R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2007, 07:21 PM   #151
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: KISSIMMEE,FLORIDA
Posts: 700
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have over 5 gallons on it now.and still have plenty of compression
__________________
Ahhh the smell of nitro in the morning!
Brooklyn Hobbies Team Driver
[url]www.brooklynhobbies.com[/url]
Team Trinity
[url]www.teamtrinity.com[/url]
Gary Figueroa
GFIGUEROA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 08:50 PM   #152
Tech Adept
 
terry sturchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheney, KS
Posts: 159
Default

12-14 tanks! Wow, these things are tight. I'll definitely be giving this the gentle break in cycle for several tanks. Thanks for the insight.

VC, I don't think something is right with that engine. Have you opened it up to take a look. Maybe something isn't seated right. I tore mine open and inspected everything and it all fits like a glove. Definitely no play in the rod or piston. Very good quality for factory work. Not quite as "polished" as hand mod stuff, but I would imagine very consistent. I always break my engines down before I start them anyway. I like to seal them back up when I'm done. I have had brand new engines with air leaks from the start, and even had one seize and snap a rod from a burr left in the engine case. Found the shaving wedged between the piston and sleeve. I don't take any chances anymore. Especially since none of these "race" engines have a warranty. Manufacturers can still make mistakes and I won't be burned by one again.
__________________
I'll race electric when batteries smell like nitro.
terry sturchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 05:31 AM   #153
Tech Adept
 
vc05hdt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Morley,Perth W.A.
Posts: 246
Default

After putting two and two together, I reckon slop was due to wrong conrod installed into motor from factory. OS has not bad rep at our track and the failures due to poor run in. OS have so many variations easy for factory mistake.
vc05hdt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 09:17 PM   #154
Tech Apprentice
 
Mike 415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver Co. USA
Posts: 90
Default

What is everybody getting for runtime.I have been only geting about 4.30. Useing a skyline pipe running temp about 245 to 250. Our track is only about 120/50 or so.
__________________
Lead, Follow or get Mangled
Mike 415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:08 AM   #155
Tech Addict
 
Dynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 614
Send a message via MSN to Dynamite
Default

hey mike, i got about an average of 6 minutes run time on my OS TZ (std blue head one) when i was running it with a slightly modified sleeve.

anyone got or raced the new SPEC II yet???
__________________
www.racingfactory.org
Kyosho RRR Evo | Sirio Evo III STI | Ko Radio
Dynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 07:11 AM   #156
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Mike - I'm getting 5:03 run time with the blue head and running temp is about 250. I have heard and seen that if you add the OS 1040 pipe you will get around 9:00 of run time... And the pipe is faster on the lap times....
__________________
Wheeling an Xray T4 and T4 14 using a Ko Propo, powered by EA motors and Speed Passion Speedo, paid for by my wife.

Digi3Dworks - 3D printing for the medical Field.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 09:07 AM   #157
Tech Regular
 
asil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Istanbul, TURKEY
Posts: 281
Send a message via MSN to asil
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bvoltz
Mike - I'm getting 5:03 run time with the blue head and running temp is about 250. I have heard and seen that if you add the OS 1040 pipe you will get around 9:00 of run time... And the pipe is faster on the lap times....

5min and 9min run time?? huge difference..
asil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 09:16 AM   #158
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asil
5min and 9min run time?? huge difference..
Yep... The skyline pipe seems to only get about 5 mins out of a run, but the OS pipe seems to be much better... I got my OS 1040 pipe this week, so Friday I will be testing with it and the new NT1....
__________________
Wheeling an Xray T4 and T4 14 using a Ko Propo, powered by EA motors and Speed Passion Speedo, paid for by my wife.

Digi3Dworks - 3D printing for the medical Field.
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 02:35 AM   #159
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default

i have tried this os speed with os speed tuned pipe last time, get about 7-8mins of run time. really good. but the pipe has been bashed and iced, not that good anymore, now using kyosho T. shimo. seems powerful, but getting slightly less run time of about 6mins.
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 07:50 PM   #160
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ATX
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Where do I get the os 1040 pipe at the best price? I always wondered why I didn't get much run time...I'm averaging about 5min only...Thanks.
DaNNy671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 08:13 PM   #161
Tech Fanatic
 
uniquexme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sibu, Sarawak
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to uniquexme Send a message via Yahoo to uniquexme Send a message via Skype™ to uniquexme
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaNNy671
Where do I get the os 1040 pipe at the best price? I always wondered why I didn't get much run time...I'm averaging about 5min only...Thanks.
that means ur engine is not tuned properly.
uniquexme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 09:20 PM   #162
Tech Apprentice
 
Mike 415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver Co. USA
Posts: 90
Default

Thanks for the info Guys, I guesse I need due some more tuning.
__________________
Lead, Follow or get Mangled
Mike 415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 02:23 AM   #163
Tech Addict
 
Dynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 614
Send a message via MSN to Dynamite
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynamite
hey mike, i got about an average of 6 minutes run time on my OS TZ (std blue head one) when i was running it with a slightly modified sleeve.

anyone got or raced the new SPEC II yet???
i was running the mugen 2501 pipe/header (which is same as mielke pipe?)
__________________
www.racingfactory.org
Kyosho RRR Evo | Sirio Evo III STI | Ko Radio
Dynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 12:09 AM   #164
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ATX
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquexme
that means ur engine is not tuned properly.
Thanks, now I know that I need to work on my tuning skills...So how much time should I get if its all tuned properly and just running a RD Logics pipe??
DaNNy671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 04:49 AM   #165
Tech Addict
 
Dynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 614
Send a message via MSN to Dynamite
Default

anyone tryed the new spec II yet? or are you all still washing your undies from your experience with the spec I ?
__________________
www.racingfactory.org
Kyosho RRR Evo | Sirio Evo III STI | Ko Radio
Dynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS Speed 12TZ (P) T3 Speed Tuned Engine SpeedyDad R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-02-2009 04:49 PM
GRP tuned 21 vs OS speed 21 big_klemo Nitro Off-Road 10 08-11-2008 08:50 PM
O.S. .12 TZ(P)-T3 Speed Tuned NIB!! occ Australia For Sale/Trade 2 10-14-2006 11:21 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:38 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net