R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2004, 11:17 PM   #61
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Mine i have to lean a bit like 1 turn in LSN then it can start. Afterwards, i turn it out again while monitoring the temp using carlsen tuning temp (small probe).

Is it advisable to run-in the engine on track using body? So far i've been running the Max w/out body and it stays around 80-90deg celcius.
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 12:56 AM   #62
Tech Elite
 
crashed_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i love my job
Posts: 4,985
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Nova MAX

Quote:
Originally posted by jfc_tech
Aiikkkkk, mine was HSN: 4T LSN:1 1/2T MSN:Flat 11o'clock position


someone must have touched it 1st!!!!!! or is it differ from package 2 package??
I wouldn't worry too much...mines different too. LSN=2 1/2 HSN = 5 1/2.

As long as you're running it rich during break in. Don't be afraid to lean it...just do it by every hour on the HSN...run mebbe 2 tanks on track, let it cool, lean another hour, run 1 tank, let it cool...and continue leaning until optimum performance. If in doubt, reset to factory settings and lean from there again.
crashed_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 02:16 AM   #63
Tech Fanatic
 
Ravi Nair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Johor Bahru
Posts: 764
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Nova MAX

Quote:
Originally posted by crashed_1
I wouldn't worry too much...mines different too. LSN=2 1/2 HSN = 5 1/2.

As long as you're running it rich during break in. Don't be afraid to lean it...just do it by every hour on the HSN...run mebbe 2 tanks on track, let it cool, lean another hour, run 1 tank, let it cool...and continue leaning until optimum performance. If in doubt, reset to factory settings and lean from there again.
The manual that comes with ts engine do not tell us the running-in procedure. I believed they (the engine mfg.) presume those who purchase ts engine are pro. and no need to explain further in engine running-in.
Ravi Nair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:39 PM   #64
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Nova MAX

Quote:
Originally posted by Ravi Nair
The manual that comes with ts engine do not tell us the running-in procedure. I believed they (the engine mfg.) presume those who purchase ts engine are pro. and no need to explain further in engine running-in.
yalorrrrrr. i expected to run-in procedure but not there. lucky my LHS tauke help me...
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 10:17 PM   #65
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Nova MAX

Quote:
Originally posted by Ravi Nair
The manual that comes with ts engine do not tell us the running-in procedure. I believed they (the engine mfg.) presume those who purchase ts engine are pro. and no need to explain further in engine running-in.
Ummm, the manual that comes with the NovaMax is the plain old Novarossi manual !
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 10:22 PM   #66
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ravi Nair
During the breaking-in process I was running my HSN 6turns and LSN 3.5turns.Temp. ws about 50-60C............still need to go another 5tanks.
If you're using the Shark pipe, be careful that the engine needs a richer HSN setting. If not, the engine will overheat.

With a shark inline pipe, I have my needle settings as follows;

HSN: 5.5 turns out
LSN: 2 turns out
MSN: Flat with the carb body

With other pipes like Novarossi or RDLogic ones, the settings are as follows;

HSN: 4.5 turns out
LSN: 3.5 turns out
MSN: Flat with the carb body
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 10:25 PM   #67
Tech Fanatic
 
Ravi Nair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Johor Bahru
Posts: 764
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
If you're using the Shark pipe, be careful that the engine needs a richer HSN setting. If not, the engine will overheat.

With a shark inline pipe, I have my needle settings as follows;

HSN: 5.5 turns out
LSN: 2 turns out
MSN: Flat with the carb body

With other pipes like Novarossi or RDLogic ones, the settings are as follows;

HSN: 4.5 turns out
LSN: 3.5 turns out
MSN: Flat with the carb body
while running-in do you give it a full throttle on the starter box for 10 tanks?
Ravi Nair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 10:45 PM   #68
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ravi Nair
while running-in do you give it a full throttle on the starter box for 10 tanks?
Well, I don't use the Tx. I switch off the Rx and Tx and manually open the carb with the throttle servo by hand !

Yes, we run it very rich. Each time, we increase the load by letting the wheel spin and let the Centax clutch engage. A tank of fuel will finish in 1.5 to 2 minutes. Be careful not to let the tank run out of fuel. During refueling, it is best to put the glow ignitor on the glowplug before closing the throttle and refueling.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 10:49 PM   #69
Tech Fanatic
 
Ravi Nair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Johor Bahru
Posts: 764
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Well, I don't use the Tx. I switch off the Rx and Tx and manually open the carb with the throttle servo by hand !

Yes, we run it very rich. Each time, we increase the load by letting the wheel spin and let the Centax clutch engage. A tank of fuel will finish in 1.5 to 2 minutes. Be careful not to let the tank run out of fuel. During refueling, it is best to put the glow ignitor on the glowplug before closing the throttle and refueling.
so do you stop the engine and let it cool down after each tank?
Ravi Nair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 10:52 PM   #70
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ravi Nair
so do you stop the engine and let it cool down after each tank?
Nope. The reason being it's more of a hassle to restart the engine.

Like I mention, you can have many different methods of breaking in the engine.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 11:05 PM   #71
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Well, I don't use the Tx. I switch off the Rx and Tx and manually open the carb with the throttle servo by hand !

Yes, we run it very rich. Each time, we increase the load by letting the wheel spin and let the Centax clutch engage. A tank of fuel will finish in 1.5 to 2 minutes. Be careful not to let the tank run out of fuel. During refueling, it is best to put the glow ignitor on the glowplug before closing the throttle and refueling.
So the engine must be screaming then...
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 11:10 PM   #72
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jfc_tech
So the engine must be screaming then...
Not really. Like I mention, if you set the HSN very rich, your engine will be 4 stroking.

Just out of curiousity, try turning out 2 full turns out from where you are at the HSN and try running the engine at 100% WOT. The engine will probbaly rev at about 15 to 20k rpm.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 11:21 PM   #73
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Not really. Like I mention, if you set the HSN very rich, your engine will be 4 stroking.

Just out of curiousity, try turning out 2 full turns out from where you are at the HSN and try running the engine at 100% WOT. The engine will probbaly rev at about 15 to 20k rpm.
i think i got what u meant. i should try this. i can finish my run-in much earlier then. hmmmmmmmm, interesting. i gonna try this. but i already at 8 tanks & on track...is that ok? shouldn't i start to lean to reach that 100 degs mark & above???
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 11:32 PM   #74
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jfc_tech
but i already at 8 tanks & on track...is that ok? shouldn't i start to lean to reach that 100 degs mark & above???
It really depends... Is the piston sleeve still tight? Do you have problems cranking the engine to start? The flywheel gets stuck? Then the engine still needs to break in.

Check the inner sleeve and see if the chrome part of the sleeve where the piston moves is polished. If it is, then the engine is broken in.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 11:43 PM   #75
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
It really depends... Is the piston sleeve still tight? Do you have problems cranking the engine to start? The flywheel gets stuck? Then the engine still needs to break in.

Check the inner sleeve and see if the chrome part of the sleeve where the piston moves is polished. If it is, then the engine is broken in.
wow, do i have to open it...hmmm, this gives me worry. i usually open my engine only after fully "used"...like not performing anymore

the engine can start easily but the flywheel do sometimes can get stuck...hmmm still more tanks then.
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NovaMax MX 12 S3 snemi00 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-19-2004 08:58 PM
NovaMAX 15 New! kitracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-30-2004 08:50 PM
NovaMax .21 smash123 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-07-2003 06:11 PM
NovaMax .12 smash123 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-20-2003 02:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net