Search
Like Tree41Likes

Piston after break in

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2021, 01:11 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default Piston after break in

Hi,

I am new in nitro, one engine I use for races successfully. Recently I start break in my second new Picco torque edox .12 and here's the question, after about 0.8l of fuel on the box and last 2 tanks gently driving, I checked the engine. There are small scratches, one quite clearly visible, what could have caused this and whether it will affect performance. Obviously, the engine was heated to around 90 degrees celsius with each start, I added Castor oil to the fuel, I looked at the engine before starting it for any dirt/filings from machining, fresh air filter and engine was very very rich and still heating to 90-100 degrees. If such scratches are normal I would like to avoid it.

Old 06-16-2021, 03:14 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

that is not normal. something scratched the piston. the scratch seems goes thru all the way to the top thru 2 rings. you may try to see if the idle is stable in your upcoming run in.

i will warm up the engine with your temperature, and "make sure" the chassis has shared the same temp before i put it on track to "run in" and prevent the engine stopped without fuel. i will refuel, say 3 mins or some laps.

Old 06-16-2021, 04:38 AM
Tech Apprentice

No good, it's a shame that I pay so much attention to the break-in process and there are problems anyway. I also heated the chassis with a heat gun. Only bearings for the break in time, I use non-original ones, and then I change them to the original ones, which were with the engine, after about 4 liters. The engine still has a big pinch so I'm hopeful that it will run fine after full break in anyway.
Old 06-16-2021, 10:58 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)

You put old bearings in the engine for break in?
Old 06-17-2021, 12:21 AM
Tech Lord