R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2005, 12:41 AM   #1801
Tech Fanatic
 
Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NCC-1701E, the Enterprise
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dino.tw
No worry,I'm always here.

shame on you . you should spend more time with the baby. how is he doing ?
Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2005, 08:41 AM   #1802
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Thanks Dino. Yeah thats the reason I got the STS motor. Great support , great price and power.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2005, 10:36 AM   #1803
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Data
shame on you . you should spend more time with the baby. how is he doing ?
Don't laugh at me! You will be the next one...LOL...
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2005, 11:00 AM   #1804
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by au_Nightmare
8-0 not looking healthy. The backplate from my first STS, a D5 purchased at the start of 2004 (has many many hours of use and I still use it) only has light "scuff" marks , yours look like a deep groove?

I dont know what to say about the conrod - I've not had a problem like that before. The conrod oil hole is not blocked? Gap looks kinda big - you can see oil movement I assume..
Oh forgot to mention. The pictures look like it was a groove. But when running my finger nail over it , it wouldnt even catch. Its almost undetectable to the touch.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2005, 09:49 PM   #1805
Tech Fanatic
 
Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NCC-1701E, the Enterprise
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dino.tw
Don't laugh at me! You will be the next one...LOL...
have one already, cut my run time in half right away and will cut my RC budget in half each year. pretty soon whatever run time i have left will be useless....*sigh*
Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 07:20 AM   #1806
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Just get them into the hobby. Then you can spend time with them and have your own pit crew. LOL. Plus what kid doesnt love RC and they have novice / slower class which is good for them.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 09:51 AM   #1807
Tech Fanatic
 
Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NCC-1701E, the Enterprise
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I
Then you can spend time with them and have your own pit crew. LOL.
NO!!! she cut the battery wires on my car when she was 2. almost put the car in fire. she will not touch my cars again.
Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 01:53 PM   #1808
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

LOL. Yeah at 2 they probably wont help much. Also shes a girl so maybe thats why she went to cut it...all women despise RC. LOL
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 01:56 PM   #1809
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

I dunno, my little 2yo girl "helps" me.. <grin>

(photo from when she was under 2)
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2005, 11:07 AM   #1810
Tech Addict
 
TMizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 644
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what is the best plug to use in the D5R and is it shimmed already for 20%?
TMizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2005, 11:30 AM   #1811
Tech Regular
 
Hesky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunny Blighty
Posts: 387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by au_Nightmare
I dunno, my little 2yo girl "helps" me.. <grin>

(photo from when she was under 2)
A one handed engine rebuild thats pretty impressive even for an adult let alone a 2yr old

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMizzle
what is the best plug to use in the D5R and is it shimmed already for 20%?
In my d5r I'm using OS p6 turbo plugs but tried one of those black Novarossi ultra turbo plugs think the code was c6tgc and seems to work just as well as the OS but I think its actually a little colder due to the black body. I guess theres really no best plug as there to many variables that will change what plug you need. just stick to good quality makes. once run in you should be fine to run 20% with the current .5mm shims and a hot plug, maybe remove .1mm but u need a shim set to get the .1mm shim.
Hesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 11:06 AM   #1812
Tech Fanatic
 
nsxshogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 847
Send a message via AIM to nsxshogun
Default

Hey dino,

I've got a realllly big workshop. Lots of space to use as a stock room. I could store lots of RC equitment ,like motors, there. I've really got alot of space. Ever need to stash some "stuff" PM me.
nsxshogun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 04:45 PM   #1813
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

Hey guys, how many shims are you using on your STS D3R's for 16% nitro ? ...
__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : [email protected]
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 05:42 PM   #1814
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

If you have the copper and silver use the copper
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 05:59 PM   #1815
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

From early in thread
"if you run 16% you need to take out the cooper shim which is 0.2mm the aluminium shim is 0.3mm."

I tried using the copper on my D5 (when it was almost 1 year old). It killed a hot then cold plug pretty much straight away + damaged the sleeve. This is using 15% nitro. I'll stick with 0.3mm (the aluminium ones) I think
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.:Go Engines vs. Jammin Engines:. lanerbrainer205 Nitro Off-Road 20 12-23-2007 04:46 PM
.12 Engines sale all new pipes too. 6 engines ericsp2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-06-2007 02:19 PM
os engines compared to rb engines rhymster Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 4 08-03-2007 05:13 PM
IDM engines and picco engines foampervert Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 11-23-2006 05:36 AM
SH engines crazyjr Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 01-20-2006 03:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net