R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2005, 01:16 AM   #451
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ApexSpeed
Ok, one more question... given that the prices for the 3-port and the 5-port are identical, tell me why I should choose one over the other?

I'm leaning toward the 5-port, though I don't like the silver head. If anyone wants to swap for a new blue 3-port head...
A 5 port should use more fuel. The big reason for choosing a 3 port vs a 5 is if your racing runs by roar rules, or if you ever plan on entering a roar race. 5 ports is not legal in roar racing.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 03:37 AM   #452
Tech Elite
 
doki_doki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cebu City, Philippines and Ocala, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,840
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ApexSpeed
Ok, one more question... given that the prices for the 3-port and the 5-port are identical, tell me why I should choose one over the other?

I'm leaning toward the 5-port, though I don't like the silver head. If anyone wants to swap for a new blue 3-port head...
well, first thing you have to consider are the rules on your tracks or the races you will join in the future. 3 ports is the legal engine and 5 ports is considered illegal. if you can ran any .12 size engine, then go for the 5 ports. more horsepower and more top end speed...
doki_doki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 03:38 AM   #453
Tech Elite
 
doki_doki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cebu City, Philippines and Ocala, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,840
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jye
Some guys say they've seen this engine keep up with novarossi'd jp's sirio's and all the rest in that class, some say on the higher speed tracks the tz doesnt keep up. JP's run around 400, correct me if im wrong, and the tz 5 port can be bought for 210? Is the performance of jp and similar engine's worth a 200 dollar or more diffrence? Personally for 200 more, it should be on a COMPLETLY other level of performance, but from what i hear, it really isnt.
i run a ostz in our tracks. our tracks is a mid-sized track. one of the racers uses a rody x12 tuned by rody. not much difference in the straights this engine is a screamer...
doki_doki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 09:57 AM   #454
Jye
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Default

cool. Ive done alot of "pre shopping" trying to determine what my next car would be. Ive decided on a r40 w/ a 5 port tz, i heard the tracks im going do dont restrict ports. All i have to do is save up now but i cant wait . I was going to buy the os exhuast, is there an exhaust that works better than this with this engine?
Jye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 10:00 AM   #455
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jye
cool. Ive done alot of "pre shopping" trying to determine what my next car would be. Ive decided on a r40 w/ a 5 port tz, i heard the tracks im going do dont restrict ports. All i have to do is save up now but i cant wait . I was going to buy the os exhuast, is there an exhaust that works better than this with this engine?
R40? Be sure that car is used alot in your track, so you can get alot of support on settings and tips. The R40 is known to be heavy so I dont know if youll see the true power of a 5 port TZ on it. I would probably recommend a Kyosho, wether its belt/shaft, since its one of the newest car on the market.
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 11:08 AM   #456
Jye
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Default

can you give me the site of a shop that sells alot of kyosho's cars?
Jye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 11:15 AM   #457
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Rc-mushroom.com
rcmart.com
shopping.rcmodel.com.hk
rc-toro.com

Hope this helps.
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 07:14 PM   #458
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 874
Default

Jye, if you want the most power, torque and RPM's out of your 5 port TZ, go with the Yokomo Mielke pipe or any Top end Nova based pipe like the Mugen racing pipe... The OS pipe is ok just as is the Skyline pipe, but if you want most power out of that motor, strangely... I've found that the Mielke pipe is the magic pipe for that motor.... And I've tried 6 different pipe setups just to see... ie... Skyline, RD's, OFNA MEGA & the OS... The 2 pipes that made the most power for me were the Yokomo Mielke and the Mugen racing pipe... Running 30% nitro and OS P7 & P8 plugs... I'm running the same same P7 plug going on 3 weeks now and it still looks almost like brand new... I know that's off topic, but it just goes to show how well the motor holds it tune....

RC_Alan
rc_alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 10:05 PM   #459
Tech Master
 
BundyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fujiwara ToFu Shop
Posts: 1,588
Default OS manifolds

The inline and non-inline manifolds are shown here, what's the difference between the two M1001 SC and M1001??

http://www.os-engines.co.jp/line_up/speed/speindex.htm
BundyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 08:42 AM   #460
Tech Adept
 
lonepalm4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Great engine. My buddy broke his in yesterday before the races, so it had like 5 tanks through it, still quite rich, and was hanging with every engine on the track - this is without the ideal clutch setup also. I thinks me will get me one. Air density was 8600 ft, running 30% with both shims , and a os 7 plug, with temps just reaching 220. Can't wait to see what it'll do if we lean her out a couple turns!!!!!!! Always OS!!
late.
lonepalm4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 11:51 AM   #461
Tech Elite
 
rskoncepts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 2,666
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Where are you gettng the Yokomo Mielke and Mugen racing pipes?
rskoncepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 02:03 PM   #462
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

I just ordered a 5-port TZ from rc-toro.com ($197.25 shipped) and I am excited to get it in the car.

I am not a big fan of the silver head, though. If anyone just bought the 3-port and would like to trade for the blue head, I'd trade them straight up. Just PM me...


doug
__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 02:21 PM   #463
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That is a pretty good deal. I got one from them, too. But, I seemed to remember I got free shipping on it. It was only $189 something. Hmm......
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 02:23 PM   #464
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Never mind. I bought V1RRR WCE also. That is why I got free shipping on it.
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 10:36 AM   #465
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So i got a TZ 3Port yesterday, and i have an RD turboII pipe, how will this work with the TZ or am i better off getting something else?
ATXPro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net