R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2004, 01:29 PM   #556
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 2,897
Send a message via Yahoo to TambokGT
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tallyrc
you'l be doing yourself a favor if you pre-heat that engine rather than just force it to turn over witha more powerful box. use a heat gun or hair blower on it. it really helps, and the conrod will thank yu for it. also, remember to get some fuel in there before just letting her rip on the box to prime it as it will be dry to start....
get it up to 110 and up ( with a heat gun or hair blower) then start the engine .
TambokGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 10:33 AM   #557
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Ok...I am ready to give up on this engine...D5..sorry guys
I have shortened the pressure line and am confident all other parameters, ie plug,shim, etc are correct.Yet no matter what I do I can not get this to work.It simply will not idle.Now, with the shorter pressure line the idle jumps almost immediately, then if I try to lower the idle, it dies right away and wont start. Also, Ive noticed that it is sticking again.Im at a point now, where Ill either sell it off, or one last possible solution...Im thinking maybe another carb from another manufacturer. Anyone know if there's any different ones that will work?
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 11:44 AM   #558
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroOB4You
Ok...I am ready to give up on this engine...D5..sorry guys
I have shortened the pressure line and am confident all other parameters, ie plug,shim, etc are correct.Yet no matter what I do I can not get this to work.It simply will not idle.Now, with the shorter pressure line the idle jumps almost immediately, then if I try to lower the idle, it dies right away and wont start. Also, Ive noticed that it is sticking again.Im at a point now, where Ill either sell it off, or one last possible solution...Im thinking maybe another carb from another manufacturer. Anyone know if there's any different ones that will work?
Hi NitroOB4You,
Please tell me your carburetor setting. How many turns to each needle?
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 11:49 AM   #559
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Slow and midrange (510-503) flush, main and Low (515-507) four turns out.
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 11:49 AM   #560
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default Re: sts off road engine

Quote:
Originally posted by TambokGT
........no word on the .21 off road engine yet?
Some racers will test it for us this weekend. And I'm testing the on-road version. As I knew,the buggy version works fine. But I don't like the on-road version. It seems need more time to make it better.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 11:51 AM   #561
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroOB4You
Slow and midrange (510-503) flush, main and Low (515-507) four turns out.
Check the mid-range needle's o-ring. If there is any broken part?
Also,which pipe are you using?
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 12:06 PM   #562
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Ok...It did not appear that either oring is broken, at least looking by eye....dont have a microscope ...however I did find a tiny metal flashing particle on the face where the small oring sits.
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 12:07 PM   #563
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

RD Logics Turbo pipe
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 12:26 PM   #564
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroOB4You
RD Logics Turbo pipe
I see. With RDLogic NTC3/LD3 pipe,you need about 11" pressure line. Check your fuel tank lip if there is any leak? Also check the pressure line if there is any leak.

If the rpm will not fall when you close the throttle,there are two different appearance.

1) the rpm fall slowly and step by step;
screw back(rich?) the idle needle a bit and also lean the low speed needle(a bit). If it dosen't work,your engine may have too big compression. Check the plug's status.

2)The rpm fall immediately but rise again;
Rich the low speed needle and also lean the idle needle(a bit).
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 12:59 PM   #565
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroOB4You
Slow and midrange (510-503) flush, main and Low (515-507) four turns out.
Also try other fuel. Sometime if the fuel was placed too long,it may go bad.....
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 01:13 PM   #566
Tech Regular
 
bballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The courts of Detroit
Posts: 478
Default

Hey, dino, I just found and bought a brand new sts rs3 and when i opened the box, there weren't any stickers or an extra conrad! This is probably the older version, because it has a black case instead of a grey one. Can you tell me where i can find the stickers and improved conrad online? I looked at teamcrc.com but couldn't find either. PS just by opening the box, I loved how everything was packaged, it earned style points with me and gave me a good first impression. Thanks
Matthew
bballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 01:20 PM   #567
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bballer
Hey, dino, I just found and bought a brand new sts rs3 and when i opened the box, there weren't any stickers or an extra conrad! This is probably the older version, because it has a black case instead of a grey one. Can you tell me where i can find the stickers and improved conrad online? I looked at teamcrc.com but couldn't find either. PS just by opening the box, I loved how everything was packaged, it earned style points with me and gave me a good first impression. Thanks
Matthew
Hi bballer,

Mail to me your address to [email protected]. I send the sticker to you.

You can buy the improved conrad from ProjectZen.net. If you use more than 15% lube fuel to break in your engine,the conrod will work fine.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 01:24 PM   #568
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Once again, Im back to a sticky carb...not even my servo (JR Z590) will shut the carb...Where can I either get a new carb or are there any from another Co. that will work? I have contacted P.Zen and CRC both by email several times, neither has responded...Im confident that there is either a defect with this carb, or maybe I messed something up, I am not sure...either way, I like the engine and wish to keep it...but gotta do something about this carb...Ive had enough!!!
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 01:49 PM   #569
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroOB4You
Once again, Im back to a sticky carb...not even my servo (JR Z590) will shut the carb...Where can I either get a new carb or are there any from another Co. that will work? I have contacted P.Zen and CRC both by email several times, neither has responded...Im confident that there is either a defect with this carb, or maybe I messed something up, I am not sure...either way, I like the engine and wish to keep it...but gotta do something about this carb...Ive had enough!!!
If you can wait,send the carb back to me. I will check it for you. If it dose have any fault,I will change a new carb for you. You can find the address from our website.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 01:59 PM   #570
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Ok...I will try that....do you want the entire engine or just the carb?
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.:Go Engines vs. Jammin Engines:. lanerbrainer205 Nitro Off-Road 20 12-23-2007 04:46 PM
.12 Engines sale all new pipes too. 6 engines ericsp2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-06-2007 02:19 PM
os engines compared to rb engines rhymster Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 4 08-03-2007 05:13 PM
IDM engines and picco engines foampervert Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 11-23-2006 05:36 AM
SH engines crazyjr Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 01-20-2006 03:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:03 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net