R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2006, 12:05 AM   #976
Tech Master
 
ziggy12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Car Breaker
my friend has a tz 5p, when he lease from full throtal, the engine rev at a somewhat higher pitch for few second before going down to idle, can anyone tell me what happend?
Top end is too lean or bottom end is to rich. If the engine idles around 185 deg f then its OK. Richen the top

Cheers
__________________
Dedicated RC Car Speed Site

http://www.fast-rc.co.uk/forum/index.php

Sponsored by:
Norfolk and Chance
ziggy12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 04:05 AM   #977
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What runtimes do you all get from your tz 3 port engines.
I was on my first race yesterday and the engine was a hell to tune.
Dying all the time if it sit there to idle for 4-5 secs without revving it.
It has only 3-4L of 16% nitro in it.Tornato fuel and wildcat.
Plugs i use P6 and SH 7.
It seems that with minimal adjustments on the LSN it gets from too rich to too lean very fast,and i don't know if this should be the case.
I'm thinking of an airleak somewhere but... need your advise first.
I couldn't even get a 5min run at the qualifying and made the pit stops every 4.5 mins.I did qualified 7th overal and finished 4th at the final and notice that it was my first race with 1/10 on road after running buggies for a while and i did have problems with the engine.
Temps were around 240-250F at the end of the 40min final,but when entering corners and leaving the throttle i could here the revs too high,BUT i couldn't richen the LSN any more cause it would act like too rich...?????????
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 04:56 AM   #978
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 13
Default

Since you're running 16% fuel, I would say check and lower your head clearance. Run a hotter plug and re-tune. It also seems like your top end is too lean and bottom end is too rich.
IMslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:06 AM   #979
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

My top end is fine.If i richen more i don't get it into second gear cause it doesn't rev high.And temps are good.
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:07 AM   #980
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

seal the base of the carb and both ends to the pinch bolt
ths tz carbs do fit slightly looser into the crank case

i seal all my engines this way
__________________
Serpent 748 TQ | GIMAR Engines
Walter RC HObby | www.walterrchobby.com.au
BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:18 AM   #981
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone post the needle settings for break in and for performance?
Also what plugs do you use and how much nitro% and oil% in your fuel!
Also your runtimes and temps.
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:21 AM   #982
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default tz needle settings

stock needle settings are:
1 3/4 on top end
low end flush with carb body
mid needle, just dont touch it

i use fuels with 16% nitro and 10% oils
any more oil and the engine just cant perform as well and over heats

i run the tz with temps in about the 115 degrees celsius range and i get about just under 6 mins run time

im not sure how my mod tz will go .. ill let you this weekend after its first race
__________________
Serpent 748 TQ | GIMAR Engines
Walter RC HObby | www.walterrchobby.com.au
BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:21 AM   #983
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 13
Default

If you need to rev the motor for it to idle then your LSN is most likely too rich.
your motor loads up when you are off throttle then you will need extra lean top end to clear it out for it to rev and shift into second.
but if you think you have a air leak then seal it up and see what happen.
IMslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:22 AM   #984
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: toulouse/france
Posts: 538
Default

Hello from France,

You want more power??

make the power !!!



No Compromise...

Full moded engine by OS Engine in Japan.
romuald31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:29 AM   #985
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I consider myself a very good tuner but this time i can't tell,i just thought someone might know what's wrong since this is a new engine to me.
It does load up but as soon as it does and i apply throttle it dies.
If i lean it more it makes that noise of high idle and lean conditions...i suppose everybody knows it...i'll take it appart and seal everything from backplate to needles and carb and see how it goes.
I forgot to mention that the header cap which goes to the engines exhaust port was a bit torn up(a small piece was off),could this affect the tuning that much...???
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:30 AM   #986
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 13
Default

Oh great! I just bought another TZ last week.
Any idea on price and is it a Japan Market only thing?
IMslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:41 AM   #987
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 13
Default

Header Cap? you mean exhaust gasket? as long as it seal it will be okay.
IMslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 05:47 AM   #988
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yeap the gasket(not cap) my mistake.
I'll keep you informed.

"romuald31" has opened a new discussion now. What is that thing and where can we find out more info?
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 09:00 AM   #989
Tech Master
 
Ivan Dickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cali Love USA
Posts: 1,643
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by romuald31
Hello from France,

You want more power??

make the power !!!



No Compromise...

Full moded engine by OS Engine in Japan.
Where is the engine avalidable now?
__________________
SPECIAL THANKS TO ✦ MY WIFE ✦✦ MOTIV RC ✦✦ GRAVITY RC ✦✦ JGO PAINTZ ✦✦ TQ RC RACEWAY ✦✦ TAMIYA RACEWAY ✦
Ivan Dickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 03:38 PM   #990
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vti-chris
I forgot to mention that the header cap which goes to the engines exhaust port was a bit torn up(a small piece was off),could this affect the tuning that much...???
When i was racing the RB engine, i`d had that happen with the exhaust gasket being torn and it certainly leaned the engine out quite a bit.
Cheers
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net