R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2008, 05:23 PM   #226
Tech Fanatic
 
NiTrO BoOsTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toowoomba
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

ok i decided to get one of these engines but im not getting the Tuned im just getting the JLRacing .12 Red Dot Legal EVO3 and i was wondering if it comes with the Turbo plug button on it or is the standard plug button

Mitchell
__________________
Serpent 733 - RB T10rc - Ko Helios EX-10
Serpent 733 - Novarossi 3SCT Tuned
============== SERPENT the only way ============
==== Pro Buggy Rc, Pitsworth - for all my RC needs =====
NiTrO BoOsTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 05:38 PM   #227
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiTrO BoOsTeR View Post
ok i decided to get one of these engines but im not getting the Tuned im just getting the JLRacing .12 Red Dot Legal EVO3 and i was wondering if it comes with the Turbo plug button on it or is the standard plug button

Mitchell
Turbo Head Button comes standard with the JL EVO 3 .12 engines.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 07:35 PM   #228
Tech Fanatic
 
NiTrO BoOsTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toowoomba
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

awsome thanks for that, i live in Toowomba Australia which only has 1 LHS and it is mainly for planes but does carry a range of plugs, it only has OS and real maccoy or OS and Odonnel. not sure and i was just wondering which would be the best plug for 16% nitro (max we can run i think) and which brand would be best used OS or the other 2. Atm i got a Os TG for my MTX4 and to run it in u use a A3 plug do u need to a specific plug to run it in or a recomended plug for running in. This will be my first Pro Tourer engine and didn't wont to stuff it up.

Thanks Mitchell
__________________
Serpent 733 - RB T10rc - Ko Helios EX-10
Serpent 733 - Novarossi 3SCT Tuned
============== SERPENT the only way ============
==== Pro Buggy Rc, Pitsworth - for all my RC needs =====

Last edited by NiTrO BoOsTeR; 07-18-2008 at 10:34 PM.
NiTrO BoOsTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 09:20 AM   #229
Uga
Tech Regular
 
Uga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: By the Baltic Sea
Posts: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiTrO BoOsTeR View Post
awsome thanks for that, i live in Toowomba Australia which only has 1 LHS and it is mainly for planes but does carry a range of plugs, it only has OS and real maccoy or OS and Odonnel. not sure and i was just wondering which would be the best plug for 16% nitro (max we can run i think) and which brand would be best used OS or the other 2. Atm i got a Os TG for my MTX4 and to run it in u use a A3 plug do u need to a specific plug to run it in or a recomended plug for running in. This will be my first Pro Tourer engine and didn't wont to stuff it up.

Thanks Mitchell
I would start out with OS P6 or P7. Wrap the head in aluminium folium to get the temp up at idle, run the engine for 5 mins at idle, cool it off and then start it up again. Run 3-4 tanks at idle, then go on the track and run some 2-3 tanks more at rich setting, after that you are ready to race.
__________________
-=Xray XB4=-
-=Xray XB8E=-
-=Schumacher Cougar KF2=-
-=Awesomatix A800X=-
Racing in Latvia
Uga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 09:58 PM   #230
Tech Master
 
Mugenville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiTrO BoOsTeR View Post
awsome thanks for that, i live in Toowomba Australia which only has 1 LHS and it is mainly for planes but does carry a range of plugs, it only has OS and real maccoy or OS and Odonnel. not sure and i was just wondering which would be the best plug for 16% nitro (max we can run i think) and which brand would be best used OS or the other 2. Atm i got a Os TG for my MTX4 and to run it in u use a A3 plug do u need to a specific plug to run it in or a recomended plug for running in. This will be my first Pro Tourer engine and didn't wont to stuff it up.

Thanks Mitchell
Just run it in and race with the Picco #6 plug (you can order from Sam when and if you buy from him), if you PM ItchyB (Joe) he can tell you where you can get the IDM #6 plug in Sydney and they should be able to post them to you, i think its from Pap (Harry) on the Moorebank Thread (good value to)
__________________
Proud team member of "Team Mugenites" 2008 PDNR 2.4 Hr Victor's
Just finishing a race is a victory in itself

Jeremy Clarkson
"When you push a car past 180mph, the world starts to get awfully fuzzy. When you go past 200mph it actually blurs. The Bugatti Veyron is mind-blowingly, stunningly brilliant. It deserves 12 stars. Simply as good and as fast as it gets"
Mugenville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 10:20 PM   #231
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

is there a factory needle setting for the tune? mine is way out of tune with the changing of fuel brands so time to start over again!
thanks
__________________
Proudly supported by......
Premier Model Supplies Pty Ltd
H.E.I AUSTRALIA
XRAY*****PRO-LINE*****HUDY*****
-----FUTABA-----NOVAROSSI-----
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 02:03 AM   #232
Tech Regular
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussies1129 View Post
is there a factory needle setting for the tune? mine is way out of tune with the changing of fuel brands so time to start over again!
thanks
for HSN a rich setting the needle is flush with body or the screw is above nipple body
LSN I guess something like 8 turns from closed position
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 02:14 AM   #233
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Jeff i took a guess and went flush as you said on high set and 4 complete 360deg turns from closed on the bottom end and its perfect.
cheers
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1 View Post
for HSN a rich setting the needle is flush with body or the screw is above nipple body
LSN I guess something like 8 turns from closed position
__________________
Proudly supported by......
Premier Model Supplies Pty Ltd
H.E.I AUSTRALIA
XRAY*****PRO-LINE*****HUDY*****
-----FUTABA-----NOVAROSSI-----
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:55 PM   #234
Uga
Tech Regular
 
Uga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: By the Baltic Sea
Posts: 441
Default

At what temp are you usually running your JL engines? This was my first weekend with the Tuned version, it was around 115 C after the 5 min qual runs and I was not willing to push it, as the engine was brand new and I was already satisfied with my power. It was the same, when I measured it at the second pitstop in finals (11 minutes in the run), but after running 30 minutes it was already 127C. The air temperature was around 28C, Tarmac heated up to 45C and I was running a OS P8 plug. So what temperatures would be safe for this engine?
__________________
-=Xray XB4=-
-=Xray XB8E=-
-=Schumacher Cougar KF2=-
-=Awesomatix A800X=-
Racing in Latvia
Uga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 08:39 PM   #235
Tech Master
 
gentleman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: VA Baby
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

mine runs from 230 to 275ish and depending on the weather, and still has a pretty good pinch.
__________________
MTX4R/PICCO(Trophy Taker) - SERP 950/SIRIO(Board Breaker)
PHI '08 - to be announced.....
www.vorra.org - ironbridgesportspark.com - 301raceway*4LIFE*.com
gentleman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 09:42 PM   #236
Tech Regular
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussies1129 View Post
Thanks Jeff i took a guess and went flush as you said on high set and 4 complete 360deg turns from closed on the bottom end and its perfect.
cheers

just check for long runs, it tends to go lean on bottom.. I had this problem today, after 15min of hard running ..
I don't know what caused this, but I lost power at hairpin exit. Something like a "hole" in acceleration
Richen LSN about 5/12 turns, problems solved
jeff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 11:25 AM   #237
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Newport News , VA
Posts: 53
Default

i have been running 30% rocket science in this engine with no problems- running around 260-285degrees with tons of bottom and top end and 5 mins run time- i just switched to 25% maxys fuel and got the same power and about 5.5 mins run time- i realize that this engine is shimmed for 30% so should i worry about changing anything- keep in mind this engine lost no power during the switch- i dont see a need to take shims out from such a small change but i am unsure-thx
__________________
Thanks to VISA,MC, and my wife
MY RIDE- MUGEN MTX4R, JL TUNED, JL EVO3, PICCO 2607, Twister Tires USA
cdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 08:13 PM   #238
Tech Master
 
gentleman81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: VA Baby
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i been running the 30 odonell with thoughts of going to 25 maxy. thanks for the info.
__________________
MTX4R/PICCO(Trophy Taker) - SERP 950/SIRIO(Board Breaker)
PHI '08 - to be announced.....
www.vorra.org - ironbridgesportspark.com - 301raceway*4LIFE*.com
gentleman81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 08:24 PM   #239
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdub View Post
i have been running 30% rocket science in this engine with no problems- running around 260-285degrees with tons of bottom and top end and 5 mins run time- i just switched to 25% maxys fuel and got the same power and about 5.5 mins run time- i realize that this engine is shimmed for 30% so should i worry about changing anything- keep in mind this engine lost no power during the switch- i dont see a need to take shims out from such a small change but i am unsure-thx
Leave it the way it is.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 04:21 AM   #240
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Newport News , VA
Posts: 53
Default

thx sam- thats what i thought but i was unsure
__________________
Thanks to VISA,MC, and my wife
MY RIDE- MUGEN MTX4R, JL TUNED, JL EVO3, PICCO 2607, Twister Tires USA
cdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sirio "Kanai EVO III" STI Tuned Off-Road Competition Buggy Engine slow supra R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-26-2008 12:25 PM
Brand New NovaRossi 321P "TUNED" and modified by Jim Hottinger, extra new P/S! Speed_Racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-30-2006 09:37 AM
"""NEW""" Collari .21 3 port buggy motor lc21-b3 goneRVing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-20-2006 06:25 PM
""" XRAY FK05 """ excellent cond/super clean/stock evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-29-2006 10:04 PM
What effect does "Chambers" have on the performance of a Tuned Pipe? racer rich Nitro On-Road 2 08-10-2002 01:50 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net