R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2008, 10:54 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
crazyjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: middle georgia
Posts: 613
Default OS .12 tr turbo head on .12 TG

Is it possible? I just switched to turbo plugs on my truggy and figure i'd do this (if possible) to keep supplies more standard (Just turbo's for racing) Has anyone tryed it? Any idea if it would run right? thanks for any info
crazyjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:30 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
crazyjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: middle georgia
Posts: 613
Default

So no one has tryed it? I got a TR and a TG, so i'll try it and report back as to how it works
crazyjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 05:58 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Not sure what you're wanting to do? If you are wanting to run a turbo plug in a TR, they make a turbo head button for that engine... cheaper then buying a head.



edit: Sorry, for some reason I was thinking you were trying to put tg head on a tr.

Last edited by Ed Anderson; 04-01-2008 at 06:21 PM.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 07:07 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
crazyjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: middle georgia
Posts: 613
Default

Nope, the other way around. I'm trying to consolidate the glowplugs. Instead of two or three of two different plugs, both run same type and can save a bit of money. Besides the turbo's are more durable in my experience. I run 20% sidewinder in my TG and 30% byron's gen2 in my v-spec, I plan to move to 30% Byrons Gen2 as soon as the last of my sidewinder 20% runs out
crazyjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 06:00 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

Turbos aren't necessarily more durable. The only difference you'd get from going to those from standard plugs is maybe 1k rpm. Still, it's not really a worthy upgraded nor will you notice the power increase.
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 06:34 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarKonnenD View Post
Turbos aren't necessarily more durable. The only difference you'd get from going to those from standard plugs is maybe 1k rpm. Still, it's not really a worthy upgraded nor will you notice the power increase.
how do you get a 1000rpm from a turbo head swap? I thought the only difference was that the plug had a "better seal" and more consistent chamber volume....
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 08:17 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
HarKonnenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,024
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarKonnenD
Default

It was an estimate reading done in an RCCA magazine review. To get this though both standard plug and the turbo engine had to be tuned perfectly and ran with the same pipe. Say like an RB V12 and V12 turbo plug.
HarKonnenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 11:16 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
crazyjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: middle georgia
Posts: 613
Default

The better durability is just my experience, Other than that i have no info on wether they are more durable.

My plan wasn't to gain performance, or consistency (though both would be a bonus), I wanted to consolidate parts. Instead of 5 or 6 of two different plugs, I can have 6 to 8 of one. I know the turbo's are more expensive, but more parts that are universal, the less you have to carry. Besides if i wanted performance, I can port it to get what i want. I chose not to, because you don't really need a lot of power in stadium truck
crazyjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 10:59 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Hal Hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Spokane Valley
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You need a #21454611 Inner Head and that will let you use a turbo plug in a TR
Hal Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 New In Box Novarossi 21P5XS (standard head) and 21P5XST(turbo head just came out) nobike R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 54 07-30-2008 09:22 PM
Turbo Head Temp VS. Regular Head Temp SlickZero.com Nitro On-Road 13 08-18-2006 05:10 PM
Need a turbo head button and turbo crank rcfoolz R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-14-2005 08:52 PM
Turbo head conversion help! jamiekulhanek Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 1 10-24-2004 09:59 PM
smeltz sirio .12 w/ turbo & non turbo head brand new! d.a.d.d.4 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 04-27-2004 07:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net