R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2010, 08:58 PM   #166
Tech Regular
 
cloud9graffix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Well today was the day I took what I learned from this thread and broke in the new buggy. Its been 4 years since mt last nitro and boy it was like starting all over. I have to run the rest of the gallon out, but already noticed how much easier(not to mention more fun then sitting there waiting for tank after tank to idle out) this was. Now I am off to read the tuning bible. Thanks a million for this thread.: smile:
cloud9graffix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 08:40 AM   #167
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default HELP!!!

Please somebody help. I just bought a Kyosho Inferni ST US, it has a good idle speed but if I give it more throttle it breaks down and I dont know what to do. Thank You very much
Cronvell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:58 PM   #168
Tech Master
 
Lille-bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frederikshavn, Denmark
Posts: 1,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cronvell View Post
Please somebody help. I just bought a Kyosho Inferni ST US, it has a good idle speed but if I give it more throttle it breaks down and I dont know what to do. Thank You very much
Hard to tell whats wrong.
My first thought was it runs too rich. Try keeping the glow driver on the plug, after you start the engine. That would help the engine to keep running, when you open the throttle.
__________________
www.xray-shop.dk www.northtq.com
Best regards Bjarne Petersson, Denmark
XRAY / FX Racing Engines / OS Speed / HPI / Byron / HUDY / Proline / Sanwa MT4s / Savx servos / Ultimate
I miss you Amy...
Lille-bror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 11:31 AM   #169
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 147
Default

I understand the concept. I am up to the last couple of tanks, before race tuning. Its been getting harder to start. Temps been from 190-207. I have a roto start. So now it will spin for a few and it gets stuck in the pinch. And I have to take a screw driver to get it past. So I do it again same outcome. I am truly lost now. I thought this was going to get easier. It also had a great smoke trail when it was running. Please any help would be great.
jettaturbogls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:05 PM   #170
Tech Addict
 
yuppi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sunshine Coast
Posts: 661
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

were you heating the engine before starting it each time? this should make it heaps easier to start.
__________________
RC8T - Reedy 121 VR - Spektrum
MOOLOOLA VALLEY RACEWAY
yuppi1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:09 PM   #171
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 147
Default

Yes, I was. That's what I don't understand.
jettaturbogls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:10 PM   #172
Tech Regular
 
RUNNINONMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: YOUR MOMS HOUSE
Posts: 345
Default

maybe too rich flooding engine?
RUNNINONMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:26 PM   #173
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 147
Default

I'll try leaning it a little bit. But as of now I cannot give it close to half throttle. It will bog out. Then it will take a few quick raps to get it back. 1/4 throttle is fine, anything else it will bog.
jettaturbogls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:31 PM   #174
Tech Addict
 
yuppi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sunshine Coast
Posts: 661
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

yeah i would say to lean a bit and see how it goes. the factory settings would be very rich
__________________
RC8T - Reedy 121 VR - Spektrum
MOOLOOLA VALLEY RACEWAY
yuppi1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:47 PM   #175
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default

There is a cool tuning chart floating around here somewhere. It would really help you.
mbogosia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 12:17 PM   #176
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 147
Default

Ok so I finally got it popped off, i leaned it and it got worse. So I went the other way. That is the best it has ever run. Tons of smoke, but it ran hot. About 240. So does that mean I need a colder plug? But wow it was fast, for not a race tune.
jettaturbogls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 12:41 PM   #177
Tech Master
 
Lille-bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frederikshavn, Denmark
Posts: 1,792
Default

Hi.

If you run the plug from the kit, and you use some nitro in your fuel, that should not be a problem.
You don't know if your engine is set too lean. Try turn the HSN turn out, and run your car. My guess is it will run rather rich now (4-stroke). If it still screams at wide open throttle (WOT), you should turn the HSN another turn out. The 4-stroke mode is a perfect startpoint, because you will not be able to adjust an engine, if its too hot (lean).

Take a look at the videos from the Tuning Bible thread:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/7183976-post188.html
__________________
www.xray-shop.dk www.northtq.com
Best regards Bjarne Petersson, Denmark
XRAY / FX Racing Engines / OS Speed / HPI / Byron / HUDY / Proline / Sanwa MT4s / Savx servos / Ultimate
I miss you Amy...
Lille-bror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 04:20 PM   #178
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default

Just began my break in today. I just finished run number 5 of my 3 minute runs. Letting it cool and then I got about 4 more left.
mbogosia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 04:46 PM   #179
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 96
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default

Finished my break in this morning. I began to tune it and my RC8 is hauling some serious Arse! I think I have the HS needle set in the sweet spot and it is running great. Thanks for a great thread guys.
mbogosia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 05:05 PM   #180
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Ok here's a question. Do I get the engine to temp and then run it at temperature for the suggested time intervals? Gonna break in a new Dynamite Platinum 12 in my FT GT2 soon. Wanna be sure I get it right.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net