/8-1/4. this could be a problem where your bottom is too rich and your top is too lean as rapid roy said. it should run cooler.
__________________
Wallace Motorsports
WRC
Murnan Modified Motors
VP Fuel
Hot Race Tires
Vince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 10:16 AM   #1062
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 10:17 AM   #1063
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I know when a motor is loading up.
I come from a WOT run to idle and the engine sounds like it's TOO lean on the low end.It stays this way for 10sec and then loads up.Sometimes i just pass my finger from the stinger just to push some more fuel in to load it up faster.
If i richen some it's OK but it still dies after 8-10 sec of idling or when i go from idle to WOT.
I finished a 40min race with this engine and temps ended the race at around 250F.Which i don't think it's high when the engine has "problems".
I don't know what else to do.
Only the carb may be the reason which might need sealing...!!
Also the runtimes of this engine are less than 5min.I had to stop every 4.5min in the race to refill.Others on this site say that it goes up to 6min.
I had to add a large filter and 12inch of fuel line to increase the runtimes close to 5min.
I hardly finish the qualifying which are 5mins each.
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:02 PM   #1064
Tech Adept
 
deviltires's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: va.
Posts: 191
Default

does anyone know where i can get ceramic bearing for the os tz 3 port front and back
__________________
DARNELL WASHINGTON-- TEAM MUGEN----FUTABA 4PK--HOT RACE TIRES
deviltires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:22 PM   #1065
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default ceramic bearing upgrade

try my engine modifier
he says that he does ceramic bearing upgrades

www.massivemods.com.au

he is located in australia though, not sure wher you are
send him an email - mark
__________________
Serpent 748 TQ | GIMAR Engines
Walter RC HObby | www.walterrchobby.com.au
BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:04 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net