Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone
.12 engine with lots of "bottom end"? >

.12 engine with lots of "bottom end"?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

.12 engine with lots of "bottom end"?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2007, 01:43 PM
Tech Adept

Default .12 engine with lots of "bottom end"?

Hello guys.
I know that, by asking something like this, I am hitting a wasp's nest, but:

What do you think is the best .12 engine for bottom end ? Consider best clutch set up, what engine accelerates faster than any other ?
Even if it can't keep with others on end speed(again considering best gearing possible for the situation).

I am considering what I should look for my track here, very, VERY short and most turns are "U" type, if you know what I mean ...

I am very new to this game, but I must say I got kinda frustated with what I have now, can't make it work ... especially for my track here. It looks like that, when the engine is thinking about "Now I WILL rev!", I should be on the brake for a meter or so already, else its wall time!
But thats another story. Just want some views on the top engines that perform really BIG on the bottom end ...
Old 05-09-2007, 01:46 PM
Tech Regular

I would go with the Orion wasp CRF .12 has lots of bottom end, or a nova plus series engines..
Old 05-09-2007, 01:50 PM
Tech Elite

bud have you geared shorter for 1st gear on your G4S and do you have the ED tranny ???
If no to ED maybe look at 18t 1st gear with 52 spur and also change the brake and side pulley to 18t.
Also on your current clutch setup have treid more tension on the clutch spring ??? Might be a option to try Mugen super hard clutch spring and try Muppetracing's setup he posted on teh G4S thread.
Old 05-09-2007, 01:53 PM
Tech Elite

Even as awesome as the CRF is it dont gaurantee that its solves your problem.
Took us 2 months of tweeking and fiddling to get his Mugen working very well with the CRF.
Old 05-09-2007, 02:58 PM
Tech Adept