R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2004, 07:40 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
J_Longbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default Turbo Button for the Mugen X12?

What turbo button do I need to buy for a Mugen X12? Also what shimming is required with the Turbo Button/X12 combo w/ 30% fuel?
J_Longbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 08:43 AM   #2
afm
Tech Master
 
afm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: lima-peru
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Turbo Button for the Mugen X12?

Quote:
Originally posted by JBrake
What turbo button do I need to buy for a Mugen X12? Also what shimming is required with the Turbo Button/X12 combo w/ 30% fuel?
Any Nova based engine turbo head button should fit OK.
Shimming with the aluminum .30mm should be oK for 30% nitro

AFM
afm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 09:23 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 874
Default

Not true... You'll need a long stroke turbo button for the Mugen x12... A short stroke turbo button that are found on Nova NS3 or Top TS3 won't work... If you can find a RB v12 turbo button, that'll work... Any long stroke .12 based Nova turbo button will work..

RC_Alan
rc_alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 09:51 AM   #4
afm
Tech Master
 
afm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: lima-peru
Posts: 1,807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc_alan
Not true... You'll need a long stroke turbo button for the Mugen x12... A short stroke turbo button that are found on Nova NS3 or Top TS3 won't work... If you can find a RB v12 turbo button, that'll work... Any long stroke .12 based Nova turbo button will work..

RC_Alan
Not to create discussion RC_Alan, but you are confusing the old Mugen MT12, which was a long conrod engine that had a thinner head button with the new Mugen X12 which has the same head button as all the new Nova based engines.
By the way all Nova based engines are long stroke engines 14.00 mm vs 13.80 mm bore , and the RRL3 are even longer 14.25mm stroke vs. 13.70 mm bore.
The difference with the old Mugen MT12 was conrod lenght but not actual stroke.
That is why you yourself suggest the RBV12 turbo button, which is the same as the Novarrosi NS3 or TOP TS3 or REX RERS3.
So my suggestion is still valid. Any new based Nova engine tiurbo button will fit, I've done it.

AFM
afm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 10:29 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
J_Longbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Exacty what I was looking for guys. A friend of mine ran his X12 with the button and the shim from his TSR12 last sunday and was real pleased with the performance over the standard button. Just wanted to back up what I thought I already knew. Thanks.
J_Longbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 12:34 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
chicky03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,993
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to chicky03
Default

So you can use a RB V-12 button on a JP X-12 or not?

Thanks
chicky03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 01:51 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Paul: I know you have a Dremel and some aluminum there somewhere.... Make your own.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 02:06 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
chicky03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,993
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to chicky03
Default

Thanks Scott but I want advice from people who actually know what they are doing!!
chicky03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 02:11 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

LMAO!!! Hey Paul, wassup bro? You at the shop? I got somethign to email toya, what's your email at the shop?
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 02:19 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

his email is [email protected]
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 03:16 PM   #11
afm
Tech Master
 
afm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: lima-peru
Posts: 1,807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chicky03
So you can use a RB V-12 button on a JP X-12 or not?

Thanks
YES YOU CAN.

AFM
afm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2004, 09:30 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
J_Longbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

What up Big Dog. What are you doing sniffing around the nitro area? Holla.

Paul, I will be happy to grind on your motor next time I see you. I have a cordless dremel so I can hook you up at the track.

J Longbrake
J_Longbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 10:48 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
chicky03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,993
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to chicky03
Default

Thanks guys. I tried the RB head and it worked perfectly.

Paul
chicky03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:53 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kreidel
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by afm
YES YOU CAN.

AFM
Is there any real advantage to using the turbo button on the x12?
kreidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 12:22 PM   #15
afm
Tech Master
 
afm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: lima-peru
Posts: 1,807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kreidel
Is there any real advantage to using the turbo button on the x12?
About 1,000 more rpm's at top end, and about 0.06 more HP's
according to spec sheets of manufacturers.
Tuning correctly a turbo head engine is more critical, because it is more sensitive to weather conditions.
I would reccomend it for really high end racing, but for club racing or just fun bashing stay with std. head, unless you know how to tune perfectly.

AFM
afm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: NovaRossi/Mugen MT-12 turbo button head. ohmygahitscoby R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 12-27-2007 02:07 AM
Turbo 30 5 button WisRacr1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-18-2006 04:53 PM
Need a turbo head button and turbo crank rcfoolz R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-14-2005 08:52 PM
Mugen X12 Turbo button..? Solara Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 10 05-13-2005 03:46 PM
Turbo 30 9 button, Turbo 35, power supply Greg Amendola R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-14-2004 11:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net