JL Racing .12

Reply

Old 12-11-2007, 12:16 AM
  #1036  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
Drift_Buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,655
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Is there a reason for it?
Drift_Buggy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 02:17 AM
  #1037  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Xr Turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Undecided,Australia
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Drift_Buggy View Post
Is there a reason for it?
No idea but mines the same.
Xr Turbo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 02:31 AM
  #1038  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
Mugenville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

The Evo3 is the same also,
Change the carby over today from the Mega Zx.12 and all seems fine, got it running and starts well, now to tune it properly on Sunday at Moorebank, so it seems it might have been a problem with the orginal carb, will try it on the mega just to make sure, if it is i'm one carb down now
Mugenville is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 07:13 AM
  #1039  
Tech Adept
 
Rawz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brasilia, Brazil
Posts: 116
Default

Originally Posted by Drift_Buggy View Post
Went to put together my new .12 Offroad Red Dot and I noticed that the cooling head doesn't sit flush with the engine. This is my 1st nitro engine in a while. Am I meant to tighten it down? As it seems very tight?


Look right into the gap. You see the cooling head is sitting in the sleeve. That's what really need to be cooled. Well, that and the head button, it's "inside" the cooling head.
So, that is the way it should be. Remember to tighten(SP?) the screws a minute at a time on each one, going in a cross pattern from one to the other. Did I explain it good?
Rawz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 03:40 AM
  #1040  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Xr Turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Undecided,Australia
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rawz View Post
Did I explain it good?
Perfect
Xr Turbo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 03:43 AM
  #1041  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Xr Turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Undecided,Australia
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mugenville View Post
now to tune it properly on Sunday at Moorebank
Well mine is up and running again after the carby problem.

It's ashame i can not get there sunday Bloody Xmas parties
Xr Turbo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 04:53 AM
  #1042  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
Mugenville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Xr Turbo View Post
Well mine is up and running again after the carby problem.

It's ashame i can not get there sunday Bloody Xmas parties
Arh well there's always next year, i'd rather be at a Xmas do but i'm needed at the track for video duty, the XRC guy's have requested my services for the day also
Mugenville is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 12:21 AM
  #1043  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
Drift_Buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,655
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Ok, went to break in my Offroad Red Dot .12 and it was running 160F - 180F. Thought I would try leaning out the HSN and i couldn't get it to move. I did take off that part to move the nipple around so it wasn't hitting the air filter. Are the really, really tight from the factory?
Drift_Buggy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 07:18 AM
  #1044  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
quietstorm76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yeah the HSN is tight from the factory. I have two and it's the same.
quietstorm76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 06:36 PM
  #1045  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Drift_Buggy View Post
Ok, went to break in my Offroad Red Dot .12 and it was running 160F - 180F. Thought I would try leaning out the HSN and i couldn't get it to move. I did take off that part to move the nipple around so it wasn't hitting the air filter. Are the really, really tight from the factory?
Put a drop of oil at the HSN, that will lube the o-ring and loosen up the HSN on it's housing.
Team Kamikaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 07:03 PM
  #1046  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
hooked_on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LogiK View Post
Put the HSN back and try richening the LSN. They need a rich low.
Thank you... i tried it today and it is alot better now. I was really enjoying running around the track until the rain started to come down
hooked_on is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 04:56 AM
  #1047  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
LogiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 757
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hooked_on View Post
Thank you... i tried it today and it is alot better now. I was really enjoying running around the track until the rain started to come down
No worries mate, gonna start running my Evo 3. in on Boxing Day
LogiK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 07:17 AM
  #1048  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default JL3 Collet

Seasons greetings and Merry Xmas to all.

Can the guys running the JL3 in NT1 tell me if the collet that comes with the engines works on the NT1 or would I have to get the Picco collet from Xray?

Thanks
jelayne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 12:45 PM
  #1049  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (43)
 
kaotickc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jelayne View Post
Seasons greetings and Merry Xmas to all.

Can the guys running the JL3 in NT1 tell me if the collet that comes with the engines works on the NT1 or would I have to get the Picco collet from Xray?

Thanks
One with the engine works.
kaotickc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:07 PM
  #1050  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Undies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kaotickc View Post
One with the engine works.
Hi

I was under the impression that the JLR Collet would need to be shorten'd to work on the NT1?

Undies
Undies is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service